How do you celebrate Halloween (All Hallow’s Day)?

Halloween1We don’t do much. We carve a pumpkin, put a candle in it and put it out front. We buy some candy for the neighborhood kids. We don’t get a lot of people at the door and we don’t want leftovers, and when the candy is gone off goes the porch light and pumpkin candle.

My wife does the door duty, I usually retire to a quiet room and read. How about you?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in At Home in Portland. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to How do you celebrate Halloween (All Hallow’s Day)?

  1. Don’t do much anymore. Most everybody on my street is retirement age or close. Since the kids in my family, the mothers brought them around for some candy before the church party, are past that age now, I mostly read. Tonight I’ll be watching the World Series though.

  2. Richard says:

    Randy, no WS watching here, we just don’t care for or about either team. I do think Boston’s beard thing is silly.

    We have a couple of families with young or medium age kids on the street, and the people next door have teens, who I hope do not come as I think that’s greed, not fun. We’ll see.

  3. John says:

    I always spend Halloween night watching the latest horror movies available on DVD. I haven’t heard the doorbell ring in over 25 years since I’ve lived in Chicago. I’ve lived in multi unit apartment buildings (with almost exclusively single people as tenants) since 1986 and have been passed over by trick or treaters. Anyway, in Chicago the kids and their parents tend to go to houses and two flat brownstones only. Safer that way. There are two kids in our building (I own a condo now) but they aren’t even three years old yet so we won’t have to worry about trick or treaters. I think I still have time to get a pumpkin and carve it for tomorrow night. I’ve missed having a jack-o-lantiern out front and now with our 2nd floor balcony/deck it’ll be safe from vandals.

  4. Richard says:

    John, I really don’t understand why kids think it’s okay to smash the pumpkins people carve for Halloween. Such wanton destruction demonstrates a high level of idiocy and stupidity beyond the basic disregard for the property of others.

  5. Jeff Meyerson says:

    We don’t do anything. Some years back there were more young kids in the building but they’ve aged out or moved and the newer people with little kids have not come around the last few years. We do buy a little candy just in case. In our neighborhood all the stores on the Avenue (even the Chinese take out places) get buckets of candy and the parents bring the kids around after school. There is also an annual project where kids from all the local schools paint Halloween pictures on the windows of stores that choose to participate, which gives a nice neighborly feel.

    Where we are three long blocks down the hill you see mostly older kids, even teens, going to the private houses but they don’t come to the apartment buildings.

  6. Jerry House says:

    We get about twenty kids of all ages trick-or-treating. Kitty usually goes out with our daughter and her children while I stay home and hand out candy. This year Kitty will stay home with me. We’ll watch some bad television and I’ll read something scary and breath a sigh of relief that the kids in our neighborhood don’t raise the kind of hell I did when I was that age.

  7. Richard says:

    Jeff, when I was in the condo in Tustin, over time the trick-or-treaters changed. We used to get quite a few 4-6 graders to some teens. I noticed few non-Causasians came. After a while, no one came so we left the porch light off. Seems the kids went to school, church or other group events.

    Now we live near the top of a very steep dead-end street and only get the kids that live within a half dozen houses away come, and there are few of them. One or two of those “fun size” candy bar packages is more than enough.

  8. Richard says:

    Jerry, YOU raising hell? One’s mind is boggled.

  9. cgramlich says:

    Mostly some reading and watching some horror movies. this year with it on Thursday, I have to get up at 6:00 to go work so I’ll go to bed early.

  10. Richard says:

    Charles, I guess you could put off the horror movies until Friday night…

  11. Last Halloween we gave out 200 pieces of candy. Diane bought an extra bag of candy this year “Just to Be Sure.” But our weather is windy and rainy so I don’t know how many Trick-or-Treaters are going to brave the elements. I might be forced to eat all those Snickers and Almond Joys over the next few weeks.

  12. Richard says:

    George, our policy is to buy candy we don’t like, so if there are leftovers we give it away instead of eating it. This year Barbara didn’t follow that policy and there are Snickers in the house. I’m doomed.

  13. My kid’s rock band is playing a show tonight dressed as KISS, playing a few KISS covers. I had thought about going to see them. However, he just informed me that they didn’t bother learning to sing any of them because they assumed I would join them on stage to do it . . . he just forgot to ask. So it looks like I’ll be onstage belting out KISS songs tonight. . . .

  14. Richard says:

    Well happy Halloween, Chris! Fake them out and sing some Rolling Stones songs.

  15. We had a handful of trick-or-treat visitors but not many. We lit a pumpkin I had carved and kept the candy bowl by the door and watched Arsenic and Old Lace in between the doorbell ringing. It was a relaxing, fun night.

  16. Richard says:

    The final count here was a sad three doorbell rings, 5 trick-or-treaters. Next year we may just skip it.

Leave a Reply

