New Arrivals, Current Reading June 17 – 23, 2013

NEW ARRIVALS:
Once again, nothing new here. I didn’t buy anything, nothing on pre-order has been published, and I haven’t gone book hunting. So, nada.

CURRENT READING
And on it goes: my reading slump has reached three weeks and shows no sign of ending. I read a pulp novel, Enter the Crimson Mask by Frank Johnson, the first novel in The Crimson Mask Omnibus. I’m still continuing to read The Song of the Sky, and a couple of other short story collections, and I just got a book from the library on minor league baseball.

SUMMER READING POST COMING !
It’s Summer, so tomorrow afternoon (Pacific Daylight Time) I’ll be posting my annual Summer Reading post.  I have my preliminary list of books I’m hoping to read this summer and I’ll have the books up, with cover scans where available. I was hoping to have this up as part of this post, but ran out of time, so it’ll be tomorrow.

What did you get, new, used or from the library, and
what have you been reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Current Reading, New Arrivals. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading June 17 – 23, 2013

  1. Richard, I haven’t picked up a new book to read this week, my reading having slowed considerably due to office work. I may opt for a Christie which I’m reading chronologically and maybe a western to give her company.

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    New arrivals: just one (from the exchange), John D. MacDonald’s DEAD LOW TIDE, which I thought I had but I hadn’t.

    This was a great reading week for me, a good thing since I have about ten library books on hand. Four of the five books I finished were library books.

    Rick Yancey, THE 5TH WAVE. I got this young adult/post-apocalypse book after reading a rave review in the NYT Book Review. I liked it (it’s the first of a trilogy), though not quite as much as the Times reviewer did.

    Stephen King, JOYLAND. This is the one King refused to make available as an ebook, which I know will make you happy. It’s a coming of age story set at a third-rate carnival in North Carolina in 1973. It is a trade paperback from Hard Case Crime and unlike so many of King’s books is a reasonable length.

    Jon Talton, THE NIGHT DETECTIVES. Series character Deputy David Mapstone loses his job at the Phoenix PD when his best friend, Sheriff Mike Peralta, loses his bid for re-election in the anti-Hispanic hysteria sweeping Arizona, despite the fact that he’s a Republican. So Mapstone and Peralta set up as private detectives. The best part of this series to me has always been the discussion of Phoenix the way it used to be, and this adds in a visit to San Diego and insights about that city.

    Stuart M. Kaminsky, ed., MWA presents SHOW BUSINESS IS MURDER. I bought this paperback collection at that “everything for $1” store in Florida and finally read it. It is somewhat uneven I thought and some of the connections to show business are a little tenuous, but there are enough good stories (like Steve Hockensmith’s “Fred Menace, Commie for Hire”) to make it worthwhile.

    Colin Cotterill, THE WOMAN WHO WOULDN’T DIE. Latest Dr. Siri Paiboun tale set in 1978 Laos. Did a woman really come back to life three days after being murdered and can she really talk to the dead? And why does she suddenly have a Vietnamese accent? As usual, Dr. Siri and his entourage entertain, and in this we get his wife Daeng’s back story.

  3. My reading will slow considerably because AMAZON just sent me an email saying BORGEN 2 has shipped. I spent a couple of weeks watching the 10 episodes of BORGEN 1 a few weeks ago and loved it!

  4. Richard says:

    Prashant, I always enjoy reading Christie.

    Jeff, that Talton sounds interesting. What’s the first in the series? I’m way behind on the Catterill books.

  5. Richard says:

    George, Even slowed, your reading outpaces mine at full speed.

  6. Jeff Meyerson says:

    The first Talton was CONCRETE DESERT. They’ve all been published by Poisoned Pen Press.

  7. Patti Abbott says:

    I’m reading the first Claire De Witt book. (Sara Gran)

  8. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I read that a while ago, Patti. Enjoyed it.

  9. John says:

    I’m off to the library later today to get my Elmore Leonard book for this week’s tribute. I’ll only say it’s one of his early westerns and I’m praying no one else picked it.

    Read a book about obeah in the West Indies circa 1937 which I think was intended to be a racism polemic but went about it with considerable less tact than I expected. Also read (in a single day no less!) a very poor Carolyn Wells novel, THE CRIME IN THE CRYPT, which I competely figured out on page 15! Bleeh.

    Currently reading CHECKMATE TO MURDER by E.C.R. Lorac and it’s a vast improvement over Wells. Also, THE BUGHOUSE AFFAIR by Pronzini/Muller. Actually I started this one but put it on hold (and will have to put Lorac on hold as well) because I have to get the Elmore Leonard book read in the next three days.

    In the mail I received: A beautiful copy of the 1st paperback edition of BEAT NOT THE BONES by Charlotte Jay (the very first Best Novel category award in the Edgars back in the 1950s), CORPSE ON THE WHITE HOUSE LAWN by “Diplomat” whose books will be written up in a post on my blog, and CATT OUT OF BAG by Clifford Witting — an amazing eBay coup of a very scarce book that I paid only $5.50 and $3 shipping. Made me very happy considering it could’ve been priced at $30 or higher by someone who knew what he had.

Leave a Reply

