New Arrivals, Current Reading October 14 – 20, 2013

NEW ARRIVALS:
Mystery of Ireta01
Nothing this week
. I’m trying to buy less, start less, finish more. Hopefully that will mean clearing out some (significant amount of) backlog of partially read books, which always seems to be a problem here.

CURRENT READING:
I read Dinosaur Planet and Dinosaur Planet Survivors by Anne McCaffrey, which are together in the one volume of The Mystery of Ireta (review coming soon).

Macdonald, Zebra-Striped HearseI’ve just started reading The Zebra-Striped Hearse by Ross Macdonald, which I’m reading for the single-author Friday Forgotten Books post November 8th. I’m about halfway through Out of the Blackout by Robert Barnard and I have a slew of other things started but on hold.

So, any comments on these books? What did YOU get,
new, used or from the library, and

what have you been reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Current Reading, New Arrivals. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading October 14 – 20, 2013

  1. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I actually did get a couple of paperbacks in from the exchange, two in the Isaac Asimov-Martin Greenberg series of THE GREAT SF STORIES. These are volumes 2 (1940) and 6 (1944), to go with the three later ones I already had, Of course I haven’t read any of them yet.

    I did finish two books, Stephen King’s sequel to THE SHINING after several decades, DOCTOR SLEEP, featuring a grown-up Danny Torrance, and Archer Mayor’s 24th Joe Gunther book, THREE CAN KEEP A SECRET.

    I’ve got one more just about done and I’m in the middle of a couple of others.

  2. Jerry House says:

    Like Jeff, I read DR. SLEEP, which took up the bulk of my reading time this week. Also read were HARLAN ELLISON’S MOVIE by you know who and SHANADU, a shard world anthology edited by Bob Briney. I’m almost finished TRAVELERS OF SPACE, an old Gnome Press book edited by Martin Greenberg, with two stories left to go.

    Coming up are FIVE SCIENCE FICTION NOVELS edited by Greenberg, ALFRED HITCHCOCK’S FIRESIDE BOOK OF SUSPENSE, Ed Gorman’s FLASHPOINT, and SPIRIT OF STEAMBOAT, Craig Johnson’s latest Longmire mystery.

    I really have to get back to reading Anne McCaffrey some day. I have a lot of her books on hand but something brighter and shinier always seems to come along — something that’s indicative of my shortcomings and is in no way a reflection of the quality of her books that I have read.

  3. Jeff and Jerry: what did you think of DOCTOR SLEEP? The reviews have been mixed.

    Rick, I’m glad you mentioned that you’re reading The Zebra-Striped Hearse by Ross Macdonald, which I was considering reading for FFB. I’ll probably go with THE CHILL now. I finished MID-TERM GRADES and now it’s time to give the second round of exams. No rest for the wicked…

  4. Jeff Meyerson says:

    George, it was a little long as you’d expect with King and there were parts I skimmed with the evil ones but overall I think you’d like it. His writing seems somewhat sharper in recent books since he cleaned up his act.

  5. Patti Abbott says:

    Reading THE CHILL (RM) and SNOW WHITE MUST DIE (Neuhaus). Bought DIRTY WORK by Larry Brown.

  6. Richard says:

    Jeff, those Great SF Story collections are pretty uneven, but contain some good stories along with the chaff. Not being much of a King fan (I’ve read 2 of them, the last King book read was Christine) I’ll skip this new one, but I think Barbara will read it. I also haven’t read any Archer Meyer books, though I’m familiar with the name.

  7. Richard says:

    Jerry, you just keep plugging along. For me, McCaffrey is an author I can count on for an east, enjoyable reading experience. These were a little weaker then her Pern or Crystal Singer books.

  8. Richard says:

    George, go ahead and complain about your teaching workload, it’s okay. At least you don’t put your thumb to your nose about having the summer off. Of course we retired types have every day off… Oh, now it looks like Patti is also reading The Chill.

  9. Richard says:

    Patti, seems you’re reading The Chill for the Macdonald single author FFB. Hope you had a good celebration with your spouse.

  10. Jerry House says:

    George, I really enjoyed DR. SLEEP, more than many of his recent novels. This one seems as if he had channeled his younger self…his most effective horror novels (SALEM’S LOT, THE SHINING, CUJO, IT, etc.) were done earlier in his career. King has once again shaped characters you care about, a threat that is as evil as it is unexplained, and a plot that honors his earlier work. I especially liked King’s oblique nod to his son’s book NOS4R2.

  11. Jeff Meyerson says:

    THE CHILL is definitely up at the top of my favorite Archers (as I remember it). I thought I’d read one of the ones I haven’t read yet, like THE ZEBRA-STRIPED HEARSE or THE FAR SIDE OF THE DOLLAR.

  12. Richard says:

    I wonder if anyone will be doing one of the short story collections. In looking to pick something, I realized there’s more Ross Macdonald I haven’t read than I had thought. After Zebra-Striped Hearse, I’ll have to read another.

  13. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I think I already did a review of the Crippen & Landru collection. I know I did it for CADS, so if I get lazy I can always dig that one out and reuse it.

    Some of the “Kenneth Millar” titles from the 40s are also worth reading.

  14. Evan Lewis says:

    I been readin’ The Last Gunfight, a mighty interesting overview of the Earps vs. the cowboys in Tombstone.

  15. Richard says:

    Evan, you fell into the spam folder again. Sorry, I keep telling it you’re not spam, but it’s not listening. The Last Gunfight sounds like just the thing for you.

  16. Jerry and Jeff, thanks for the opinions on DOCTOR SLEEP. I’ll pick up a copy (though I don’t know when I’ll get around to reading it). Rick, it’s Crunch Time for the students and me. Testing, research papers, and Final Exams loom. I think Ross Macdonald’s best work is from the 1950s. His later work was affected by possible Alzheimer’s.

  17. Richard says:

    George, finals in October? Yikes, I recall them being in mid-late January, on the semester system we had when I was a college boy. As for the new King, why not just wait until you want to read it and then go to the library for it?

Leave a Reply

