FFB: Summer Reading List

Most of the books shown and discussed below are either forgotten or seldom read. A couple of them are new within the last year, but not the majority of them. So I’m counting this as this week’s Friday Forgotten Book entry.

As promised, here’s my Summer reading list. It’s a rough draft, the product of thinking about what I’d like to read, or at least finish reading, with an eye to a little variety and a big push to finish some darn things that have been sitting here with bookmarks in them, partly read, for way too long!

So, here’s what I’ve come up with. In the last few years I’ve read about half of the things I had on my list, substituted other things and certainly didn’t read the books in the order I first listed them. This is a goal, not a law. So you can take it with a grain of salt if you wish, but I’m going to take a shot at it.

The Song of the Sky by Guy Murchie – non-fiction. One part meteorology, one part navigation, one part history of early flight, one part bird flight, one part flying lore, one part travel log. I’m about halfway through.

The Crimson Mask Omnibus by Frank Johnson – five pulp novels from the mid 1940s about a masked crime fighter. Light, fun. I’ve read Enter the Crimson Mask, the first novel, and am nearly finished with the second.

Caliban’s War by James S.A. Corey – second in the SF series, which follows Leviathan Wakes, the first novel. There are two prequel e-stories which I need to read before this one. Not started yet.

The Black Lizard Book of Black Mask Stories edited by Otto Penzler – pulp short stories and novelettes. Stories from the best of the crime and mystery pulps. Very thick at over 1,000 pages, I’ve been reading this since February, but hope to finish it this summer!

D-99 by H.B. Fyfe – science fiction. Picked up on a recent trip to Robert’s Books in Lincoln City during our trip to the coast. Looks like fun in spite of the cover art.

The Gift of Rain by Tan Twan Eng – fiction. This has been sitting on the nightstand for months. I really liked the way it started, then it got pushed aside by “deadline” books and I’ve never gotten back to it. I’m determined to finish it soon.

Naked to the Stars by Gordon R. Dickson – science fiction, also bought at Robert’s Books.

Lightspeed Year One edited by John Joseph Adams – science fiction. Collected stories from the print and e-zine.

Murder in the Wind by John D. MacDonald – mystery. One of Ed Gorman’s top picks, and George Kelley’s as well. I have read few of MacDonald’s stand alone novels, staying mostly with the McGee books.

The Human Division by John Scalzi – science fiction. I waited for the printed book to come out while many people were reading this in installments. Now it’s my turn.

Odd Man Out by Matt McCarthy – non-fiction, baseball. Though some of the contents have been called into question by a writer for the New York Times Book Review, all I’m after is an overview of what life is like in single-A minor league baseball, and this will do it.

Existence by David Brin – science fiction. A prequel to Brin’s best known Uplift series, it’s supposed to be excellent.

The End of Everything by Megan Abbott – mystery fiction. I’m way behind on Abbott’s books, but I’ll try to catch up with this one. After this, Dare Me would be next.

Cold Magic by Kate Elliott – fantasy, first in series, pretty good reviews, fantasy with a mix of science and magic.

Cold Fire by Kate Elliott – fantasy, second in the series.

Best of Kim Stanley Robinson by Kim Stanley Robinson – SF-F. I like Robinson’s writing, and got this as soon as it came out. It’s been sitting on the shelf since. I’m hoping to get to it this summer.

Abaddon’s Gate by James S.A. Corey – science fiction. Assuming I read Caliban’s War already listed here, this is the next (3rd) in the series.

Sword of Fire and Sea by Erin Hoffman – fantasy,  Book One of The Chaos Knight. I bought this both for the cover and a review I read somewhere, and it’s been slowly moving up the fantasy book pile. Maybe this summer?

Naturally there are hundreds of other things I’d like to read this summer, but there’s only so much time. Have you got a Summer reading list you want to share?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in At Home in Portland, books, mystery, Non-fiction, Pulp, reading, science fiction, short stories and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to FFB: Summer Reading List

  1. cgramlich says:

    Murder in the wind is a tremendous read. I thought.

  2. I’ve got a bunch of bookmarked books as well that made it on to my summer reading list, as well as sequels of those books that I now own and want to read. Great list with some gorgeous book covers. I’ve looked at that Erin Hoffman in the store many times because of the cover and have almost purchased it many times merely for that reason.

    I think I have a copy of that MacDonald book. Need to go downstairs and see.

