New Arrivals, Current Reading July 22 – 28, 2013

NEW ARRIVALS:
Something different this time, though one more Judge Dee book did slip in (from a different A-zon warehouse, I guess).

 

Necklace and Calabash by Robert van Gulik [University of Chicago Press, 1992 – 5th printing – trade paperback, new] – historical mystery. I’ve said more than enough about the Judge Dee books, so just add this.

Complete Adventures of Hazard and Partridge by Robert J. Pearsall [Altus Press 2013 trade paperback, new] – pulp adventure, 15 stories / novelettes. These stories originally appeared in the pulp magazine Adventure.

West of Guam: the complete cases of Jo Gar by Raoul Whitfield [Altus Press 2013 trade paperback, new] – pulp adventure, 26 stories, 4 of them connected. I read those four connected stories in the huge Blask Mask story collection I’m very slowly working my way through and liked them a lot, so when I saw this I bought it. Gar is a fascinating character, and the setting of many of the stories is interesting as well. I already have Jo Gar’s Casebook, the collection of 18 Gar stories published by Crippen & Landru which has most of these, but I wanted the complete set.

The Lighter Side of Keith Laumer by Keith Laumer, edited by Eric Flint [Baen 2002 mass market paperback, new] – science fiction, short story collection. After seeing the review of this on George Kelley’s blog I got a copy. I looked for a couple of the other Baen collections by Laumer only to find them OP or hard to find. I wish things would stay in print a bit longer!

Mouse Guard: The Black Axe by David Peterson [Archaia Press June 2013 hardcover, new] – graphic novel, collected from individual issues of the Mouse Guard comic. This is volume 3 of the collected Mouse Guard. There is a level of storytelling and sophistication of artwork here that is outstanding.

CURRENT READING:
In the Judge Dee series, I’ve finished Judge Dee at Work, The Chinese Gold Murders, The Lacquer Screen and The Chinese Lake Murders. I liked the last of those the best so far.

I finished a short story collection by Eric Wright, A Killing Climate, and the rest of the short novels in The Crimson Mask Omnibus Volume 1, which I enjoyed a lot. Just for fun, I re-read The Pushcart War by Jean Merrill, which is a hoot and if you haven’t read it you should. Now I’m hoping to get back to my Summer reading plan (here), having picked up The Song of the Sky which I’m 2/3 through. 

What did YOU get, new, used or from the library, and
what have you been reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Current Reading, fantasy, mystery, New Arrivals, Pulp, science fiction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading July 22 – 28, 2013

  1. Richard, it’s been a slow reading week for me and I’m still reading the books I launched into the week before. I might pick up MAX CARRADOS, four detective stories by Ernest Bramah, a writer I haven’t read before.

  2. Jerry House says:

    I didn’t get much reading in this past week due to the long drive from Massachusetts and family get-togethers. And (dammit), the Ed Gormans I was reading went walkabout in a motel in Cranbury, New Jersey — I hope whoever found them enjoys them, I did read a Pulpville Press edition of two chapbooks originally published by Hugo Gernsback in 1929-1932 (THE GIRL FROM MARS by Jack Williamson & Miles J. Breuer and THE INVADING ASTEROID by Manly Wade Wellman) — crude but interesting, the comic collection BARBARELLA — also crude, also interesting, and a Robert Arthur anthology — mostly familiar. So I still have most of the items mentioned last week to go in addition to two library books that came in: August Derleth’s WISCONSIN WRITERS AND WRITING and Ed Gorman’s Ramble House collection THE END OF IT ALL AND OTHER STORIES. I also picked up the DVD of Max Allan Collins’ “Quarry” movie, THE LAST LULLABY.

    There’s a pile of about twenty other books that suddenly appeared and began whispering, “Early August, early August…” We’ll see.

