New Arrivals and Current Reading, February 3 – 9, 2014

No New Arrivals.
The weather here had been cold and clear, but a storm came in Wednesday and it turned from sprinkles to snow by Thursday and kept snowing straight through the weekend.

DSC_0041

Pine tree on Saturday afternoon

No, it’s not the amount of snow the Midwest or East has had, but for Portland this is a Big Storm, biggest since the mid-1990s.

Our street is quite steep (and they do not plow it), so we were snowed in from Thursday midday on. Nothing comes up the hill, no mail, UPS/FedEx, trash pickup. Even with all wheel drive we couldn’t get up or down, and we don’t have chains. For a once or maybe twice a year event we haven’t bought them. Then came freezing rain Saturday night – Sunday morning, putting a quarter inch of ice over everything, and more freezing rain Sunday night. So even if I’d had books on order, they wouldn’t have gotten here.

Current Reading
I’ve started a couple of new things and then Constellation, Vol. 1 by Sharon Lee and Steve Miller, authors of several novels placed in their Liaden Universe ®, came from the library. It’s a short story collection highly praised by Carl Vincent over at Stainless Steel Droppings HERE. So I’m reading that between watching the Winter Olympics, taking a few snow pictures,  filling the bird feeders and watching skiers and snowboarders go past the house on their way down the hill (before it iced up). Really!

What new did you get, what have you been reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Current Reading, New Arrivals. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to New Arrivals and Current Reading, February 3 – 9, 2014

  1. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Well, it certainly looks nice. My brother is closer into town and he said he had 3-4 inches. He also said people do NOT know how to drive in it and he saw numerous near misses, so be careful out there! South Florida, on the other hand, …or should I not rub it in?

    No new arrivals for me either. I did read the Andrea Camilleri (#16, I believe) that I bought last week, TREASURE HUNT, good as always. Reading about Salvo Montalbano always makes me hungry for Italian food.

    If you’ve read (and if not, why not?) Bill Crider’s paean to tolerance, A VAMPIRE NAMED FRED, you might want to read (as I did) the sequel, A WEREWOLF NAMED WAYNE. Seems Fred moves to Vegas and rents his house to said werewolf. This was an ebook, as was Sandra Seamans’ short story collection, COLD RIFTS. I’m half way through a Dan Simmons collection I should finish this week.

    Mostly we’ve been catching up on missed movies. In two weeks we’ve seen (either in the theater or by renting DVDs) 12 movies, and we’re going again this afternoon.

  2. Can’t wait till summer and my first summer paycheck. New books then, I tell you.

  3. Glad to hear you’re surviving that wicked winter weather! I’m about to fire up Big Orange. Another couple inches of snow fell last night. Tomorrow night, we’re supposed to hit zero. Temps have been in the single-digits all week long. The Meyersons picked the Perfect Time to go to Florida and see 12 movies!

  4. Patti Abbott says:

    Lots of coverage on the news about the northwest. My pile is big for me and on my blog.

  5. Richard says:

    Jeff, being if far SW and on a hill at about 800 ft it seems we get a little more than downtown. I measured 10 inches on the driveway. We only get this stuff 1 or 2 times a year. I’ve not read any Camilleri, but you do seem to enjoy them. Are they Italian police procedurals? I really liked the Simmons SF I read, but don’t recall if I’ve read any mysteries by him.

    That’s a lot of movies! We just got Lincoln from Netflix, we’ll be watching it when there’s no interesting Olympics coverage.

  6. Jerry House says:

    What little snow we have had this year melted away pretty quickly, Richard, with few cold days. I’ll take our winter weather here in Southern Maryland over yours any day. (Jeff may not rub it in, but I will.)

    I have not read anything in the Liaden Universe. Got to take care of that sometime.

    My Pronzini-thon went off the rails this week. Instead I read Shirley Jackson’s THE SUNDIAL for last Friday’s Forgotten Book and Alan Bradley’s new Flavia de Luce adventure, THE DEAD IN THEIR VAULTED ARCHES. I finished the last of the Stephen King graphic novels with THE DEAD ZONE — THE GUNFIGHTER: LAST SHOTS and read two graphic novels by Harlan Ellison, HARLAN ELLISON’S PHOENIX WITHOUT ASHES (from his “Cordwainer Bird” television series THE STARLOST and the novelization by Ed Bryant) and HARLAN ELLISON’S DRREAM CORRIDOR, VOLUME TWO. I also read a Batman collection, THE JOKER: DEATH OF THE FAMILY.

    This coming week, the Pronzini-thon is on again, along with my other catch-up efforts.

  7. Richard says:

    Charles, Summer seems like a long way off, especially to wait to buy books.

  8. Richard says:

    George, every night on the national news there’s a weather story about the NE showing western NY is getting plenty of cold and white stuff. We hope you’re able to get to work, grocery store, etc. OK.

  9. Richard says:

    Jerry, this is the first real wintery weather we’ve had after a very dry December and January.

    I’ve only read the first Flavia de Luce book, which was okay but I haven’t read another. Maybe I just wasn’t in the mood for it at the time as most people really like them. I saw your FFB, very interesting.

  10. Richard says:

    Patti, I saw that list! Wow. As you said, now there’s the shipping cost. Great bunch of books, though, at least the ones I recognize.

  11. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Salvo Montalbano is a Police Inspector in Sicily. Try the first book (The Shape of Water), which you can probably get in the library, and see if you like it. They are relatively short and fast reads.

  12. Yes, its been cold here too. Since we dipped under freezing on January 31st, we’ve never been above freezing. I think our first chance hits Wed. when it should be in the low 40’s. I may wear shorts to work that day.

    We had a couple of days snowed in last week and we made the most of it, reading and watching British shows on Hulu Plus.

    Hope you are enjoying the Liaden shorts. I need to finish up a few other reads and I’m anxious to get into volume 2.

  13. Rick, Western NY continues to function despite the brutal weather. This morning I woke up to 5 degree temperatures. Depending on the winds, we may or may not get 6 inches of snow today (on top of the foot of snow that’s on the ground). We haven’t seen a temperature above 32 degrees in a long time! Stay warm!

  14. Richard says:

    Carl, George, at least you live in places where you expect the weather you have, or at least something like it. Since I moved here in 2010 it has snowed a couple dozen times, but this is the first several days long snowstorm punctuated with freezing rain. Still, we knew it was coming and stocked up on groceries (no shortage of books here!) so we were fine.

    YOU guys ae the ones who need to be careful!

Leave a Reply

