Spectrum Fantasy Art Live swag

The large box (see previous post) arrived mid day, and was it ever loaded with goodies! There are a couple of things to point out before I reveal the goodness.

First, Carl Vincent is my hero for doing all the work of shopping, getting signatures, signed prints, hauling it all home, packing up, each item with a short note of explanation, carefully packaging the whole thing and having UPS carry it halfway across the country to my doorstep.

Second, Spectrum Fantasy Art Live! is crammed with wonderful artists. They display their work, meet with each other and the public, are open, friendly, very talented. Proof of this is the range of subjects and styles displayed by the things Carl bought for me and his words about the show and the artists there. I only wish I’d been there, but then I would likely have spend a lot more than I did buying through Carl.

So here is a set of pictures of most of the things laid out on my dining room table. Enjoy. I’m sorry about the reflections on the plastic protective coverings and the flash blooms, best I could do today. I may take better individual pictures tomorrow, but I wanted to get this up. Now all I have to do is save up enough to have them framed.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in art and illustration, At Home in Portland, fantasy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Spectrum Fantasy Art Live swag

  1. Evan Lewis says:

    Lovely stuff. I recognize a couple of those pieces, but not most. So who are those guys?

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I won’t ask how much you spent but will say, nice haul.

  3. Richard says:

    Which guys, Evan? The artists, the Spectrum people, or…?

  4. Richard says:

    Jeff, I spent a couple Cs on the stuff, including shipping.. The exact amount, of course, is a crass financial matter which we here are all above.

  5. cgramlich says:

    I’m jealous.

  6. “The exact amount, of course, is a crass financial matter which we here are all above.”

    Heh, that literally made me laugh out loud (which almost make me type LO…no, I just can’t do it).

    Great stuff, though. I love this kind of art. I have a Spectrum 5 book, then three or four other art books, but if budget allowed I’d certainly have more. And more art for the walls too, for that matter. If only I won the lottery. . . .

  7. Richard says:

    Chris, thanks for refraining from the way overused abbreviation, I’m no fan of it either. Glad you got a chuckle. My main problem right now is wall space. Where all this stuff is going to go is a rather deep mystery.

  8. It was fun following along yesterday with your anticipation…waiting…and then later hearing about the arrival of the package. It is fun seeing the picture of everything because when I was going over it in my mind yesterday there were ones of these I had forgotten all about.

    I have told Richard but I’ll mention it here again, it was a tremendous amount of fun picking out things for him at Spectrum Fantastic Art Live 2. I picked up items on all three days and did a lot of agonizing over various items, trying to get him the most bang for his buck.

    Looking forward to seeing what gets framed and where it ends up in that cool new room.

  9. Richard says:

    Carl, once again, thank you. Looking forward to your post with the things you got. The problem I have now is that the room, and the walls of other rooms, don’t have a lot of spare space on them.

  10. I went ahead and took a few of my items to get framed yesterday. Not cheap.

  11. Richard says:

    You’re right, Carl, framing isn’t cheap. I find if I can use pre-made frames and pre-cut mats it saves a lot, but the selection is thin. We’re in the process of measuring everything and seeing what will fit and how much room we’ll have. Then we’ll decide what to get framed.

  12. Just when the U.S. economy was sputtering, you drop some Serious Money on artwork to stimulate things! Well done, Rick! Carl picked out some lovely pieces.

  13. Pingback: SFAL art – a closer look, part 1 | The Broken Bullhorn

  14. The Hand of Dinotopia by Alan Dean Foster [Harper Collins 1999 hardcover, new] – fantasy – the second novel based on James Gurney’s wonderful Dinotopia books, following Dinotopia Lost. I hadn’t realized this had been published until I came across mention of it by accident. As I love all things Dinotopia, I was lucky to be able to snag a reasonably priced new first edition on-line.

  15. Pingback: Timeless – Diego and the Rangers of the Vastlantic by Armand Balyazar | Tip the Wink

Leave a Reply