  3. Jeff Meyerson says:

    OK, you sold me. I had no idea they’d done the complete Jo Gar stories, and according to the Amazon listing it looks about twice the size of the excellent Crippen & Landru collection. I put it in my cart. I do have the Laumer. I also have some of the other Laumer Baen collections which I am unlikely to get to any time soon, so if you email me which ones you’re looking for I would be happy to pass it/them on. I also read the Wright book but not the Merrill, so I added it to my list.

    No new books last week, thankfully, and the two books I read were my own paperbacks from PaperbackSwap after reading about them on various blogs (George Kelley on the first, James Reasoner – I think – on the second).

    First was SOFT TOUCH, one of George (and Ed Gorman’s)’s top picks of John D. MacDonald’s non series books. You can check his blog for the review. Good one. The other was the second in Harold Adams’ Carl Wilcox series, set in Depression-era South Dakota, PAINT THE TOWN RED. In this one Wilcox is in Corden, South Dakota taking care of his parents’ hotel while they recover in the hospital from injuries suffered in a car crash. The surprise to me was that it was set in July of 1929, several months before the stock market crashed. Nice atmosphere of the period and I’ll be looking for the next book in the series (THE MISSING MOON).

  4. I’m going to order that Jo Gar collection. Sounds great! I’ve whittled down the stack of library books. I’m rereading a Jack Vance for next week’s FFB. Before the Summer ends and I go back to work I want to read a couple more Judge Dee mysteries. Once I flip the calendar to August, I go into Prepare for the Fall Semester mode.

  5. Richard says:

    Prashant, as I recall, I’ve read good things about the Carrados stories/novels, hopefully you do a review on your blog. Sometimes for me the hot summer weather slows my reading down, or I’m busy outside or with other things.

  6. cgramlich says:

    I’ve read and enjoyed some of the Mouse Guard stuff. That Jo Gar sounds interesting as well. I’m a big fan of Laumer’s Bolo stuff.

  7. Richard says:

    Jerry, I guess we’re all slowing down on reading this month. Leaving books behind in a hotel / motel happens, though usually if you call them they will send them if you pay postage. That is, if they were turned in by the cleaning crew. As I said last time, you’re reading some neat stuff.

    Sometimes it seems I have a whole house full of books whispering to me like that.

  8. Richard says:

    Jeff, there are only a few stories in the West of Guam volume that are not in the C&L, so you have to be a bit of a completist to want both. Paint the Town Red sounds awfully familiar.

  9. Richard says:

    George, I hope you find some time to read some non-doorstop, fun stuff before academia shuts your reading down, though I know you’re always reading something. When does the Fall semester start?

  10. Jeff Meyerson says:

    You probably read that Adams – it was the second in the series. It’s been decades (literally – 1982) since I read the first one so I have no memory of it at all, other than the character of Carl Wilcox.

    I’ve read two of those Bramah Max Carrados books – the first in 1976 (I think it was a Dover edition) and the second in 2003.

  11. Patti Abbott says:

    I haven’t thought about THE PUSHCART WAR in years. I wonder if is up in the attic….

  12. Rick, our Fall Semester starts the day after Labor Day. Patrick’s semester starts on August 19. But once I flip the calendar to August my mind goes from Vacation-mode to College-mode.

  13. Richard says:

    Patti, I had a lot of fun rereading The Pushcart War.

    George, I’ll bet you sneak in a little time for books, movies and pizza…

  14. I do love me some Keith Laumer. Might have to pick this book up for myself too, since all the cool kids are doing it.

    I picked up the second Mouse Guard book at SFAL2 from David Peterson. Need to take the time to read it. The first one was great.

  15. Evan Lewis says:

    Raoul Whitfield. Thumbs up.

  16. Richard says:

    Thanks, Evan, I figured you like that one. Do you know anything about the Hazard and Partridge?

  17. Richard says:

    Carl, Laumer for me is a bit of a hit-and-miss author. I like some of his work and other stuff leaves me cold. Still, I’ve read the first couple of these and enjoyed them.

Leave a Reply

