New Arrivals, Current Reading Aug 12 – 18, 2013

NEW ARRIVALS:
Continued temperatures in the mid to high eighties plus higher than usual humidity for August has made it uncomfortable here. I know, it’s worse in the midwest and east, but I’m a left coast guy. We went to our last Hillsboro Hops game Wednesday, and once again enjoyed going to the ballpark. We’ll probably get a ticket package next year.

Where the Hell Am I?Just one book again this week.

Where the Hell Am I? by Ken Levine [self POD 2011 trade paper, new] – nonfiction, travel. I came across this while looking for another book by the author and it sounded like fun, light, fast, easy.

CURRENT READING:
Continuing with the Pern books, I finished Neralka’s Story then went right on to Dragonflight and Dragonquest. I’ll probably also read The White Dragon before switching to something else, probably a mystery or two. I just might pick something from the SRP (Summer Reading Plan (here), or not.

What did YOU get, new, used or from the library, and
what have you been reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Current Reading, New Arrivals, science fiction, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading Aug 12 – 18, 2013

  1. Jeff Meyerson says:

    As promised I finished the three books of stories I was reading last week. First wasJoan Silber, Fools, after reading a good review in the NY Times Book Review. I liked it is lot. Next was Warren Adler’s New York Echoes (from PaperbackSwap). He moved back to New York where he grew up after 50 years away and the new stories are set here. Frankly, it was a disappointment after his two earlier collections set in Florida. Last was Gil Brewer’s very dark Redheads Die Quickly and Other Stories. All I can say is, if this was his worldview no wonder he drank. A few of these were just so incredibly dark and bleak.

    New arrivals – from PaperbackSwap, The Water That Water Enters Stone, short stories by John Dufresne, after reading something about him that sounded interesting, and Full Dark, No Stars, the only Stephen King short story collection I hadn’t read. A used hardback I got for $3.98 was the third in Pari Noskin Taichert’s New Mexico series about public relations person Sasha Solomon, The Socorro Blast.

    I finished that Jo Nesbo book and I’m reading Martin Edwards’ latest Lake District mystery.

  2. cgramlich says:

    Never having been a big traveler, I’m not sure I’d have the background to really get into this one.

  3. I’m switching into School Mode with classes starting in just a few weeks. I’m reading books about education and teaching and business in general. I’m getting psyched up to go back to work. SUNY at Buffalo sent a big van out last week and loaded 32 boxes of books and magazines. I should reap a nice tax deduction for that donation! Barack Obama visits SUNY at Buffalo this Thursday (no, I’m not attending his speech). With Security closing roads, travel will be a nightmare!

  4. I’m working on a half dozen books sent for review, both paper and digital. I plan to slip in a forgotten book for this weekend.

  5. Jerry House says:

    Read two by August Derleth: THE ELEANOR POEMS AND OTHER SAC PRAIRIE POETRY (containing poems he wrote in the 1930s) and WISCONSIN WRITERS AND WRITING (a series of six lectures); also read two of the Pronzini Nameless books on hand: BOOBYTRAP and BLEEDERS; and Volume 4 of Joe Hill’s quirky graphic novel series LOCKE AND KEY.

    I was working my way through the second volume of THE COLLECTED STRANGE STORIES OF ROBERT AICKMAN when I was interrupted by a copy of Annette McComas’s tribute anthology THE EUREKA YEARS, a collection of stories and ephemera from the first years of Anthony Boucher and J. Francis McComas’s THE MAGAZINE OF FANTASY & SCIENCE FICTION, an absolutely amazing book that includes correspondence between the editors and a number of contributors — only something of the highest caliber could get between me and my Aickman. I’ll probably do this one as a FFB this week, although I believe it has been (by Todd Mason, probably) an FFB before.

    This week I’ll finish up the Aickman, the two remaining Pronzinis in the pile, and Max Allan Collins’ SEDUCTION OF THE INNOCENT. There’s a copy of COLOSSUS: THE COLLECTED SCIENCE FICTION OF DONALD WANDREI waiting for me at the library; I’ll also be spending a good deal of time with the CD of the Stephen King/John Mellencamp/T Bone Burnett musical THE GHOST BROTHERS OF DARKLAND COUNTY.

  6. Richard says:

    Jeff & Jerry – you guys amaze me at the amount of reading you do! Seems like I plough away and only get three books a month under my belt, and you two just read, read, read! Randy does the same thing, it seems.

    Barbara and I just spent the day at Swan Island Dahlias. a grower and seller of top quality Dahlias worldwide. They are about a half hour down the freeway. Beautiful with all the plants in full bloom this time of year, acre after acre. Only thing was I forgot my hat and sunburned my pate. Guess I should have been reading instead. Well, no.

  7. Patti Abbott says:

    I finished SAVE YOURSELF by Kelly Braffet, which was one of the most depressing books I have ever read. Not a single character escaped tragedy. I don’t mind unlikable characters but I need some sort of happy ending for someone.

  8. Richard says:

    Patti, that’s why I usually avoid noir… the spiral of doom strikes everyone.

  9. Richard, my “new arrivals” are usually the ones sitting on my bookshelves and in cabinets for several years. Which ones to pull out is a big dilemma as there is no pattern to my reading. I’m currently reading THE HELL RAISERS (SADDLE PALS), a Raw-Action western by Lee Floren. I’d read a few pages of this novel and then forgot all about it.

Leave a Reply

