New Arrivals, Current Reading June 10 – 16, 2013

NEW ARRIVALS:
Nothing this week, but then I didn’t expect anything. Oh, and it’s supposed to start getting wet here again, just in time for the first home stand of our single-A pro baseball team. Rats.

CURRENT READING
The reading slump continues. I finished Edward Hoch’s The Velvet Touch, a collection of Nick Velvet stories and enjoyed it very much. I’m still continuing to read The Song of the Sky, and a couple of other short story collections.

What did you get, new, used or from the library, and
what have you been reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Current Reading, New Arrivals. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading June 10 – 16, 2013

  1. Jerry House says:

    I just finished Joseph Payne Brennan’s EVIL ALWAYS ENDS (more of a detective story than a horror novel) and William F. Nolan’s KINCAID: A PARANORMAL CASEBOOK (three novellas that become increasingly horrifying).

    I’m currently in reading the alternatingly thrilling and alternatingly boring THE LIFE AND TIMES OF SIR ARCHIE: THE STORY OF AMERICA’S GREATEST THOROUGHBRED by Manly Wade Wellman. Boring when it goes into excessive detail about the lineage of Sir Archie’s descendants; thrilling when it discusses the gentlemen who formed racing society in early 19th century America — their quirks, their follies, and their feuds.

    Next up are two autobiographical reminisces by August Derleth, the new Stephen King, short story collections from Neil Gaiman and Bill Pronzini, and Tolkien’s THE FALL OF ARTHUR. Pretty soon, the new Dean Koontz and Gaiman should be coming in.

    Somewhere in there will be the new Dan Brown, whenever my wife finishes reading it.

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Only one new book (a trade pb from the exchange), Kristine Kathryn Rusch’s 8th Retrieval Artist book, BLOWBACK. (Please don’t ask me how many I’ve read.)

    I read two library books, the long but rewarding (to me, certainly) LIFE AFTER LIFE by Kate Atkinson and Jess Walter’s (trade pb original) short story collection, WE LIVE IN WATER. Some years ago I read and enjoyed his Edgar-winning CITIZEN VINCE so when I saw he had his first collection coming out I had to read it. Two stories that stood out for me were “Anything Helps” and “Don’t Eat Cat.”

    I have a number of other library books on hand including the new Stephen King and Colin Cotterill books, plus the first in a trilogy you recommended (AN WAKES) and Rick Yancey’s YA/end-of-the-world horror novel, THE 5TH WAVE.

  3. Jeff Meyerson says:

    It cut that of, it was supposed to read LEVIATHAN WAKES.

  4. Richard says:

    Jerry, the Derlith sounds very interesting to me, as I loved his Solar Pons books and some of his SF too. I wasn’t aware of a new Pronzini collection. I’ll have to look that up. We both have the new Dan Brown on hold at the library, but the line is long so it could be a while, which is okay since as I said I’m in a slump anyway.

  5. Richard says:

    Jeff, I think you’ll like Leviathan Wakes, and the following two are out also. As for the Retrieval Artist books, I’ve read the first three and have several others. There always seems to be so much I don’t get to…

  6. I’m still working my way through William Gaddis’ THE RECOGNITIONS. And, like you, I have some short story collections to give me a breather: that Vachss book and a new John Brunner collection. I’ve been spending an hour a day in my basement sorting through boxes and bins. I have about a thousand books packed up for SUNY at Buffalo. They’re going to come out in August with a truck and pick up all the books I can pack up by then.

  7. Richard says:

    George, way to go! SUNY will have the best collection in the country!

  8. Last week, I discovered a new author, American thriller writer Brad Thor, whose adrenalin pumping contemporary spy novels are easy reads. He has an eye for detail. I’m reading his tenth novel called THE ATHENA PROJECT.

  9. I picked up Neil Gaiman’s new novel today, The Ocean at the End of the Lane, and cracked into it. Also picked up the latest issue of Asimov’s and a book called Sea Change by S.M. Wheeler. Last weekend I bought Love Minus Eighty on the Kindle and finished it last night. Loved it.

  10. Patti Abbott says:

    I am eagerly waiting for : THE SEACHERS: THE STORY OF THE MAKING OF AN AMERICAN EPIC. I also bought the Alan Sepinwal book on how TV changed in the last decade or so. Reading Elmore Leonard short stories from the library and just finished the Michael Hainey book OUT WITH FRIENDS about how the true circumstances of his father’s death was covered up.

  11. cgramlich says:

    Getting rain here too. I haven’t gotten any new books this week myself.

  12. Richard says:

    Patti, you always seem to be reading interesting books. I’ll bet a lot of the story of American TV changes is reality TV.

Leave a Reply

