Saturday Short Rant

Last week My wife and I dropped over to a local small box store (Fred Meyers) to pick up a few things for the late Summer / early Fall garden, only to find the entire garden section bare. What?

I asked an employee what was the deal and was told they were making room for the Christmas things, which are on the way. It’s bloody August, and they’re getting ready to put out Christmas stuff?

I don’t know about you, but I sure as hell don’t celebrate Christmas in August, or September, or even October or November. I’ve had to accept holiday stuff in November, before Thanksgiving, but in August and early September for heaven’s sake? No, no, no!

It’s time these buyers and managers of such stores decided to serve the needs of the CUSTOMER and not their own calendars. Bah. We went down the street a mile and got what we needed at Lowe’s.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Saturday Short Rant

  1. Yes, that is beyond ridiculous. Its barely tolerable to see Halloween stuff in late August and I love Halloween.

    I do have to admit though that I like to do the Christmas decorating on my birthday, Nov. 21st. Its been a tradition for several years now.

  2. Richard says:

    I guess I’m too old fashioned to want Christmas stuff before December 10 or so.

  3. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Yikes. I thought it was extreme seeing Halloween candy in the stores in August but Christmas?

    That’s nuts.

  4. cgramlich says:

    Their loss. how silly

  5. We have something called THE CHRISTMAS STORE that is open all year long. I wouldn’t think people would want to buy Christmas stuff during a hot and humid summer, but the store seems to do a good business. Go figure.

  6. Redhead says:

    I popped into a local craft store to buy some small picture frames, and half the place is already done up for Christmas. My husband is always looking for spring jackets in April and shorts in July. Nope, gotta buy that stuff 5 months before you need it. I’ve started seeing bathing suits at Target as early as January.

    I’m seriously waiting for Christmas stuff to start coming out in February, summer stuff to show up in October, and tourists from other countries who just need to buy a pair of shoes and some toothpaste to think we’re all lunatics.

  7. Richard says:

    Red, perhaps we ARE all lunatics. It sure seems the marketing gurus think we want things earlier and earlier every year. Maybe there’s a niche for a store that carries what we need at the time, not months later.

  8. Cap'n Bob says:

    And people wonder why 75% of the needles are off their trees a week before Xmas.

  9. Richard says:

    Yep. Bob, we don’t start thinking about Christmas decorating, tree or any of it (except possibly some shopping for gifts) until about December 10.

Leave a Reply

