Recent Arrivals: e-books

As most of you know, I don’t buy many digital books. There are two reasons for that, 1) I think the growth of e-publishing is part of the reason – a big part – that I don’t have much selection or choice when it comes to book stores, especially independent ones of the brick and mortar variety, (2) I really have a hard time reading a book on a screen, even on my great big iMac screen.

However, I do have the Kindle for Mac program / application on my iMac, and once in a while I do buy an e-book, thinking I’d like to read it, but since it’s not in my (greatly) preferred ink-on-paper format, I don’t know when that may be. Maybe one of these days I’ll get around to reading it. I have about 25 e-books, and so far I haven’t read a single one of them.

The problem this post is attempting to solve is that when I do my weekly New Arrivals & Current Reading post (every Monday) I have the actual books at hand but forget the digital ones. So this is to make up for that. Here are the digital books that have slipped onto my computer lately:

I can’t tell you much about them other than what you see when you look at the covers, other than they each have either an author, sometimes several, that I like or that the book just sounded too good to pass up.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in books. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Recent Arrivals: e-books

  1. cgramlich says:

    I have Trails of the Wild, and that Mars one.:)

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Dead Wolf in a Hat is a great title, anyway.

    I don’t “buy” many ebooks, yet I have well over 100 on my Kindle. Most are either free of very cheap (99 cents to $3.99 at most, with very few higher exceptions) and I get them for one of several reasons:

    1. top reason is that they aren’t available in any other format
    2. they are by friends (especially if #1 also applies)
    3. did I mention they’re free?
    4. big collections that are (ahem) free – The Complete Sherlock Holmes, Complete Oz collection
    5. short stories – individual or collections – that sound good and meet criteria 1-3

  3. Like Jeff, I have over a 100 ebooks on my iPad. but I’ve only read a couple of them. I prefer Real Books as you do. Over 90% of the ebooks I have were downloaded for free. I see the benefits of ebooks–low cost, portable in quantity, unavailable in print form–but I’m slow to warm to ebooks. Maybe that will change in time.

  4. Richard says:

    Yes, Charles, you do have that Mars one. Heh. Since it’s shorter, it’s the one I may start with.

  5. Richard says:

    Jeff, paying 99 cents is buying. I get most of what I have because of low or free price too, and because they meet your other criteria or just look / sound good.

  6. Richard says:

    George, seems we all agree.

  7. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I know 99 cents is buying. Most are free but a small percentage aren’t.

    I checked and I’ve read 29 ebooks to date, all but four of them short story collections. I like having things like Robert Silverberg’s collected stories because on days when I don’t carry a heavy hardback when we go out I can jsut read one of his stories. It also helped me cut down on how many books I had to carry with us to Florida because if I can’t decide what I want to read I have a large number to choose from on the Kindle. Eight or nine of the books I read there last winter were ebooks.

    Of course I prefer “real” books and read the others mostly while traveling. I just checked – I read 17 ebooks in the first four months of this year, only four since then.

  8. My eReading is way down this year from last year, but I always have one going for reading on my phone when I find myself somewhere a print book isn’t available.

Leave a Reply

