New Arrivals, Current Reading June 24 – 30, 2013

NEW ARRIVALS:
I have loved some of the famous comic strips drawn by exceptional artists over the years: Prince Valient, Tarzan and Flash Gordon. The latter, drawn by Alex Raymond is both fun SF and terrific art. I finally pulled the trigger on these collections of newly restored Sunday strips which Titan began publishing last year.

Flash Gordon: The Tyrant of Mongo: The Complete Flash Gordon Library Vol. 2: Sundays 1937 – 1941 by Don Moore, writer, & Alex Raymond, artist [Titan Books December 2012 oversized hardcover, new] – science fiction, Sunday comic strip. Exciting SF adventure on the Planet Mongo, ruled by the Emperor-Tyrant Ming. This is the second volume of the collected, newly restored Sunday strips. Wonderful stuff.

Flash Gordon: The Fall of Ming: –  The Complete Flash Gordon Library Vol. 3: Sundays 1941 – 1944 by Don Moore, writer & Alex Raymond, artist [Titan Books May 2013 oversized hardcover, new] – science fiction, Sunday comic strip. Exciting SF adventure on the Planet Mongo, ruled by the Emperor-Tyrant Ming. This is the third volume of the collected, newly restored Sunday strips. Wonderful stuff.

On the way but not arriving for a few more days is the first book, Flash Gordon: On the Planet Mongo:  The Complete Flash Gordon Library Vol. 1: Sundays 1934 – 1937  by Don Moore, writer, & Alex Raymond, artist [Titan Books September 2012 oversized hardcover, new].

CURRENT READING
I finished Odd Man Out by Matt McCarthy, about playing in baseball’s minor leagues, which I enjoyed. I’m about 2/3 through The Song of the Sky, and have started another book, not on my summer reading list, but from the library, Stolen Season also about minor league baseball. I may read Dan Brown’s The Lost Symbol which leads up to his new one. We’re having a heat wave here in the west, including the Pacific Northwest – in the 90s for a few days, with more to come – so staying cool indoors and reading is a good thing. I’m also almost finished with The Crimson Mask Omnibus and I’m puttering away on some short stories, including a Judge Dee collection I picked up at the library, Judge Dee at Work.

What did you get, new, used or from the library, and
what have you been reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Current Reading, New Arrivals, science fiction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading June 24 – 30, 2013

  1. cgramlich says:

    Did you ever read any of the early books based on this, like “The Plague of Sound?” My goodness that one was awful.

  2. Jerry House says:

    Just read Stephen King’s JOYLAND, Dean Koontz’s DEEPLY ODD, Neil Gaiman’s THE OCEAN AT THE END OF THE LANE, and Bill Pronzini’s THE HIDDEN. Currently reading Bill Crider’s MURDER IS AN ART. Coming up are Tolkien’s THE FALL OF ARTHUR and Craig Johnson’s latest Longmire mystery. Coming in soon (fingers crossed) are Jack Finney’s I LOVE GALESBURG IN THE SPRINGTIME, Hugh Walpole’s A SECOND CENTURY OF CREEPY STORIES, John Gawsworth’s THRILLS, CRIMES AND MYSTERIES, and Jean Chalot’s DANCE OF DEATH.

  3. I still read some of the Flash Gordon comics in my modest collection of comic-books. In fact, Flash Gordon introduced me to sf. I’ll look out for these fine collections. Thank you, Richard.

  4. Alex Raymond was an amazing artist, I can see why you gave in and picked these up. They are beautiful collections.

  5. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Good looking books, and that minor league baseball one sounds interesting.

    No new books this week but I have several on the way. Last week I read BAD MONKEY, Carl Hiaasen’s latest, and Gordon McAlpine’s HAMMETT UNWRITTEN (as by “Owen Fitzstephen”) which was recommended by Bill Crider, both library books. If you’re interested in Hammett – and which of us isn’t? – check this short book (170 pp.) out at the library. The third was one I got from the exchange, the first of three short story collections by Gordon R. Dickson, MUTANTS. I thought it was OK but I can’t say I was bowled over by it.

    Fortunately or otherwise (you make the call) I have five more books waiting to be picked up today at the library, including the Craig Johnson book Jerry mentioned. That’s why I’m returning five, even though I only read the two mentioned above.

  6. I’m tempted by those FLASH GORDON books! Right now I’m on a mission to reduce the stack of a dozen library books to zero. VB6 by Mark Bittman was the last book I read. It’s an interesting strategy to eat better and lose weight.

  7. Evan Lewis says:

    Jealous. More stuff to hunt from the library. I’m now enjoying, thanks to you, David J. Saunders’ book of art by H.J. Ward.

  8. Richard says:

    Charles, I didn’t read “A Plague of Sound” nor do I intend to, after your comment!

    Jerry, you always have so many books, different and interesting. I’m not much for creepy or horror, but the rest sound good. I have read that (and most of) Crider. Everyone seems to be reading The Ocean at the End of the Lane.

  9. Richard says:

    Prashant, if you can get them these are worth the money and you’ll get a lot of enjoyment from them, I think.

  10. Richard says:

    Carl, yes, I couldn’t resist. These are as much art books as comic strip collections, I think.

    Jeff, always so much going on with you and books. I read Hammett Unwritten a few months ago, thought is was just so-so. Mutants isn’t one of Gordon’s best. Try the Dorsai books.

  11. Richard says:

    George, if you got them, you would enjoy them, I think.

    Evan, the library may at least have the first one, it came out last May.

Leave a Reply

