R.I.P. Jack Vance

jack-vance_9219An outstanding author has left us. I read my first Vance, The Dragon Masters in 1961 or so, and kept on reading his stuff when I happened to come across it. I have a couple of things here I’ve either not read or not in so long it’ll seem new. I’m going to start one of them tomorrow.

There is an excellent obituary in the Guardian:  Vance Obit. Todd Mason also has some nice words and several covers HERE.

I encourage you to pick up and read something by Vance soon.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in books. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to R.I.P. Jack Vance

  1. Todd Mason says:

    Thanks, Rick. One of those people whose elan one couldn’t help but admire, even if one wasn’t swept up by his fiction (somehow…such elegant prose from someone so utterly modest about that work). Bill Crider’s memoir is definitely worth reading, too…http://billcrider.blogspot.com/2013/05/jack-vance.html

  2. I have been meaning to read Jack Vance for some time now and starting now would be a fine tribute to the man.

  3. cgramlich says:

    I’ve enjoyed quite a lot of Vance although he was never a favorite author of mine. Sorry to hear of his death, though.

  4. My first exposure to Vance was reading “The Dragon Masters”. It was different than much of what I had read and I remember having a strong connection to it. I’ve read other short stories and some of his Dying Earth work and have been impressed with all of it. I too have a few Vance novels laying around here, plus the remainder of a large collection to read and that recent homage collection of Dying Earth stories by other authors that I should get to.

  5. Jeff Meyerson says:

    The coolest thing was that he called Bill Crider and told him he liked his books! Bill can justifiably be proud of that, as well as of having the chance to tell Vance how he felt about him.

    RIP

  6. Joachim Boaz says:

    Have you read his Alastor sequence? Perhaps the Demon Prince sequence? He was such a wonderful writer…. I think I might pick up Big Planet or something of his to read….

  7. Richard says:

    Thanks to you all for commenting. I didn’t read Vance compulsively, but enjoyed his fiction on a now and then basis. I started rereading some of his Dying Earth last night.

  8. Richard says:

    Joachim, I have not read the Alastor sequence, but have read some of the Demon Prince, if I recall correctly. I did most of my Vance reading in college and soon after, the late 1960s and early -mid1970s.

  9. Joachim Boaz says:

    Well, I recommend Wyst and Trullion in the Alastor Sequence — they are top notch. Both are better than Marune — the other novel in the sequence…. But it’s still worth reading as well.

  10. Evan Lewis says:

    And another R.I.P. to John Holbrook Vance.

  11. Stan Burns says:

    Vance has been my favorite writer since I was a teen, and I have read many of his novel 9-10 times. I was lucky to meet him at a party in 1968 and I was able to tell him how much I enjoyed his work, especially the Demon Princes novels that were being published at that time.

  12. Like Stan, Jack Vance ranked at the top of my FAVORITE SF WRITERS list. I’ve read almost everything Jack Vance wrote. He was a great, but unpretentous author.

Leave a Reply

