New Arrivals, Current Reading May 6 – 12, 2013

NEW ARRIVALS:
Just one new book and one library book. I’m expecting a couple of things, but not for  another week or two.

The Doctor of Pimlico by William Le Queux [Oleander Press 2013 UK jacketed trade paperback, new] – mystery novel, reprint – originally published in 1919 – one of the volumes in Oleander’s “London Bound” series of reprints. From the publisher’s website:

 “The Doctor of Pimlico is Dr Weirmarsh, by vocation a practicing surgeon on the Vauxhall Bridge Road, close to Victoria Station but by avocation, controller of an international gang of master criminals, engaged in schemes of remarkable ingenuity, unscrupulously using General Sir Hugh Elcombe to his own ends with Elcombe’s step-daughter, Enid, unable to escape his hypnotic clutches too. Who is the mysterious doctor of Pimlico, and what is the strange hold that he has over people?

The Honey Thief by Elizabeth Graver [Mariner Books 2000 trade paperback, from the library] – general fiction, coming of age – Elizabeth Graver’s first novel. After hearing – on Public Radio – a quite fascinating interview of Graver about her newest book, The End of the Point, I decided to try this. Other than the interview, I know nothing about her or her writing.

CURRENT READING:
Feels like I’m reading a lot but not getting anywhere. It’s probably a combination of distractions and chores. I’m working my way through library books, the one listed above, The Honey Thief, plus Hammett Unwritten and I’m on the third book (of 4) in the Chronicles of the Enchanted Forest YA series.

Barbara read Robert Crais’ Demolition Angel and Bill Pronzini’s Shackles, enjoying both very much.

What did you get, new, used or from the library, and
what have you been reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in books, Current Reading, mystery, New Arrivals, reading. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading May 6 – 12, 2013

  1. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Distractions? Hey, I got your distractions right here.

    Seriously, what with Jackie’s knee surgery and everything surrounding it I’ve found it very hard to concentrate on reading this week, which is why short stories have been so helpful.

    No new books but I did finish two books before the suergry: Allen Steele’s short story collection, All-American Alien Boy, which I liked a lot (library) and Mary Logue’s latest Claire Watkins mystery, Frozen Stiff, one of those I got last week (since the library doesn’t have it). I’m reading from four short story collections, Clark Howard’s ebook collection, Collected Stories – 1960’s – Howard is certainly in the top 5 of mystery short story writers – and three library books, by Ron Rash, James Salter and Charles Jackson.

    I am expecting a few more books from ABE including the last Bill Crider/Jack MacLane horror novel I was lacking.

  2. My online students are taking their FINAL EXAMS today, my in-class students take their FINAL EXAMS tomorrow. I plan to go in to the College on Wednesday and work away at correcting, then calculating FINAL GRADES. Thursday I’ll finish the end-of-semester paperwork and hand in the paper version of my grades to the Registrar’s Office (we also have to enter all student grades on the online grading system, too. Double work!). On Friday, I’ll be FREE!

  3. Jerry House says:

    It’s been a good week for library books. Just read Joe Hill’s NOS4R2 and have Barbara Collins’ ANTIQUE CHOP to look forward to. Interlibrary loans that came through include Joe Lansdale’s THE BOAR, F. Paul Wilson’s THE PEABODY-OZYMANDIUS TRAVELLING CIRCUS & ODDITY EMPORIUM, August Derleth’s SWEET GENEVIEVE, and two non-fiction books by Manly Wade Wellman. Add to all that four Nameless Detective books that I had never gotten around to, and I won’t be climbing Mount TBR for a week or so.

  4. Richard says:

    Jeff, yes a big distraction. I can see how short stories would work best. Hope Jackie is feeling better soon. You know, the name Clark Howard rings no bell at all.

  5. Richard says:

    George, computers are supposed to make things – important things, not blathering on social media – easier. Maybe someday. Are you going to get caught up on mystery or SF-F or non-fiction or just work on the TBR or…?

  6. Richard says:

    Jerry, interesting mix of books. How was that Joe Hill?

  7. cgramlich says:

    I’ll soon have some new books in the house. going to put in an order soon

  8. Patti Abbott says:

    My library has a used book sale this week and I thought about going and then I looked around me and said, no. I, of course, regret it.

  9. Patti, you always regret the books you didn’t buy. Rick, I work for a bureaucracy. We used to have “bubble” sheets where faculty would fill in the bubble with the appropriate grade and a scanner would convert the bubbles into a grade report card that was sent to students. But that process cost too much (according to the Administration) so now we have a totally online grading system (nothing gets mailed). Faculty enter the grades into the online system and students logon to see their grades. But, the Registrar’s Office insists on a “paper” copy of all the grades so now it takes twice the time and effort to finish up grading. And, I suspect it costs just as much (or more!) than the old, reliable bubble system.

  10. Richard says:

    Go for it Charles.

    Patti, I skip a lot of library sales, but can’t resist used book stores.

  11. Jeff Meyerson says:

    You should know Howard from his Crippen & Landru collection, CHALLENGE THE WIDOW-MAKER & Other Stories. He’s written about 150 stories since the mid-1950’s and I’d put him up with Brendan Dubois, Doug Allyn, Ed Gorman and Bill Pronzini and a few others on my “favorite mystery short story writers” list. He’s written well-regarded true crime books like ZEBRA and some novels but I’ve only read his shorts.

  12. Richard says:

    George, they probably don’t factor faculty time into their cost analysis. Or perhaps they are more interested in showing that they are saving money, even if they in fact are not.

  13. Richard says:

    Jeff, ah, yes, I have that volume, just haven’t read it (yet).

  14. Richard, I’m currently reading THE SNAKE by Mickey Spillane and NO COMEBACKS, a collection of stories, by Frederick Forsyth. My latest acquisition is a used copy of A PRIDE OF KINGS by Justin Scott, a 600-page plus epic novel about the Russian Empire of 1916 and the war with Germany. I’m looking forward to reading the book. It has been compared to THE MAN FROM ST. PETERSBURG by Ken Follett, which I haven’t read yet. I still occasionally read the popular fiction writers of the 60s, 70s & 80s like Forsyth, Follett, Len Deighton, Jeffrey Archer, Jack Higgins, Arthur Hailey, Robin Cook, and Robert Ludlum. Of the lot, Higgins (Harry Patterson) remains a top favourite while Archer is as busy as ever.

  15. Cap'n Bob says:

    Reading NO SURVIVORS.

Leave a Reply

