New Arrivals, Current Reading May 13 – 19, 2013

NEW ARRIVALS:
Again, just one new book, I’d pre-ordered it some time ago.

Human Division

The Human Division by John Scalzi [TOR 2013 hardcover, new] – science fiction novel – first released in ‘chapters’ as connected e-stories now combined with some added material in print form. Continues Scalzi’s Old Man’s War universe.

CURRENT READING
I’m still plowing through various library books, mentioned last week. Nothing else to report.

What did you get, new, used or from the library, and
what have you been reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in books, Current Reading, New Arrivals, reading, science fiction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading May 13 – 19, 2013

  1. JA Ireland says:

    Nice blog…JA Ireland

  2. I picked up Benjamin Percy’s Red Moon and Christine Byl’s Dirt Work a week ago (yeah, went into the store for the one, also got the other; you know how that goes). Then I saw the trade paperback version of The Revised Fundamentals of Caregiving by Jonathan Evison at the airport and had to pick that one up too. Pretty eager to get to all three of these.

    I read Liar’s Blade by Tim Pratt. This is one of those Pathfinder Tales novels published by Paizo and set in their fantasy RPG world. I enjoyed it quite a bit; definitely a Fritz Leiber “Fahrd and the Grey Mouser” influence going on, which I loved. It was a nice change of pace.

  3. Same here, Richard. I haven’t got around to reading Justin Scott’s A PRIDE OF KINGS which I mentioned in your previous post on New Arrivals. I might replace the just-read THE SNAKE by Mickey Spillane with a book either by McBain, JDM, Dan Marlowe, John Ball or Ross Macdonald. I’m also hoping to read MOLL FLANDERS by Daniel Defoe in keeping with my plan to read at least two classics a month.

  4. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I’ve got the Scalzi on the way from the library – I’ll wait for the paperback to buy it.

    Books read: George Kelley recommended My Bookstore: Writers Celebrate Their Favorite Places to Browse, Read, and Shop a few weeks ago and I’ve been reading it since. While I did not read it to find new bookstores (most of the pieces have a sameness to them – involved, caring owner and dedicated staff, hand selling, etc.) I have used it to find new (to me) authors, much as when I read an anthology of stories. I’ll mention those when I get to them.

    Next I read another recommendation (starting to see a pattern here?), this one recommended by Bill Crider: Emilie & The Hollow World by Martha Wells. While I didn’t like it as much as Bill did, I did enjoy it enough to finish it, though it took me a little longer than I’d have liked.

    Lastly, I think Patti Abbott was the one who recommended James Salter’s Dusk & Other Stories to me. This was a PEN/Faulkner Award winner, one of the few short story collections to win this prize. Again, not exactly my taste but beautifully written and worth a look if that is your taste.

    I’ll do the new arrivals in a separate post. I’m currently reading 2-3 other things, all library books.

  5. Richard says:

    Thanks, JA.

    Chris, I sure do know how it goes, go for one come home with two or more. When I was buying the Planet Stories collections from Pazio I saw all the Pathfinder stuff they had so I know what they are, but didn’t read any. Kind of neat art work on the covers, as I recall.

  6. Richard says:

    Prashant, two classics a month. I maybe read two a year. Maybe. The list of authors you might go to next (JDM, etc.) is a good one, you probably can’t go wrong. I’m really starting to wish the library books I keep getting would stop long enough for me to read some of the things I bought and have here on the ToBeRead piles and sacks. I may just put a freeze on the rest of them.

  7. Richard says:

    Jeff, I decided to order the Scalzi when I didn’t get the e-book chapters weekly. The Old Man’s War universe is my favorite of his.

  8. NPR has released its list of the top 100 science fiction and fantasy novels/series , as voted on by the public from a jury-curated list of 237 finalists , itself culled from public nominations of even more novels. Old Man’s War is on the list, which is pretty nifty. Thank you to those of you who voted for it.

