The Oregonian goes digital

Bah.

digitalOWe were notified a couple months ago that our daily newspaper, the only one here, was going to curtail delivery to a couple days a week and go on-line, still requiring a subscription fee which is within a buck of the same cost as receiving the printed newspaper.

So for a few days now I’ve been – trying to – reading the daily paper on the laptop instead of settling down in a comfy chair with a cup of java as has been my cherished morning ritual. Part of the problem is the really clunky interface. The software they use doesn’t support any of the touchpad gestures on our MacBook Pro, instead requiring us to click on a navigation bar at the top of the screen to move left right up or down. It takes me longer to read the dang thing on line than to scan and read in print.

We’ll still get the newspaper in print on the two days a week when all the ads are included, Wednesday and Sunday. We could also go to a newspaper box outside a market or some similar place and buy a copy of the printed version every day. Crummy choices all.

I’m trying to come up with the best option for getting local news, weather and sports coverage as well as national news. None of them are a good, complete solution.

Of course this isn’t the customers’ choice, it is the newspaper’s profit move. I know many (mostly younger) people want everything on their phone/pad/laptop these days, but damn it, old folks like me want things it’s easy to read, handle and enjoy without electricity.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in At Home in Portland. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Oregonian goes digital

  1. Biill Crider says:

    I’m with you on this, Richard. I really like having a real newspaper, but I have a feeling it won’t be long before they’ll all be gone.

  2. Happened to us recently as well.

  3. Cap'n Bob says:

    We have a paper paper, but I don’t think much of it. I used to get just the weekend (Fri-Sun) editions, but Linda changed it to every day when she retired. Since she pays the bill, I don’t mind, but it does create a disposal problem much more quickly than it used to.

  4. Richard says:

    Bob, don’t you put those papers in the recycle bin, or don’t you have that with your trash pickup? I used to like the Post-Intelligencer when I was up that way, is it still being published?

  5. Art Scott says:

    Though I’ll be loyal to books on paper till they plant me in the ground to recycle, I gave up on the daily newspaper at least a decade ago. My morning routine has me sitting down at the computer with my orange juice and cycling through a half dozen “news” sites of various sorts. So far they’re all free (though the SF Chronicle site is now putting selected features behind a paywall), and I’m disinclined to pay for any of them if they try to impose a subscription scheme (WSJ is the only one I’d even consider paying for).

  6. Richard says:

    Art, I agree with most of what you’ve said, but we like to have some source for the local news and this is about it for our area. Our subscription runs a couple more months so we’ll stay with it the way it is – 2 delivered papers a week and the rest on line – but when that runs out we’ll have to decide. Personally I think the Oregonian will lose a lot of ad revenue as they won’t get the “eye hits” in print does. Like you I look at several news outlets in the morning, including BBC News, Washington Post plus ESPN or Sports Illustrated for sports. I find all of the sites clunky, pop-up filled, poorly laid out, some more than others. Plus I still do not like and am uncomfortable with reading for any length of time on a screen.

  7. LB Brown says:

    Amen. Now I can’t even get the daily digital version to work on my iPad (which is how I found this site, trying to find help with the digital). I don’t like OregonLive. I have to bounce all over the place to find articles of interest to me. I guess I’ll be reading Huffpost at the breakfast table on the iPad and hope I don’t spill jam or tea on it, and wait to listen to the evening tv news for local news. Sigh…

  8. Richard says:

    Yes, LB, we’re on the same page. I glance at parts of the digital version, but my wife has given up on it completely. I think it’s only a matter of time before no delivery is made, then no print version, then it dies and Portland will have no large daily. Sometimes I curse the tech loving Gen Y phone/pad/laptop users for this, as well as the death of printed book bookstores (thank God for Powell’s) and the e-book surge.

Leave a Reply