    You look to have some fun adventure and mystery ahead for your summer. Enjoy!

  3. Jerry House says:

    I’ve been catching up favorite writers and plan to continue so over the summer: Ed Gorman, Bill Crider, Max Allan Collins, Joe R. Lansdale, Bill Pronzini, August Derleth, Manly Wade Wellman…and as many others I can fit in.

  4. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I love your list! CRIMSON MASK has a great cover. I’ve already read some of them – the massive Black Mask collection, the Scalzi, the Abbott, the MacDonald – and have that Dickson book on my shelves as well. (I got it from PaperbackSwap.com along with three of his collections.)

    I have 8 library books on the shelf, including the new Carl Hiaasen and the Lee Goldberg/Janet Evanovich collaboration, plus books by Owen King, Dan Simmons and others.

    Of my own I’d list the newest Andrea Camilleri and Jamie Freveletti books (I started the latter before all the library books came in) among many, many others.

  5. Summer is the time I read Big Fat books. I’m now reading Daniel Dennett’s INTUITION PUMPS AND OTHER TOOLS FOR THINKING. You are way more organized than I am! When I finish reading a book, I just grab a book from the top of the dozens of piles of books around here. Very whimsical! Like Jeff, I love the cover on CRIMSON MASK. And like Jerry, I try to fit in some of those great writers, too: Pronzini, Estleman, Collins, Gorman, etc.

  6. Bill Crider says:

    A couple of those are on my list, too.

  7. Lots of good books by good authors to add to my list. I often draw up a list of books I’m going to read and then promptly replace them with a new list of books that catches my fancy and so on and so forth. I like to take a shot at a book I have never heard about.

  8. Richard says:

    I’ve just finished one of these, and started on another, as well as being 2/3 through the first one listed. I’m on a roll.

  9. David Dean says:

    This is not the first time I’ve seen those James Corey books pop up in lists so I’m gonna have to get my hands on one of those. I’m really getting into military science fiction right now. I think that military science fiction is a genre that tends to get overlooked because sometimes the book is far too focused on the plot line or the battles and character development is lost. Bennett R. Coles has just published a fantastic MSF novel called ‘Casualties of War’ which is my absolute stand-out read of the year so far. http://www.bennettrcoles.com/works/casualties-of-war
    The book focuses on a group of veterans who have recently returned to earth after putting down a colonial rebellion but do not get the “welcome back” they expected. The state is on a witch-hunt for someone to blame for the recent battle and the veterans find themselves having to stick together to survive. The book shows how the war has affected each veteran (post-traumatic stress disorder, psychological breakdowns) and how difficult it can be to adjust back to civilian life. I definitely recommend picking up a copy next time you’re out for a new read. Amazing book.

  10. Pingback: New Arrivals, Current Reading July 8 – 14, 2013 | The Broken Bullhorn

  11. Pingback: New Arrivals, Current Reading July 15 – 21, 2013 | The Broken Bullhorn

  12. Pingback: New Arrivals, Current Reading July 22 – 28, 2013 | The Broken Bullhorn

  13. Pingback: New Arrivals, Current Reading July 29 – August 4, 2013 | The Broken Bullhorn

  14. Deborah S. says:

    Thank you for this list!! I have been addicted to murder mysteries and thrillers this summer and I was so happy to come across this list. It seems that even though a lot of time needs to be dedicated to reading this I will definitely check out “The Black Lizard Book of Black Mask Stories”

    I wanted to mention a crime fiction novel I read recently that I could NOT put down. The book is called “The Gemini Factor” by author Philip Fleishman (http://www.philipfleishmanmd.com/).
    This novel focuses on two seemingly unrelated detectives pushed to their limits whilst investigating the cases of their lifetime. The author describes gruesome identical murders in two different countries and a web of clues that these two detectives can only figure out once fate brings them together. The novel covers mind bending subjects such as the telepathic connection between twins and the relationship between random events. This novel will shake you up and leave you speechless! The character development was good, the plot was well developed and the writing style held my interest. If this is the author’s first novel, I look forward to reading his next book

  15. Pingback: New Arrivals, Current Reading Aug 5 – 11, 2013 | The Broken Bullhorn

  16. Pingback: New Arrivals, Current Reading Aug 12 – 18, 2013 | The Broken Bullhorn

  17. Pingback: The Plan That Wasn’t Successful, or…? | The Broken Bullhorn

Leave a Reply

