New Arrivals, Current Reading October 7 – 13, 2013

NEW ARRIVALS:
I had a nightmare last night. I was trying to buy some books to complete a series by some author, but every time I saw the couple of books I needed, I was stopped by the forceful voice in my head that said “I can’t buy these, I already have more books than I could ever read.” Whew.

Before that dream, however, I bought these:

Cold in the Light by Charles Gramlich [Invisible College Press, 2002 trade paper, new] – science fiction-horror. Honestly, sometimes I’m not sure how to pigeonhole Gramlich’s books, but “entertaining” always seems to work. I may wait for a stormy night to read this, or maybe that wouldn’t be a good idea at all.

Strange War by Donald E. Keyhoe [Age of Aces Books 2011 trade paper, new]  – pulp story reprint. Keyhoe’s Philip Strange stories ran for nine years—from 1931 through 1939—in the pages of Flying Aces magazine. The six stories in this first Phillip Strange collection were originally printed in 1931-1933. Introduction by Sid Bradd. Keyhoe also wrote the novel Earth Against the Flying Saucers which was made into a 1956 film.

Strange Enemies by Donald E. Keyhoe [Age of Aces Books 2012 trade paper, new]  – pulp story reprint. This second volume of Phillip Strange weird WWI adventures collects the eight stories, published 1934-1936, featuring Captain Philip Strange’s pre-war love Karol von Marlow who has become the famous “Fraulein Doktor”, Germany’s loveliest and most elusive spy! A third volume, Strange Operators is promised.

Raider of the Seas by Warren Hastings Miller [Black Dog Books 2011 trade paper, new] – pulp story reprint. [from site] “Operating the waters from the Indian Ocean to the South China Seas, Captain Jim Colvin, aided by his partner, Chief Engineer Johnny Pedlow navigate the tramp steamerette Pulo Siburu on a string of adventures. Never above a little smuggling themselves, the Pulo Siburu holds their own against hostile natives, Chinese pirates, smugglers and the underworld lords of Singapore all the while attempting to earn a few bucks themselves by trading and deliver goods between ports of call.”. Introduction by Tom Roberts, foreword by Warren Hastings Miller and cover art by Norman Saunders. Included are:
– The Arab Dhow
– The Missing Lighthouse (with an afterword by the author)
– Port of Battle (with an afterword by the author)
– Raider of the Seas
– The Peach of Pirates
– The Racketeer Rajah

Master of Midnight, the Collected Captain Zero by G.T. Fleming-Roberts [Altus Press 2013 trade paper, new] – pulp reprint. I’ve given you both the front and back covers of the collection so you can read the text and see the original covers on the back. You’re welcome. The question is, can you resist?

In case anyone wonders, the above books total 1,775 pages. That’s a lot of reading.

CURRENT READING:
I read The Ghost of the Hardy Boys which came this last week, and The Rocket’s Shadow as well. I’m two-thirds of the way through Out of the Blackout by the recently deceased Robert Barnard. I’m starting a mystery by Ross Macdonald for the November FFB. I’m still working on a couple of short story collections, still reading Wordslingers. I have a couple books on hold from the library which may pop up at any time. Fact is, I have somehow built up a bedside TBR (as opposed to the whole house, it seems) of about 20 books so it’s time (again, so soon?!?) to stop starting and start finishing.

We have been having absolutely beautiful Fall weather, the trees are turning, it’s been great to be outside, either just enjoying or doing a modest amount of yard work. This has resulted in many afternoons spent away from reading, but that’s fine. I love this time of year. Rain coming next week.

So, any comments on these books? What did YOU get,
new, used or from the library, and

what have you been reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Current Reading, New Arrivals, Pulp, short stories and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading October 7 – 13, 2013

  1. Cold In the Light was the first thing by Charles I ever read. haven’t stopped reading since. You will enjoy this one.

    I also have that captain Zero collection.

    The others are new to me, but makes me want to add them to my household. Like I need help adding books, darn it!

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Nice looking group of books. I bet George can’t resist buying several of them. Looks like you’re falling back into bad habits again. Remember the magic word: library.

    I did get in one new book this week. I’m reading Robert Silverberg’s collected stories on the Kindle and a book he mentioned writing for sounded perfect so I got it from PaperbackSwap: Tales From the Spaceport Bar,, edited by George H. Scithers & Darrell Schweitzer. I also got a couple of free or cheap Kindle books.

    Besides the Silverberg stories I finished Peter Orner’s collection of mostly very short stories (they are all about 2-9 pages), Last Car Over the Sagamore Bridge as well as one of mine: Bill Crider & Clyde Wilson’s second (and last) tale of Houston p.i. Red Stephens, Mississippi Vivian.