  9. John says:

    Just finished THE CRYPT THIEF by Mark Pryor. A new book for a change! I usually read at least one per month to keep me abreast of contemporary crime fiction. Chose it because the blurb was enticing and made it sound like an impossible crime — mysterious figure manages to break into cemeteries unseen and steal bones from gravesites. How does he get in and out? More importatnly what does he need the bones for? Turns out it was hardly impossible. And as usual I found it extremely derivative. The villain is a composite of characters I’ve seen and read hundreds of times before: a little Norman Bates, a little Buffalo Bill, and too much Victor Frankenstein. The lead, Hugo Marston, is your run-of-the-mill protaganist, nothing to set him apart from the hundreds of series characters out there already. The alcoholic, whoremongering, vulgar humored, CIA agent who is Marston’s roommate and sidekick is a lot more interesting. Marston’s occupation, Regional Security Officer to the US Ambassador in Paris, was the most original part of the book.

  10. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I don’t believe this. I’d just written a long, detailed comment about the books that came in this week and as I was typing the last line it ate it.

  11. John says:

    What happened to my comment? OK, trying again and this time I’ll be briefer.

    Just read THE CRYPT THIEF by Mark Pryor. A new book for a change! I liked it in spurts. Very derivative story with a villain who seems a composite of Norman Bates, Buffalo Bill from Silence of the Lambs, and Victor Frankenstein, if you can imagine such a monster. Too many gratuitous murders for the psychology of the character, I thought. The hero is kind of dull. I liked his sidekick a lot more — an alcoholic, whoremongering, CIA agent with a wicked snese of humor. A lot more interesting than Hugo Marston, RSO for the US Ambassador in Paris.

    As for purchases — see my post at my blog for the hardcovers I bought last month and this mionth. I also picked up some nifty vintage paperbacks at a Half Price Books store over the weekend: THE BAMBOO BLONDE (dorothy B Hughes), HAMMET HOMICIDES, THE HONEST DEALER (Frank Gruber), THE KILLING (Wade Miller), and SCRAMBLED YEGGS (a Shell Scott book) I’ll probably go back in a few days and get all the Mike Shayne books (all of them are Dell mapbacks, too) that I resisted buying. That is, if they’re still there.

  12. THE HUMAN DIVISION was waiting for me when I returned from Patrick’s graduation in Pittsburgh. I have a stack of library books that I need to read first, but I’ll jump into THE HUMAN DIVISION in a week or two. Love the cover!

  13. Richard says:

    Jeff, sorry that happened, I hate it when I lose text in a post like that.

    George, are you free of school yet? As fast as you read, those library books will be finished in no time.

  14. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Well, I’m not going to all that trouble again but I will list what I got in this week.

    First the ones I bought (via ABE):

    Jack [Bill Crider] Maclane, Keepers of the Beast (the infamous “kids in cages” cover)
    Jamie Freveletti, Dead Asleep latest Emma Caldridge book
    Lori Armstrong, Snow Blind 4th in her Julie Collins series (her newer series is better)
    Allen Steele, American Beauty sf short stories

    From PaperBackSwap.com:

    Arthur Nersesian, The Fuck-Up and Manhattan Loverboy Read about these in My Bookstore, where he mentioned one of my favorite stores, the (sadly) defunct Eighth Street Bookshop, where I spent a lot of time in the early 1970’s when I worked in the Village.

  15. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Huh? I just typed another answer. Where the f…is it?

  16. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I give up. Not doing this a third time.

  17. Richard says:

    Jeff, I found two in the spam folder. I don’t know why, unless it’s that I have a filter for multiple URLs in a post, but I don’t see that you did that. Sorry, they have been approved now.

  18. Richard says:

    John, it may have gone to spam, though I didn’t see it there when I checked. Jeff is having the problem too. I have a couple of those, Scrambled Yeggs being one of them.

  19. Jeff Meyerson says:

    That is just so odd. Why some but not others? Thanks for digging them out but it is just strange.

Leave a Reply

