New Arrivals and Current Reading, January 27 – February 2, 2014

We put in a half dozen dwarf conifers in a new “conifer bed”, first amending the soil and after planting we added Hemlock bark. Also, I’ve had some dental work, with another visit next week. Yipee.

New Arrivals
Well lookie here, some new stuff. The explanation is “I just couldn’t resist“. Oops.

Once Upon A Star, The Adventures of Manning Draco Volume 1 by Kendall Foster Crossen [Altus Press 2013 trade paper, new] – mystery / SF. It should be fun following the adventures of a 35th century insurance detective chasing con men, insurance frauds and various scammers across the galaxy. Volume 2 is also in print and available.

The Diploids by Katherine MacLean [Wildside Press 2000 trade paper, new] – science fiction, 1962 short story collection . After reading a short essay  on MacLean a groundbreaking woman SF author, in Kirkus, I decided to read some of her work. None was available through the library, but I found this. Though I may have read some of these in ASF, I have no memory of it.

Web of the Worlds by Harry Harrison and Katherine MacLean [Armchair Fiction 2012 paperback double, new] – science fiction. I went looking for this and it turned out to be a double, in the classic Ace Books two-books-in-one format. The other book is Rule Golden by Damon Knight (see below).

The Whispering Gorilla by Don Wilcox [Armchair Fiction 2014 double, new] – mystery/adventure. How could you resist a book with this title? I couldn’t, and the other novel in this double (below) is the sequel.

The Return of the Whispering Gorilla by David V. Reed [Armchair Fiction 2014 double, new] – mystery/adventure. And the story continues, this time written by David Reed. Same gorilla with a human brain, but battling Nazis this time.

Rule Golden by Damon Knight [Armchair Fiction 2012 paperback double, new] – science fiction. I haven’t read any Knight for a long time.

Current Reading
Not much here. I’ve been reading some short stories, more Black Mask collection and a graphic novel, Catwoman Vol. 2, Dollhouse. I’m reading the Manning Draco collection listed above and got an SF story collection from the library.

What new did you get, what have you been reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Current Reading, New Arrivals. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to New Arrivals and Current Reading, January 27 – February 2, 2014

  1. Love those Armchair Doubles! I’ve been reading a lot of short story collections now that I’m back to work. Glad to see the Seahawks triumph! My Office mate at the College wanted Denver so I took the Seahawks. He owes me a pizza.

  2. Jerry House says:

    I read the latest Lisa Gardner (FEAR NOTHING – good books but not up to her usual; the author spent to much time on a family’s pathology to the detriment of the narrative), finally finished Ramsey Campbell’s THE PARASITE (a tad slow moving, but interesting), and the Carol-Lynn Rossel Waugh, Marty Greenberg, Isaac Asimov anthology 13 HORRORS OF HALLOWEEN. The rest of the week was graphic novel time, with Charlaine Harris and Christopher Golden’s THE CEMETERY GIRL, PART 1, two volumes in the Stephen King THE DARK TOWER and THE GUNSLINGER SERIES, four volumes in the Stephen King THE STAND series, and THE HEART OF THE ATOM (a collection from THE HULK comic book). Continuing my Pronzini-thon, I’m currently reading STEP TO THE GRAVEYARD EASY and have about four more of his books to go through before I get any more.

    Still playing catch up with pile of books by my bedside, although I have to make room for Alan Bradley’s latest Flavia de Luce mystery, THE DEAD IN THEIR VAULTED ARCHES, and Alan Lightman’s essay collection THE ACCIDENTAL UNIVERSE: THE WORLD YOU THOUGHT YOU KNEW.

  3. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Nice list. Some very tempting titles there.

    I did actually buy a book this week, one I hadn’t realized came out a few months ago – Andrea Camilleri’s latest Insp. Salvo Montalbano book, TREASURE HUNT. Look for that to be on my list very shortly.

    Last week I finished MULTIPLES, Robert Silverberg’s Collected Stories from 1983-87. I have two more volumes on the Kindle. Then it was Nigel Bird’s BEAT ON THE BRAT & Other Stories. There were a couple that weren’t bad but I can’t say I liked it that much. Third on the Kindle was Brett Battles, BECOMING QUINN, the prequel to the Cleaner series. And I read one “real” book, Stephen King’s (very dark) collection of novellas, FULL DARK, NO STARS. I can’t say I cared for the first (and longest) tale, 1922, but I liked the others a lot more. I’ve only got one more book of his novellas left to read and I’ve already finished all the short[er] story collections. I’ve definitely gotten back into a reading mood this last week. We also saw a few movies.

  4. Richard says:

    George, thanks. I like the double, too, though I wish the layout was flipped like the old originals, and in mass market size.

  5. Richard says:

    Jerry, I’m always very impressed with your reading. You must be a speed reader. I wish I read faster, but no luck. Are you liking the DARK TOWER graphic novels?

  6. The whispering gorilla sounds like something I must have

  7. Patti Abbott says:

    Still THE GOLDFINCH and expect it will be that next week as well.

  8. Richard says:

    Patti, from what George said about it, it’s really slow reading. I look forward to your response upon finishing it.

Leave a Reply

