New Arrivals, Current Reading September 2 – 8, 2013

NEW ARRIVALS:
It’s gotten cool and wet here, a nice break for the garden and us before the final hot days of Summer later in the month.Wonderful weather, gardening, various outings have kept us busy, but I’ve taken time for Summer reading.

WordslingersFor the fourth week in a row, just one book. Seems I’m reading more and buying less, which is a good thing indeed.

Wordslingers by Will Murray [Altus Press June 2013 trade paper, new] – nonfiction, pulp western history. After reading the review by Evan Lewis (in case you missed it, you can read it HERE), I had to order this book. I’m interested in fiction from the pulp magazines and though I’m not a big reader of westerns, this is sure to be fascinating.

Will Murray writes and edits a great many pulp story collections and is among the most knowledgeable in the field, so I expect this to be authoritative and well as informative.

CURRENT READING:
I zipped right through Louise Penny’s How the Light Gets In. Very good and recommended. Read Where the Hell Am I? by Ken Levine. I also made good headway on the Budrys book of reviews. I’ve started reading this week’s new arrival. I’m going back to the very fat pulp short story collection I’ve been working on all summer then on to the rest of the things in waiting: a Mike Shayne novel, a Sue Grafton novel and three books from the library that are on hold and sure to pop up one of these weeks, though there are a good many people ahead of me.

So, what did YOU get, new, used or from the library, and
what have you been reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Current Reading, New Arrivals, Non-fiction, Pulp and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading September 2 – 8, 2013

  1. Patti Abbott says:

    I was lucky enough to get my copy of the Sarah Weinman new book on female writers from the last century (TROUBLED WIVES, TWISTED DAUGHTERS). And Dana King’s forthcoming book: GRIND JOINT. And my next book club book KING LEOPOLD’S GHOST.

  2. I have a copy of WORDSLINGERS, too! I’ve been a Will Murray fan since I discovered his work with the DOC SAVAGE series. Like you, I’m not a huge reader of Westerns, but I love reading about all those pulp writers.

  3. Jeff Meyerson says:

    We’re having weirdly changeable weather here. Very cool today, lucky if it makes 70, then up to 85 tomorrow and maybe 90 on Wednesday, before dropping back to the low 70’s by next weekend.

    No new books again this week, and only a couple of library books. (The Lee Child is in transit.) I read three books, one from the library (Joan Silber’s Ideas of Heaven: A Ring of Stories and two of mine – Ron Goulart’s fun Skyrocket Steele, which was mentioned on several blogs recently, and Dan J. Marlowe’s One Endless Hour, the second “Earl Drake” book which basically started it as a series seven years after The Name of the Game is Death.

  4. I want to pick up wordslingers too. Will do so eventually.

  5. Jerry House says:

    I finished Donald Wandrei’s COLOSSUS,Ed Gorman’s THE LONG RIDE BACK, Kendell Foster Crossen’s SF anthology FUTURE TENSE (How many books have used THAT title?), and the fifth volume of Joe Hill’s Locke and Key comics, CLOCKWORK.

    I’m in the middle of Bill Pronzini’s COYOTE AND QUARTER MOON; on deck is Achmed Abdullah’s 1927 collection STEEL AND JADE. After that, it’s a toss-up between any library holds that may come in or my dangerously teetering TBR pile. Mt. TBR has a Gorman, a Crider, a Wyndham, a Wellman, an F. Paul Wilson, and a passle of interesting anthologies near the top, so that may win out.

  6. Richard says:

    Patti, I read a review on line of the Weinman book. It sounded sort of interesting, but probably not in my wheelhouse. KING LEOPOLD’S GHOST sounds familiar, for some reason.

  7. Richard says:

    George, Will Murray has done the introductions or editing to many pulp reprint collections. I’m only a dozen pages into the book so far, as yesterday was lost to football instead of reading. I’m going to get further into it today. I may or may not watch the Monday games (but will listen to what Obama has to say) tonight. What are you reading now?

  8. Richard says:

    Jeff, I have four Reacher books (#7 through #10) for Barbara, who is reading the series pretty much straight through, coming from Paperback BookSwap, and we both have things on hold at the library that are a ways out yet, 25 people or more ahead of us on a handful of copies. Among them are Ronstat’s autobiography and the new Hammett The Hunter and Other Stories. So you liked Skyrocket Steel, eh?

  9. Richard says:

    Charles, no time like the present!

  10. Richard says:

    Jerry, without doing any research, I’m guessing there have been a half dozen SF anthologies using the name Future Tense or something close to it. I’m going to have to try Lock and Key. I find the TBR only wins over new and shiny about half the time, unfortunately, which is a bad thing for the assemblage of books waiting to be read.

  11. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Skyrocket Steele was light, fun reading. The combination of old Hollywood and sf worked pretty well, I thought, a lot better than the combination in the movie we watched this weekend, COWBOYS & ALIENS.

    Some of the library books I’m waiting for have a lot more than 25 people on the list – the Reacher had over 100, though I got in early there. The longest lines now are for Jim Gaffigan’s DAD IS FAT (#13 of 99) and Ivy Porchoda’s VISITATION STREET (#40 of 139). I see the Reacher has arrived and the new Crider is in transit.

  12. Richard says:

    Jeff, I guess it really gets down to the number of copies those people are waiting for. If I’m number 20 of 20 for 10 copies, not so bad, but if it’s 20 of 20 for one copy it’ll be a long wait at 3 weeks per reader.

  13. Jeff Meyerson says:

    The last two books I got that had 2-300 people waiting both turned out to be things I didn’t even like and returned unread. I guess it could be me.

  14. Evan Lewis says:

    What fine taste you have, sir.

  15. Rick, I’m reading a collection of essays by Gore Vidal. Terrific!

  16. Richard says:

    Evan, thank you, and right back at ‘cha.

Leave a Reply

