ffb: Wind Song

this is the 130th in my series of posts on forgotten or seldom read books

Wind SongWind Song by Carl Sandburg, a Voyager Book, Harcourt, Brace & World 1960 trade paperback – poetry collection. Cover and illustrations by William A. Smith.

I greatly enjoy sitting down with a book of poetry, losing myself in the words and images of the writer, the rhythm and flow of the words and lines, mining the meanings and mental imagery on the page.

It doesn’t matter to me if the works are in rhyme or open as long as what I read communicates, speaks to me. Poems are often short and often thought-provoking. They not infrequently capture some small detail, some way of seeing the world that’s intriguing. A poem can pack more punch than an three hundred page novel, all in a small number of artfully crafted lines.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Carl Sandburg’s home in Flat Rock, North Carolina.

For a long time Carl Sandburg’s poems have been among my favorites. In 2005 I visited his home, Connemara, in Flat Rock, North Carolina (see the photo at right, taken on that visit). Though undergoing some renovations at the time, the house was still fascinating, especially Sandburg’s library and his small writing room, where he wrote much of his poetry and prose at a desk overlooking the sloping lawn and pond near the bottom of his property.

Wind Song is a small collection, featuring, when published, just sixteen new poems, along with eighty previously published poems, many written with young people or family in mind. Thinking of family, grandchildren and – during walks – nature over the Thanksgiving weekend, I picked this up and reread it. The poem I posted Wednesday (here) is from this collection. Sandburg’s poetry: wonderful as always.

~  ~  ~  ~  ~

More Friday Forgotten Book posts
can be found at Patti Abbott’s fine blog Pattinase

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Friday Forgotten Book, Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to ffb: Wind Song

  1. I really should have this on my shelves – thanks very much for that Richard.

  2. I’ve heard of this book but never read it. I do also enjoy reading poetry. I’m gonna have a look around for it.

  3. macavityabc says:

    I enjoyed yesterday’s poem, and I was a big Sandburg fan when I was in high school. I even read THE PEOPLE, YES for a book report. I’ll bet I was one of the few kids who ever did that. Thanks for reminding me of Sandburg today.

  4. Richard says:

    Sergio, Charles, there are larger, more inclusive collections available. I haven’t seen a copy of this one anywhere for years but it’s probably out there.

  5. Richard says:

    Bill, I believe poetry enriches the soul and refreshes the intellect.

  6. Evan Lewis says:

    Your review is pure poetry, sir.

  7. How, what a gorgeous home. No wonder he was inspired to write poetry.

    I don’t read poetry often, but I generally enjoy the experience when I take the time to do so. I’m with you in that I don’t care what form it takes, as long as it speaks to me in some way.

Leave a Reply

