New Arrivals, Current Reading November 18 – 24, 2013

NEW ARRIVALS:
Well, a big week. In response to a post on Kage Baker’s In the Company of Thieves that Andrea Johnson put up on her fine blog, Little Red Reviewer, I commented that I loved The Bird of the River. The next day it clicked in my brain that Bird was not a stand-alone, it takes place in a world she wrote about in two other books: The Anvil of the World (2003) and The House of the Stag  (2008) (which is a prequel to Anvil of the World).

Ye gods,” I realized, “I haven’t read those!” Naturally, I had to have them, so they were quickly ordered, along with some other stuff. Then a pre-order, and a couple of fantasy paperbacks. Then – get stoked – the latest Fredrick Nebel collection was published and immediately purchased. As I said, a big week.

MacBride & Kennedy, Volume 1, 1928-1930 by Frederick Nebel [Altus Press November 2013 trade paperback, new. Just published] – mystery short and novelette length stories from Black Mask. This eagerly awaited collection, the first of four planned, has a long and informative foreword by Dave Lewis. He posted on the book with a link to that introduction HERE. I can’t wait to dig into this one.

The Anvil of the World by Kage Baker [TOR 2003 trade paper, new, cover art by Tom Kidd] – fantasy. Baker is a favorite. This should be very good.

The House of the Stag by Kage Baker [TOR 2008 trade paper, new] – fantasy. Prequel to The Anvil of the World. The third book in the series is The Bird of the River, which I read when it came out and liked a lot. Baker is a very good author.

Worlds of Edgar Rice Burroughs edited by Mike Resnick & Robert Garcia [Baen 2013 trade paper, new] – adventure/SF. I can’t resist these collections of original stories set in the worlds of Edgar Rice Burroughs, Johnston McCulley (Zorro) and the like. This has a good line-up of authors.

The Hammer and the Blade by Paul S. Kemp [Angry Robot 2012 mass market paperback, new] – fantasy. My buying these is the result of my reading a review of the second book (see below) on the Fantasy Book Critic blog.

A Discourse in Steel by Paul S. Kemp [Angry Robot 2013 mass market paperback, new] – fantasy. My buying these is the result of my reading a review of it and the first book (see above) on the Fantasy Book Critic blog.

The Wanderers by Cheryl Mahoney [Lucky Cat Press 2013 trade paper, new] – fantasy. I decided to give this a try after a contact with the author and a review I later read. This is her first novel. 

What did YOU get, new, used or from the library?

MY CURRENT READING:

I’m still reading at least one short story a day. The Black Lizard Big Book of Black Mask Stories, is taking forever, in spite of reading at least a story most days. Many of the stories are novelettes, which are much longer than a mere short story. I expect to see that book here each week for a while to come. Other days I’m reading a story from Skirmish: The Great Short Fiction of Clifford D. Simak. I expect to finish it this coming week.

Still working on Robert Barnard’s The Case of the Missing Brontë. I’ve had more library books come in to interfere with my off-shelf reading. After watching Dear Mr. Watterson, about Calvin and Hobbes, I got, at the library, Looking for Calvin and Hobbes by Nevin Martell. I’m reading it now, and also continuing with Wordslingers, non-fiction about western pulp fiction. I also got Life Among the Savages by Shirley Jackson for a future FFB single author read.

BARBARA’S CURRENT READING:
She finished Cross and Burn, the latest Val McDermid, which she liked very much. She’s now reading The Tomb by F. Paul Wilson, the first Repairman Jack novel. She is also in the middle of Persuader by Lee Child, in the Reacher series, and In The Name of God by Cameron Stauth.

So, what have YOU been reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in books, Current Reading, fantasy, mystery, New Arrivals, Pulp and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading November 18 – 24, 2013

  1. I received a review copy of In the Company of Thieves the other day, unsolicited. Looks interesting and Andrea’s review also peaked my interest. I may have read one of her short stories before, but I cannot recall.

    Good looking stack of books you picked up.

    I finished Barrayar by Lois McMaster Bujold and ordered a copy of the Vorkosigan prequel, Falling Free, this weekend. I went back to reading This Alien Shore by C. S. Friedman after a break and am enjoying it as much as before. Nearly at the half-way point of this nearly 600 page paperback. Usually crossing that threshold lights a fire and I find myself making more time to read. Not sure why that is, but I love it when it happens.

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Nice group, although only the Nebel really interests me.

    And I know you meant “foreword” rather than “forward” up there.

    Only one new arrival (from PaperBackSwap), but one I was happy to get as I recently learned it was a prequel to a book I already had: Cody’s Law 8: Eagle Pass by our own Bill Crider, here writing as Matthew S. Hart.

    Books finished this week: Julia Spencer-Fleming’s latest Adirondacks mystery with Russ Van Alstyne and Clare Fergusson, Through the Evil Days (library). I was surprised when I read that Craig Johnson had a second Sheriff Walt Longmire book coming out this year but it turned out that Spirit of Steamboat is a Christmas-themed novella (well, if 140 pages is a novella) set mostly as a flashback 25 years in the past. This was also a library book.

    I’m in the middle of two more library books, a memoir and a collection of stories that I’ll talk about when I finish them, as well as the De Camp & Pratt collection of bar stories mentioned last time. I only have two other library books at hand.

  3. Richard says:

    Jeff, thanks for catching that. Corrected. More later………. (battery dying)

  4. I am reading DOGS OF THE SOUTH by Portis and COUNTRY HARDBALl by Steve Weddle. I just ordered the first Parker book (Westlake/Stark) after seeing the amazing POINT BLANK.

  5. Jerry House says:

    Sticking basically with short stories for this week and next week. Read Fytton Armstrong anthology FULL SCORE and the Conklin/Fabricant GREAT DETECTIVE STORIES ABOUT DOCTORS. I’m almost finished with Joe Lansdale’s THE GOOD, THE BAD AND THE INDIFFERENT. I also read Neil Gaiman’s FORTUNATELY, THE MILK — which counts as a short story, doesn’t it?

    Coming up: more collections and anthologies.

  6. Richard says:

    Carl, thanks. I didn’t intend to get all these books. they just sort of jumped into the ol’ basket. I’m eager to get through that infernal stack of books so I can start something new, which is likely to be the Kage Baker. Bujold is supposed to be a fine author, yet I’ve not read any of her work. I have the NESFA collection, I think. (…he checks…) No, I don’t.

  7. I’ll be collecting about 100 Research Papers tomorrow so you know what I’ll be doing the rest of the week. We pick up Patrick at the Airport tomorrow just as we’re supposed to be hit with 9 inches of snow!

  8. cgramlich says:

    Definitely some good lookin’ fantasy there. I’m gonna have to check a bunch of these out.

  9. Andrea J says:

    thanks for the shout-out! 😀 I picked up some goodies at the used bookstore (along with two more Kage Baker Company books!), and since Dance with Dragons is finally out in mass market paperback, I picked that up too.

    Let me know how that Worlds of Edgar Rice Burroughs anthology is. I’m curious to see how the authors will balance that type of adventure with our more egalitarian expectations.

Leave a Reply

