New Arrivals, Current Reading Aug 19 – 25, 2013

NEW ARRIVALS:
A cooler spell has come, with rain several evenings, then sunny cool afternoons following overcast mornings. We had a great time getting together with friends from Minnesota last week, along with some other folks. We had a nice visit at home followed by lunch by the lake.

Tamarack CountyOne book again this week.

Tamarack County by William Kent Krueger [Atria Books 2013 hardcover, new] – mystery novel. Brand new novel by one of my vary favorite authors, this is the fourteenth Cork O’Connor novel. I can hardly wait to read it. Automatic top of TBR pile.

Funny thing, Patti Abbott just did a post asking what favorite authors’ books people buy as soon as a new one is published, and I listed Krueger. The other author I listed is Louise Penny, and her new one will be out next week.

CURRENT READING:
Continuing with the Pern books, I finished Dragonflight, Dragonquest and The White Dragon. Now I’m reading a fictionalized account of a family traveling the Oregon Trail in 1852, and have a fantasy doorstopper from the library waiting, as well as the new Krueger listed above.

What did YOU get, new, used or from the library, and
what have you been reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Current Reading, mystery, New Arrivals and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading Aug 19 – 25, 2013

  1. Jerry House says:

    I finished the second volume THE COLLECTED STRANGE STORIES OF ROBERT AICKMAN, containing his last four original collections. I also read two of Bill Pronzini’s “Nameless” books: FEVER and BETRAYERS; I’m almost caught up on the series. Max Allan Collins’ SEDUCTION OF THE INNOCENT was a fun read, a tad more saucy than the two earlier Jack and Maggie Starr books but this was their first venture from Hard Case Crime and allowed the author a bit more latitude.

    I’m currently reading Clement Fezandie’s THROUGH THE EARTH, an 1898 early SF effort about building a high-speed tunnel through the center of the earth: problems solved by marvelous inventions and scientifically illogical (even for the time) theories. This one first appeared as a serial in Mary Mapes Dodge’s children’s magazine ST. NICHOLAS. I’m also working my way through Donald Wandrei’s COLOSSUS, his collected science fiction stories.

    Coming up: Bill Crider’s COMPOUND MURDER and four story collections: THE LONG RIDE BACK by Ed Gorman (westerns), COYOTE AND QUARTER MOON by Bill Pronzini (westerns), BEST BLACK MAGIC STORIES edited by John Keir Cross, and TOWARD INFINITY edited by Damon Knight (SF). It’s going to be an enjoyable week.

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I’m reading Lesley Kagan’s award-winning first book, WHISTLING IN THE DARK and John Dufresne’s short story collection, THE WAY THAT WATER ENTERS STONE.

    This week I finished three books, all mysteries, the first two from the library and the third one mine. They were THE BAT, the first Harry Hole book by Jo Nesbo, this one set in Sydney, Australia rather than Oslo. I liked it and will be reading more. Next was the latest Lake District mystery by Martin Edwards featuring historian Daniel Kind and Ch. Insp. Hannah Scarlett, THE FROZEN SHROUD. And last was Jamie Freveletti’s latest about chemist Emma Caldridge, DEAD ASLEEP. I really liked her first two a lot and would recommend them highy. Even though this was a fast read despite the 400 pages (the largish mass market paperback had good size dark print, which these old eyes appraciated) I found it disappointing after the earlier books, especially the rushed ending. I hope her doing the continuation of a Robert Ludlum series is not taking away from her real writing.

    No new books this week.

  3. cgramlich says:

    Haven’t bought any books in a while. Really trying to cut back on expenses

  4. Richard says:

    I must say I’ve been enjoying rereading the Pern books by McCaffrey, but I’m ready for a break before jumping back in with the Dragonsinger trilogy. More specific replies after I get some coffee.

  5. Unfamiliar with Krueger. Sounds interesting.

  6. Richard says:

    Arrrrh! House full of quilter ladies! Running for cover…

  7. I’m reading Matthew Dunn’s SPYCATCHER trilogy before my summer ends and I’m back to work. There’s nothing like a good spy novel to pass a summer day. I have a couple Nick Asher space operas on the top of my Read Real Soon stack. Watch out for those crazed quilters!

  8. George, I like the Spycatcher books myself.

  9. Randy, I’m finding the SPYCATCHER series to be quick, entertaining reads. They’re a perfect way to end the Summer!

Leave a Reply

