SFAL art – a closer look, part 3 of 4

Here’s the third installment of a closer look at some of the artwork I got, via Carl Vincent, from Spectrum Fantasy Art Live! Once again, this is to give you a better look and a little more information. Part 1 is HERE. Part 2 is HERE.

This time I’m going to start with something really special, then some various items before getting back to prints. First, a book.

SFAL 2 book

Spectrum Fantastic Art Live 2 by Cathy and Arnie Fenner and various introducers and artists [Flesk Publications 2013, new, signed] – This is the book paying tribute to the guests of honor at the show: Peter de Seve, Tara McPherson, Charles Vess, Michael Whelan, Terryl Whitlatch and John Foster. In addition to an introduction to the book by Cathy and Arnie Fenner, who are responsible for the Spectrum series of books, the show and Spectrum Fantastic Art Live, there are introductions to each artist followed by comments and a selection of works by each artist. It’s a lovely book and it’s signed by each of the guest artists! Some even included a small sketch. The cover, drawn by Peter de Seve, is titled “Easy Being Green it is Not”. Delightful.

Next,  a flyer for a forthcoming book (photo slightly out of focus, unfortunately).

Mark Schultz - Carbon

Flesk Publications publishes some really nice art and illustration books. I strongly recommend a visit to the website. The image above is of two pages of a flyer, showing two books by the outstanding artist and storyteller Mark Schultz. I have all of Schultz’ Xenozoic books, Xenozoic, Cadillacs and Dinosuars, etc. and love them. Carbon is forthcoming, and I have it on order. It’s a treat to have the Schultz sign this for me, and yes, I have the book on pre-order.

I showed you the print of by Justin Gerard of Smaug in his lair already, but I also got this.

Justin Gerard 2010 sketchbook

Justin Gerard 2010 sketchbook

It’s a 2010 sketchbook, comprising a story in sketches. Gerard uses fluid line work to give his sketches depth and mass. A delightful little item.

Two small things that Carl sent with the rest that I really like:

Greg Manchess - Astronaut, signed

Greg Manchess – Astronaut, signed

Scott Quick - small sketch, signed

Scott Quick – small sketch, signed

The top one, as you see by the caption is a painting of an astronaut. The one I have is about the size of a paperback book, on postcard stock, a giveaway at his booth which he signed. Below the Manchess is a black and white sketch by Scott Quick, also signed, which I really like a lot. I don’t know a lot about Quick other than he’s a cartoonist.

I’ll end this post by getting back to a print. This is of a famous DC character.

Sho Murase - Poison Ivy

Sho Murase – Poison Ivy

To me, this is a very unusual take on the character of Poison Ivy, and I’m still in the process of deciding about it. The graphic aspect is very good indeed, the color choice is interesting, supporting the graphic element but not especially descriptive of the character.

That’s it for this time. Next is the big finale, with two large pieces which are stunning, the prizes of the shipment. You won’t want to miss Part 4.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in art and illustration, fantasy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to SFAL art – a closer look, part 3 of 4

  1. macavityabc says:

    Cool stuff, and I’m eager to see Part 4!

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I was just thinking, I wonder when Part 3 is going to appear.

    I agree with you – I like that Scott Quick drawing a lot too.

    PS – this is the second time int he last week I had to type my information in again.

  3. Richard says:

    Bill, I saved two of the best for last. It will go up next Tuesday or Wednesday.

  4. Richard says:

    Jeff, we agree on the Quick sketch. I don’t know what to say about the missing text. I check the spam folder carefully, and nothing of yours is there.

  5. Love that Scott Quick drawing, too! Can’t wait to see PART FOUR! You really bought some nice stuff.

  6. Richard says:

    George, you have good taste. How’s the book packing coming?

  7. cgramlich says:

    The Kermit and Yoda pic is just perfect.

  8. Richard says:

    Charles, I love it too.

Leave a Reply

