New Arrivals, Current Reading November 25 – December 1, 2013

NEW ARRIVALS:
None. There’s nothing on order. Unless I get a book as a gift, I’m done for the year, which is good. Heaven knows I don’t need any more books.

MY CURRENT READING:

I know this is getting boring with the same things every week, but I have to finish these before starting anything else. I am indulging myself by reading every day a dozen pages or so in The Complete Calvin and Hobbes which is delightful, and if you don’t have it you should.

What with Thanksgiving, activities and football I haven’t read a word in several days, which is very unusual for me.

Did you get anything new? What have you been reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in books, Current Reading, mystery, New Arrivals, science fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading November 25 – December 1, 2013

  1. With catching a cold the day before Thanksgiving I got through four novels in as many days. And three of them were from my list of started and not-yet-finished books.

    My only new arrival was Falling Free which I promptly read on arrival.

    I do plan on picking up Andromeda’s Choice by William C. Dietz on Tuesday when it comes out. I’ve been looking forward to reading that ever since reading Andromeda’s Fall in January. I’ll be starting that one right away on Tuesday.

  2. The Complete Calvin and Hobbes” is definitely my cup of tea, or coffee. I have a couple of the early C&H volumes that I go through every now and then.

  3. Jerry House says:

    It’s been a slow reading week for me what with the holidays, guests, and the turkey coma (which is still with me). Sticking to short stories this week, I read Paula Guran’s anthology HALLOWEEN: MAGIC, MYSTERY, AND THE MACABRE and (finally) finished Mary Danby’s REALMS OF DARKNESS anthology.

    If I ever revive from my coma, there’s Dashiell Hammett’s THE HUNTER and Lansdale’s graphic novel adaptation of Robert E. Howard’s PIGEONS FROM HELL graphic novel ahead.

    Excuse me, I think I’m going to take another nap now.

  4. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I find I get periods where I just don’t feel much like reading (other than the daily story) and others where I will race through a book and hurry to the next one. I agree with you on the Calvin & Hobbes.

    This week I did get one book (from PaperbackSwap), one I’d forgotten about until reading about it being reprinted by James Reasoner – Ed Gorman’s TROUBLE MAN. I think I’ll put it on the “take to Florida” list. Only seven more weeks to go.

    Read this week. I was a big fan of Andre Dubus and read all of his stories and a couple of his non-fiction books, especially the story of how he was hit by a car when trying to help some people and ended up losing his legs. I’ve always meant to try his son Andre Dubus III but hadn’t until reading about his memoir in HANDLING THE TRUTH. Anyway, his memoir is on reserve at the library so this week I read his very dark short story collection, THE CAGE KEEPER & OTHER STORIES. I liked it. The other book was almost from that memoir book, Bich Nguyen’s STEALING BUDDHA’S DINNER: A Memoir. She came to the U.S. with her family as they escaped from Saigon in 1975 when she was under a year old, and ended up in Grand Rapids, Michigan. The culture shock must have been extreme. The most intereting part to me was her reading.

    I’m currently reading the latest Vish Puri mystery set in India by Tarquin Hall, which I’m enjoying a lot, as well as the first volume of Hemingway’s Collected Letters and the de Camp & Pratt bar stories.

  5. I finished reading and correcting 100 Research Papers over the Thanksgiving Break. You’d think I would be free to do some pleasure reading…but, no. Advisement for Spring Semester started today. Next week is Review for the Final Exams, and the week after that (aka, Hell Week) is Final Exams. Then, the correcting, calculating Final Grades, the end-of-semester paperwork, and then Freedom!

  6. Todd Mason says:

    Just started TIM AND TOM, Tim Reid and Tom Dreesen’s memoir of their lives and friendship and short career as a standup duo. Before I started an aborted MS in Conflict Management, I took a BA in writing and editing, Rick, so I know what an MFA is…I meant, what discipline did you take it in, or does or did Otis offer an very generalist MFA somehow?

  7. Richard says:

    Todd, it was in Art, as in painting, drawing, and working with textiles. Otis was purely as art school.

  8. Other than a few ebooks from friends, I haven’t bought a book in a number of months. Just have had to cut back somewhere in the face of too many bills.

  9. Richard says:

    Carl, sounds like some good stuff coming your way. I’ll have to check out the Dietz.

  10. Patti Abbott says:

    I am starting and stopping this week. Nothing holds my attention.

  11. Richard says:

    Patti, same here. Is it the holiday thing, or what?

  12. Todd Mason says:

    Ah. I think it’s rare that one takes an MFA in as many of the visual arts as possible now, but am willing to be shown I’m in error; studio art is something almost as distant for me as dance (I don’t know what your career was, RIchard, though I suspect I’ve simply forgotten from reading your intro blurb here). The MFA folks I dealt with in my various English departments (I attended two universities and a college before taking the BA) were variously in Prose and Poetry programs, for example (UH Manoa might’ve had fiction and nf tracks) …the poets particularly insufferable, of course, though not uniformly, just en masse. As a prosaist, mostly, I, of course, was the soul of charm and savoir-faire.

    Too much stuffing, the changing of the seasons, and disrupted life schedules probably put you both out of your usual habits, when taken together…

  13. Richard says:

    Todd, at the colleges I was familiar with advanced degrees in writing, English, Literature, etc were MA degrees, not MFA degrees.

  14. Todd Mason says:

    Yep, MFA is the trend, now, over the last 30+ in the more prosperous unis, though nonfiction/technical tracks would likely have MA options. The lit majors were distinct from we Ottists/Autists. Not that one didn’t use the other’s classes on the undergrad level. (Hell, I took graduate-level philosophy and literature with T. Z. Lavine toward my BA, as well as a grad writing workshop with A. A. Attanasio after the undergrad one with Robert Onopa.) In linguistics, often still in the English depts at that point and probably still, you could easily find MS programs, and tech writing too, presumably, in the more tech schools, MIT/Cal to better land-grants.

  15. Todd Mason says:

    That is to say, Literature (I suspect) remains mostly an MA subject at today’s unis, but writing programs tend to stop at MFA, without PhD options.

  16. Richard says:

    Seems things were simpler in the old days (by which I mean the 1960s, when I was in college).

Leave a Reply

