New Arrivals, Current Reading July 1 – 7, 2013

NEW ARRIVALS:
As I said last time, the third FlashGordon was expected, and it arrived Monday. That’s it.

Flash Gordon Sunday 1934-1937

Flash Gordon: On the Planet Mongo:  The Complete Flash Gordon Library Vol. 1: Sundays 1934 – 1937  by Don Moore, writer, & Alex Raymond, artist [Titan Books September 2012 oversized hardcover, new].

CURRENT READING
I finished Odd Man Out by Matt McCarthy, about playing in baseball’s minor leagues, which I enjoyed. I’m about 2/3 through The Song of the Sky, and have started another book, not on my summer reading list, but from the library, Stolen Season also about minor league baseball.

Judge Dee at WorkI’m reading Judge Dee at Work, a short story collection. Though I’ve been aware of Van Gulik’s character for a long time, this is my first time reading any, so I thought I’d start with this. I’m about half way through The Crimson Mask Omnibus. I just got The Pushcart War from the library. With all these library books coming in, I’m not getting to the summer reading list I posted.

What did you get, new, used or from the library, and
what have you been reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Adventure, Current Reading, New Arrivals, science fiction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading July 1 – 7, 2013

  1. I think you’ll enjoy JUDGE DEE AT WORK. And there’s plenty more where that came from! Like you, I’m trying to get caught up on library books. I’ve whittled the pile down from a dozen books to a mere five. I’m hoping to be completely caught up by the end of July. I only have two more episodes to watch of BORGEN 2 (excellent political drama!) and I plan to go see PACIFIC RIM (giant robots fighting giant alien monsters) this coming weekend.

  2. Jerry House says:

    I’m also trying to burn through some library books before we head up to Massachusetts for a memorial service: August Derleth’s RETURN TO WALDEN WEST, Manly Wade Wellman’s FASTEST ON THE RIVER and HARPER’S FERRY: PRIZE OF WAR, and LET’S TALK, Evan Hunter’s autobiographical account of the throat cancer that would eventually killed him shortly after the book was published. For the trip north I’ll bring along a random handful of paperbacks, all the while expecting to return with more books that those I’ve left with.

  3. cgramlich says:

    I might like that comic strip collection.

  4. Evan Lewis says:

    Is that a Tom Adams cover on the Dee book, or wannabe Tom Adams cover?

  5. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Somehow I never heard of that Hunter book. Will have to look for it.

    For whatever reason – perhaps the heat and humidity – I’ve had a tough time reading this week. I did finish one book, Jess Walters’ first (and the first of a two book series), OVER TUMBLED GRAVES, set in his hometown of Spokane, Washington. I like his writing very much.

    No new books though several are on the way. I still have half a dozen library books on hand and I’m halfway through Robert McCammon’s collection of creepy (but in a good way) horror tales, BLUE WORLD.

  6. Jerry House says:

    Jeff, the Hunter book (as by “Evan Hunter aka Ed McBain”) was published in 2005 by Orion in Great Britain; I don’t think there has been an American edition. Hunter passed away in July of that year.

  7. Patti Abbott says:

    My copy of THE SEARCHERS: THE STORY OF AN AMERICAN EPIC arrived. Also bought an old Charlotte Armstrong book (A DRAM OF POISON) and a book by Jack Vance. I was unprepared for the kind of story he writes, but I will wade through. I am reading THE SHINING GIRLS (Beaukes). Phil bought a book by Karen Fossum.

  8. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Jerry, I looked it up and figured that out since all the copies available on ABE come from Britain. Thanks for the confirmation.

    Patti, A DRAM OF POISON was a good one, probably my favorite of the few Armstrong books I read.

  9. Richard says:

    NOTE: I have my annual eye appointment this morning, with dilating so will be replying to comments a little later on.

  10. Richard says:

    Evan, the Judge Dee cover is by Ed Lindlof.

  11. Richard says:

    George, I’ve only read 1 story in the Dee so far, and would rate it as “okay” as I saw the end coming way ahead. I’ll get to it after I finish another book. Yes, Pacific Rim trailers make it look like fun.

  12. Richard says:

    Jerry, those are all new to me. The Wellman might be one to read.

  13. Richard says:

    Charles, yes you might, though the reproduction and layout of the 2nd and 3rd volumes are better. You may find #1 and #2 at your library.

    Patti, that book on THE SEARCHERS might be very interesting. I’m hoping to read more on it in your blog. I’ve read a few Armstrong books, but not that one.

  14. Richard says:

    Jeff, weather, especially heat, affects my desire to read too.

  15. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I got that parcel of half a dozen books in this afternoon. I’ll list them next time.

  16. Richard says:

    Jeff, that’s great. I’ll look forward to next week.

  17. Check out Mrs. Wheatley’s summer reading list – Bolded titles are available in our library, other titles I hope to find at the Morristown-Hamblen Public Library. For more reading suggestions, check out the Library page and/or the Reading Room section by clicking the links in the left navigation of this website.

Leave a Reply