    I’m nearly done with the new Stephen King.

  3. Jeff Meyerson says:

    That was “Ted” not Red.

    I have to remember to proofread.

  4. Jeff’s right: I’m sorely tempted buy these books. And Altus Press is becoming one of favorite publishers! My correcting and grading is done, but I’m busying making up new exams for the next testing cycle. And when I’m finished with that chore, I’m faced with turning in MID-TERM grades. My reading time is minimal.

  5. cgramlich says:

    Thankee! I appreciate it.

  6. Richard says:

    Yes, Jeff you’re right. I was wigged out by that dream, I’m going to try to slow down. None of the books this week are not available from library or Bookswap.

  7. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I realized that, Rick. There are some books (and publishers) that just aren’t available any other way, so what else is a guy to do?

  8. Evan Lewis says:

    Jeez, these all look good. I’ve read a couple of Keyhoe’s flying saucer books. Fun stuff.

  9. Richard says:

    Ah heck Randy, what’s a few more books? You’ve probably already read everything else you have.

  10. Richard says:

    Evan, it’s my task to tempt you with cool books.

  11. Richard says:

    Jeff, I looked for Tales From the Spaceport Bar on BookSwap and there are no copies. You must have got the only one.

  12. Richard says:

    Poor George, his work is never done… Altus Press publishes some great stuff.

  13. Richard says:

    Charles, my pleasure, indeed.

  14. Jerry House says:

    I spend a computerless week and a half when my computer died and much of my work for the past nine months became irretrievably corrupted. Between that mess and some family obligations, my reading has been in fits and starts, mainly short pieces and anthologies. I did finish several early Andre Norton SF anthologies, three horror anthologies from Kurt Singer, a SF anthology from Amabel Williams-Ellis and Mably Owen, a fantasy play by Nelson S. Bond (which was my FFB), and two graphic novels from Harlan Ellison. I did managed to read (and thoroughly enjoy) Joe Lansdale’s latest, THE THICKET, a raunchy, funny, totally unconventional East Texas take on the TRUE GRIT theme.

    Much of my time will be taken up trying to restore information lost on my computer and a new round of rehab for my wife. Nonetheless, I’m currently reading SHANADU, a small press shared world anthology that Robert Briney published in 1953. Coming up are HARLAN ELLISON’S MOVIE, ALFRED HITCHCOCK’S FIRESIDE BOOK OFSUSPENSE, two Gnome Press SF anthologies, and FLASHPOINT, Ed Gorman’s latest novel. I have a number of books on hold at my local library with no idea of when they will show up.

  15. Glad that nightmare ended! 🙂
    I can see why you picked these up, they are visually tempting books just looking at the covers, let alone the fact that they all sound fun. I especially like the cover for Raider of the Seas. Norman Saunders was one of the best.

  16. Richard says:

    Jerry, what a nightmare. There’s nothing like secure backup (I use Time Machine, which backs up the hard drive once a day, then after 7 days backs up the week and starts on a new set of once a days. Time Machine works with the Mac, but there are many automatic programs like it for the Windows platform. Too late for this time, though. Sorry to hear. I also use – and recommend – multiple secondary external hard drives that can be rotated in/out of service. I happened to have lost EVERYTHING – every file and program – once in a double crash of main computer and back up drive and I’m very paranoid about backing up since. There are also many offsite backup options such as Carbonite.

    Now then, to books. Your “fits and starts” is better than my “got a lot read”. I’ve just never learned to enjoy horror, or much of it. What got you started on rereading a bunch of Norton? As I said in my comment on your FFB, I wonder why it wasn’t made into a film? Sounds delightful. I remember a time when you could pick up second hand Gnome Press books really cheap all over the place. Now they’re getting hard to find.

  17. Richard says:

    Carl, I’m never sure what will move me to buy a book, but cover is once of the possibilities, theme and plot the others. Nice to see a couple of comments from you, I guess you’ve been busy, since your daughter is out, re-doing part of the house into a large “Carl Room” with bookcases, shelves to show off things, walls for artwork, comfortable chairs… Hey, it sounds great.

  18. Patti Abbott says:

    I bought a few at used book sales this week. Phil oddly bought one I had donated to that very sale. I would tell you what they are but I am too darn tired to go upstairs and look. One was a cookbook on Midwest Cooking, two were books I thought a friend of Megan’s might like-on Lawrence Welk and George Burns; the others were novels. What were they…..

  19. Richard says:

    Patti, I think it’s hilarious that Phil bought a book you donated! I’ll bet YOU wouldn’t do that. As for the books you bought for Megan’s friend, seriously? A book on Lawrence Welk? Oh my, oh my. All types of tastes and styles in this world, eh?

Leave a Reply

