New Arrivals, Current Reading September 9 – 15, 2013

NEW ARRIVALS:
It was really hot, setting records, or with highs not seen since the 1940s. Then it was really nice for a few days. Now it’s thunder showers and chilly. Variety is the spice, they say.

For a change, more than one book this time, all used.

All About Collecting Girls’ Series Books and All About Collecting Boy’s Series Books both by John Axe [Hobby House Press 2002 oversized trade paper, used] – nonfiction, book collecting. After reading the review by George Kelley (in case you missed it, you can read it HERE) of these I ordered them. I spent an afternoon per slim volume reading these, and enjoyed them both. The one thing I’ll point out to potential purchasers is that while the girls volume includes brief plot summaries for each book in the major series, the boys series book does not. Having read the book on collecting girls’ series first, I was disappointed, when later reading the boys’ series book, to discover this. These have lots of cover images but are not an in-depth look at the books or their publication.

Persuader by Lee Child [original © 2003, this edition Dell 2010 mass market paperback, used] mystery-thriller. This is the 7th book in the Reacher series, which Barbara is reading in order after having first tried 61 Hours which we got somewhere, possibly the San Francisco Bouchercon book bag. This copy we got from Paperback BookSwap, and have ordered others there as well.

The Penguin Science Fiction Omnibus edited by Brian Aldiss [Penguin Books 1973 mass market paperback, used] – science fiction short story / novelette collection. While doing some looking into the works of science fiction author H. B. Fyfe I came across mention of this collection, the omnibus of three earlier Penguin Science Fiction collections. It looked good enough to pick up a cheap copy in just “acceptable” condition.

CURRENT READING:
I’ve been reading Wordslingers (new last week) and more of The Black Lizard Big Book of Black Mask Stories which is enjoyable but seemingly never ending. Read the two collecting books shown here, Collecting Girls’ Series Books and Collecting Boys’ Series Book that came this week. I’m continuing on the Budrys book of reviews, which I continue to enjoy very much. I have a lot of things started and few finished, but I’m enjoying what I’m reading and that’s good.

So, what did YOU get, new, used or from the library, and
what have you been reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Current Reading, mystery, New Arrivals, Non-fiction, science fiction, short stories and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading September 9 – 15, 2013

  1. Evan Lewis says:

    I’ve never heard of Ted Scott, Mark Tidd or Tom Slade. Who are the “& Others” in the Boys book?

  2. I wish I’d read the Tom Swift stuff when I was a kid. I never saw one of those books. As an adult I’ve tried to read one or two and just find them pretty dull.

  3. Patti Abbott says:

    Reading a Robert Crais book about a dog. A Patricia Highsmith collection of stories. And & SONS by GIlbert.

  4. Reading ALL ABOUT COLLECTING BOYS’ SERIES is tempting me to read some Ken Holt mysteries which I have, but never got around to reading (the story of my Life). I’m rereading Patricia Highsmith’s RIPLEY’S GAME for next week’s FFB. And the new Thomas Pynchon novel should arrive on my doorstep today. I’m going to drop everything and read it!

  5. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Rick, after Jackie read the Reacher “prequel” book I ordered most of the series for her from PaperBackSwap too. So far they are just sitting on the shelf, however. And speaking of Reacher, the only book I finished this week (read the 400 pages in one day) was the new Lee Child, Never Go Back. Even those like Bill Crider who have not liked his last few books should like this one a lot more. Speaking of Bill, I just started his new book and I’m reading a couple of things on the Kindle – that biography of Dan J. Marlowe and the 4th volume in Robert Silverberg’s collected stories (Trips).

    Only one new book (from PaperBackSwap): David Baldacci’s Split Second, the first in his King & Maxwell series. (We enjoyed the television series so I thought I’d try this.)

  6. Jerry House says:

    A quiet, slow week, much of it spent baby-sitting our foster-grandson — the baby who will not sleep — while my daughter preps her sign language interpretation for a performance of BYE-BYE BIRDIE. I did read two Edmund Crispin anthologies, BEST SF, SIX and BEST TALES OF TERROR 2, as well as two books by Manly Wade Wellman, SF novel THE BEYONDERS and HOK THE MIGHTY, a collection of the five Hok Stories originally published in AMAZING and FANTASTIC ADVENTURES. (A more complete collection is BATTLE IN THE DAWN: THE COMPLETE HOK THE MIGHTY published by Paizo a few years ago; with luck, I’ll get ahold of that one soon.)

    I’m still working through collections Bill Pronzini’s COYOTE AND QUARTER MOON and Achmed Abdullah’s STEEL AND JADE. I also started Edward Heron-Allen’s THE COMPLETE STRANGE PAPERS OF CHRISTOPHER BLAYRE.

    Just in from the library are the new Joe Lansdale, THE THICKET, and two old Andre Norton anthologies, SPACE POLICE and SPACE SERVICE.

    This coming week should be better if the howling baby and the bad bad dog who ate a tub of margarine and then vomited it all over the living room and kitchen floors cooperate.

  7. Richard says:

    Evan, there are the real oldies like Bobsey Twins and The Motor Boys (I never heard of most of those either. For me, the main one not mentioned on that cover is Rick Brant, whose scientific / electronic adventures were in competition to Tom Swift Jr.

  8. Richard says:

    Charles, the Tom Swift books are pretty lame at this point, but the Tom Swift Jr. books are fun.

  9. Richard says:

    George, if you had any Rick Brant books (especially the un-revised ones) I’d love to know. I never read a Ken Holt book.

  10. Richard says:

    Patti, could you be any more specific about that Robert Crais book? And, are you liking it?

  11. Richard says:

    Jeff, by the time Barbara gets to it, that new Reacher should be out in paperback. I haven’t gotten Bill’s new book yet. I need to do that. I think Barbara read one of Baldacci’s books and liked it.

  12. Richard says:

    Jerry, there’s so much in your comment this week I hardly know where to start! I may have to make a couple of replies to get through it. A sign interpretation, meaning she does the signing for the student’s version of the play? Interesting. I have Battle in the Dawn, also Wellman’s Who Fears the Devil both published by Pazio. If you’d like me to send them to you let me know. My email address is in the Who, Me? section of this blog, if you don’t have it elsewhere. I’m so far behind on Pronzini I despair of ever catching up.

  13. Richard says:

    Jerry, those old Norton collections sound like a lot of fun, and sound vaguely familiar. I may have read them in my tender youth. Sadly, the library system here does not have them.

    Sorry to hear of the howling baby and the bad, bad dog. Given a choice, I’d clean up after the dog rather than go sleepless because of the baby.

  14. Richard, the more I see and read books meant for young boys and girls, the more I’m convinced they’re meant for “young” adults like me. I’m happy that series like these are freely and legally available on the internet. They have a special charm.

  15. Richard says:

    You’re right, Prashant, the books do have a certain charm. The vocabulary certainly is more advanced than any current day boys or girls books, and possibly even better than most YA novels. Of course, I prefer to have printed copies when I can find them. I have trouble reading things on screen.

  16. Having enjoyed the film, I’m wanting to give the first Jack Reacher book a try at some point. My wife’s cousin is reading them and has been telling me how much he is enjoying them.

  17. Pingback: URL

Leave a Reply

