New Arrivals, Current Reading Aug 5 – 11, 2013

NEW ARRIVALS:
This is the time of year when the garden needs some routine maintenance: weeding, some  trimming and flower cutting. Mostly we just water and enjoy. However, we just spent three days putting in 39 new Iris, which will pay us back in Spring when they bloom.

Odyssey

Just one book this time.

Odyssey by Keith Laumer [Baen 2002 mass market paperback, used] – science fiction story collection. This is one of the Laumer books I looked for and couldn’t find, but friend and former apa-member Jeff Meyerson generously sent me a copy. Thanks, Jeff!

CURRENT READING:
After reading the Dragonwriter book last time, I said I was in the mood for some McCaffrey, and I’ve been reading her books. So far, Dragonseye, Moreta, Dragonlady of Pern and now halfway through Neralka’s Story. I’m really enjoying these and have pretty much tossed that Summer Reading Plan (here), out the window at this point.

What did YOU get, new, used or from the library, and
what have you been reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Current Reading, New Arrivals, science fiction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading Aug 5 – 11, 2013

  1. I really enjoyed ODYSSEY when I read it a few years ago. I enjoy Keith Laumer’s work and the BAEN collections are full of fun reading. I’m reading a book about Warren Buffett right now. My vacation is coming to an end in a couple of weeks so I’m trying to get as many books read as I can.

  2. Jerry House says:

    I’ve always enjoyed Laumer, especially his work published in the 60s and early 70s. His latener work (post-stroke) suffered greatly, as did (evidently) his personality. My wife is a great fan of McCaffrey’s early dragon books and her romantic suspense novels; I’ve never been able to get into her work, although I admired her as a person the several times I met her (she once signed a book to me inscribing it “To Paul,” confusing me with someone else — she was just so nice I couldn’t correct her).

    It’s been an Ed Gorman week for me: five (six, depending on how you’re counting) short story collections and a pseudonymous YA thriller (for this week’s FFB). I also read the first volume of THE COLLECTED STRANGE STORIES OF ROBERT AICKMAN; I had forgotten how good he really was. Plus, the first two collections from Bill Willingham’s FABLES; where characters from fairy tales live secretly in exile in NYC — great stuff! I’ll be reading more.

    Plans for the coming week (always subject to change) are for the second Aickman volume; a book of essays and a book of poetry by August Derleth, a bunch of Nameless books from Bill Pronzini. and Max Allan Collins’ SEDUCTION OF THE INNOCENT. I also picked up SHERLOCK HOLMES AND FRANKENSTEIN’S DIARY by Barry Grant for later down the road.

  3. Richard says:

    George, I wish the Baen collections were a lll still in print, I was lucky Jeff had this one. Looking forward to reviews on those thick books.

  4. Evan Lewis says:

    I was a big Retief fan many moons ago. Right now I’m having trouble finding a novel that really grabs me. I’m reading Anna Karenina (OK) and Farmer’s Tarzan novel, The Dark Heart of Time (better), but I’m devoting more time to Prince Valiant Vol. 5 and The Phantom Sundays Vol. 1.

  5. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Enjoy the book. Jerry, I’m with you on Ed Gorman’s short stories, my favorites of his writing.

    Right now I’m in the middle of three very different volumes of stories, all of which I should finish this week, by Gil Brewer, Warren Adler and Joan Silber. The first two are mine, the third is from the library. I’m also reading Jo Nesbo’s first Harry Hole book, THE BAT, which was just published here for the first time.

    Last year I really enjoyed Sara Gran’s CLAIRE DeWITT AND THE CITY OF THE DEAD for its New Orleans setting and the flashbacks to the PI’s Brooklyn girlhood. I must admit I was disappointed with her new one, CLAIRE DeWITT AND THE BOHEMIAN HIGHWAY (set in San Francisco), though the Brooklyn flashbacks were still of some interest. I don’t think I will bother with the next one.

    The only new book (from the exchange) I got in this week was a paperback of a book reviewed on one of the blogs (sorry, can’t remember if it was here or elsewhere), Ron Goulart’s SKYROCKET STEELE. I do have some others on the way, and I got a big box of DVD’s of British TV shows (including the two newest Jonathan Creek specials) from a friend in England.

  6. I’m traveling tomorrow, and I have A Terrible Glory: Custer and the Little Bighorn – the Last Great Battle of the American West by James Donovan all ready to be tackled. We’re driving out to the battlefield on Labor Day, something I’ve wanted to do for years, and I want to be ready for it.

  7. cgramlich says:

    I’m a fan of Laumer. Gotta try to get this one.

  8. Richard says:

    Jerry, you’re right, the Laumer post-stroke wasn’t nearly as good. I’d forgotten about all that until you mentioned it. I’ve liked McCaffrey’s Pern books since I first read the original two, Dragonflight and Dragonquest. Then The White Dragon came and it was great too, so I was sold.

    Your upcoming reading reading list sounds great! A nice mix. Same with the Gorman-Pronzini-Aickman, as well as that Collins, which I haven’t gotten to yet. I love Fables. So well written and the plot line pulled me in when I read the first one when it was collected. I have all but the latest, and some of the spinoff collections, Jack of Fables being one of them.

  9. Fun to see another Laumer book.

    Your McCaffrey mention reminds me that the book about her and Pern just came out and I need to pick up a copy this week.

  10. Richard says:

    Carl, don’t buy the McCaffrey book until you have read my comments on it in the previous post.

  11. Patti Abbott says:

    THE SON, Philippe Meyer. Since I haven’t finished anything but THE SEARCHERS I doubt it.

Leave a Reply

