New Arrivals, Current Reading August 26 – September 1, 2013

NEW ARRIVALS:
Wonderful weather, gardening, various outings have kept us busy, but I’ve taken time for Summer reading.

How the Light Gets InFor the third week in a row, just one book.

How the light Gets In by Louise Penny [Minotaur Books 2013 hardcover, new] – mystery novel. Just published and fighting it out for top spot on the Read Next pile is this novel by a very favorite author. I’ve been eagerly awaiting this since I finished the last page of the preceding novel, The Beautiful Mystery, which ended in what seemed to be a cliffhanger. That was a year ago. The wait is finally over.

CURRENT READING:
I finished three more of Anne McCaffrey’s Pern books, the Dragonsinger trilogy (Dragonsinger, Dragonsong and Dragondrums). Also read were Oregon Bound, the slightly fictionalized account, based on diaries, of a family traveling the Oregon Trail in 1852, and House of Secrets, a YA fantasy.

I’m now reading the new Louise Penny novel shown here, have a Mike Shayne novel started, a Sue Grafton partly read, a Perry Mason half done and a couple of other things that have found their way into my “soonest” pile. I’m about halfway through the book of the Algys Budrys review columns from Galaxy magazine. That’s not to mention the things I’ve been gnawing away at all summer, some of them all year, it seems.

So, what did YOU get, new, used or from the library, and
what have you been reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Current Reading, mystery, New Arrivals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading August 26 – September 1, 2013

  1. cgramlich says:

    Great title. I’m a sucker for nice titles.

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    New Arrivals – George Easter always raves about Sally Spencer (Alan Rustage)’s mysteries. Since the library doesn’t have any I was able to get the first Woodhead book from PaperBackSwap, FATAL QUEST, though I don’t see it at the top of the pile anytime soon. The other was a purchase from Amazon after Bill Crider and others recommended it, Brian Ritt’s Paperback Confidential: Crime Writers of the Paperback Era.

    Believe it or not I returned all my library books so the reading has all been my books, the first two from PaperBackSwap. A while back George Kelley recommended MY BOOKSTORE, in which writers touted their favorite bookstores and told about their own books. I made a little list of books and authors that sounded interesting from that. Since my library didn’t have it I got Lesley Kagen’s first novel Whistling in the Dark and read it this week. It is clearly the [partly] semi-autobiographical story of 10 year old Sally and her 9 year old sister in Milwaukee in the summer of 1959 with their mother in the hospital, their stepfaher drunk and absent, and a killer on the loose. I really liked it a lot.

    Next was a book of stories I read because the author sounded interesting (can’t remember if it was that bookstore book or somewhere else), John Dufresne’s The Way Water Enters Stone. Lastly was Justin Cronin’s sequel to his blockbuster The Passage, this one The Twelve. The third in the trilogy will be out next year. I read it in a large uncorrected proof George Kelley was nice enough to pick up for me at last year’s Bouchercon.

  3. Patti Abbott says:

    The Lewis Man by Peter May, A Trap for Cinderalla by Japrisot and a book of short stories by Highsmith.

  4. Jerry House says:

    I read Bill Crider’s COMPOUND MURDER, another great addition to the Dan Rhodes saga, and Bill Pronzini’s KINSMEN, a 1993 Nameless novella just published in book form last year. I’ve been going through anthologies like peanuts: Four of Edmond Crispin’s BEST SF collections and two horror anthologies from John Keir Cross — all of these from British publisher Faber and Faber in the 1960s — and Eileen Colwell’s HALLOWE’EN ACORN, a themed children’s anthology. In honor of the 50th anniversary of the March on Washington, I read John Lewis’ MARCH, BOOK ONE, a powerful and moving graphic novel detailing the Civil Rights leader’s early life and his involvement in the struggle.

    I’m in the middle of several books now: Fezdanie’s THROUGHT THE EARTH, Wandrei’s COLOSSUS, and two western collections, Gorman’s THE LONG RIDE BACK and Pronzini’s COYOTE AND QUARTER MOON. Also in the pile are Kendell Foster Crossen’s FUTURE TENSE and Damon Knight’s TOWARD INFINIITY, both SF anthologies.

    On order from my local library are Stephen King’s latest, DOCTOR SLEEP, and Edward Heron-Allen’s THE COMPLETE STRANGE PAPERS OF CHRISTOPHER BLAYRE. It’s anybody’s guess when these two will come in.

  5. I finished Kerouac’s Big Sur which was a slog. I’m going to read Ralph Beer’s The Blind Corral, which is pretty slim, then dig into Empire of the Summer Moon by S.C. Gwynne.

  6. Richard says:

    Chris, Empire of the Summer Moon sounds like it will be a slog as well, but I guess if you’re interested enough in the Cheyenne Indians it might not.

  7. Richard says:

    Charles, there seem to have been several books using the Cohen quote as a title.

  8. Richard says:

    Jeff, no library books? Oh my. Still sounds like you’re doing a ton of reading. Whistling in the Dark does sound good.

  9. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I have the sequel to the Kagen in transit from the library. I do have a couple of books out now but nothing too exciting. I’m waiting for the Crider and Lansdale and Lee Child and Craig Johnson books to come in.

  10. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Actually, I was pleased to finish the Cronin book so quickly as it is 560 pages.

  11. Glad you snagged this right away too, as I knew you would. Look forward to your thoughts once it is over.

  12. No 560 page books for me now. With classes starting this week, I’m only reading short books(250 pages or LESS!) from now until New Year’s Day. Of course, I have plenty of short books stacked up and waiting to be read.

  13. Richard says:

    George, go ahead and read the history of the Bills winning 2013 season, it ought to be a quick read. Okay, sorry, I just couldn’t resist. (slaps himself). After years of being a Chargers fan, it was a great relief to move here and be able to root for the Seahawks and Niners, though I’d liked both teams for a long time anyway. Looks like your injured QB may be able to play a little in the opener.

  14. Rick, Bills fans have suffered through 13 Playoff-free years punctuated by bad management, bad Drafts, and bad coaching. The Bills will start a rookie QB on Sunday, either injured E. J. Manuel or undrafted Jeff Tuel. Bill Belichick and the Patriots must be gleeful about the prospect of playing a QB who’s never started a real NFL game.

  15. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Hey there is always hope. Look at the Pittsburgh Pirates, having their first winning season since 1992 and pretty much a shoe-in to make the playoffs. Someday it could be the Bills’ turn.

  16. Richard says:

    George, at least the Pats are short handed on the receiving corps. That may help. Plus the Jets are a disaster at QB and defense. What, you worried about the Dolphins?

  17. No, Rick, I’m not worried about the Dolphins. I’m worried about the eight Playoff teams the Bills have on their 2013 schedule. I don’t think the Bills can beat any of them.

Leave a Reply

