New Arrivals, Current Reading April 22 – 29, 2013

We’ve had smashing weather here the last week or more. This is the best April in Portland, OR in many a year.

NEW ARRIVALS:
Two gifts this time and not much else, which is fine as way too much has been flowing this direction.

Blood ‘N’ Thunder issue 36-37 edited by Ed Hulse [Murania Press April 2013, new] – pulp fiction and classic films periodical, published 4 times per year – this time it’s a double issue. I enjoy this periodical a lot and always look forward to it arriving in the mailbox. Hulse does a great job with this (nearly) one man labor of love.

Boccherini Guitar Quintets Danubius String Quartet and Zoltan Tokos, guitar [Naxos 3 CD set, new] – classical music – though I like a great deal of fully orchestrated classical music, I also like chamber music. This set has been around for a while but I just picked this up. Very relaxing, but rewards careful listening.

The Kassa Gambit by M.C. Plank [TOR 2012 hardcover, used, gift] – science fiction – friend George Kelly sent this along after I commented to his review of the book that I’d like to read it. Thanks, George, for this and for the next book listed!

Rescue Run by Anne McCaffrey [Wildside Press edition, hardcover, used, gift] – another science fiction novel (novelette?) – I already have this, but not in this edition. I pretty much put anything by Anne McCaffrey on the shelf.

CURRENT READING:
I read an interesting short article on line about books that every child should own. I found I hadn’t read a few of them so got them from the library. One of them was Matilda by the wonderful Roald Dahl, with equally wonderful illustrations by Quentin Blake. Another was Dealing with Dragons by Patricia C. Wrede, about a princess who chooses to go live with a dragon instead of marrying a numbskull prince. They were fun and made a nice break from my push to read all of the TBR (thousands) books. Now I’ll get back to those. I started with The Song of the Sky by Guy Murchie (1954), (Kirkus review HERE) which was a favorite of my mother’s, a book I’ve been meaning to read for forty years or more. I have her copy and turn the pages with a certain amount of reverence.

What did you get, new, used or from the library, and
what have you been reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in books, Classical Music, New Arrivals, Pulp, reading, science fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading April 22 – 29, 2013

  1. Ken Lawrence says:

    I saw that other short review of THE KASSA GAMBIT and it did sound interesting. I’m not much for chamber music but the pulp magazine looks really interesting.

  2. Evan Lewis says:

    Three thumbs up for Blood ‘n’ Thunder.

  3. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I didn’t get anything new in this week but that will change as we have two ABE orders on the way. The first is three books for Jackie but the second is a bunch of stuff for me.

    I finished two books this week, Richard Neely’s very good 1969 book Shattered (originally The Plastic Nightmare) and Walker Percy’s 1961 National Book Award winner, The Moviegoer, which I thought I’d read long ago but hadn’t. The Neely takes an old premise – man wakes up in the hospital with total amnesia, doesn’t know who he is or if his wife is telling him the truth about how he got there – and turns it in a way you won’t see coming.

    I’m about done with a short story collection and have three others from the library waiting to be started (one mystery, two sf). I’m also in the middle of a couple of non fiction books.

  4. Richard says:

    Ken, I heartily recommend BLOOD ‘N’ THUNDER.

    Evan, I always enjoy it when it comes. I’m not as big on the old moview as Hulse, but the pulp articles are easily worth the price of admission.

  5. Richard says:

    Jeff, big ABE order coming, eh? Enjoy the anticipation. You read an incredible number of books, really, I wonder how you do it. I guess I know; you’re a fast reader. Lucky you.

  6. Hope you enjoy THE KASSA GAMBIT. I’ll order the Boccherini Guitar Quintets. They sound very enticing. I’m in the END OF SEMESTER mode with correcting research papers and preparing my classes for their FINAL EXAMS so pleasure reading goes on the back burner. I do plan to go to a library book sale Wednesday evening.

  7. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Compared to George I’m only a moderate reader. In the days before the internet I was regularly reading over 200 books a year. Now I’m under 150.

  8. Richard says:

    Jeff – ha. Compared to George, everyone is moderate to slow. My rarely obtained goal of two a week, 104 yearly, is nothing to you guys.

  9. Patti Abbott says:

    Phil would love that Boccherini.

  10. Richard says:

    Patti, it’s what I’d call a B level performance, but to me, with Boccherini, that’s just fine.

  11. I haven’t read Roald Dahl in ages though I have seen MATILDA, based on his book, more than once. He is one of the few early children’s and YA writers whose books still command a premium price, at least in Indian bookstores.

  12. Richard says:

    Prashant, I love Dahl’s books, but I hadn’t read this one. I liked it a lot.

  13. cgramlich says:

    Getting ready to read the next in the Destroyermen series, and some Walking Dead graphic novels.

  14. Richard says:

    Charles, after the grading and such is done, I’ll bet you’ll kick back a bit. I read the first two Destroyermen books and enjoyed them, but not enough to keep on going with the series. Just too much else on the book plate, I guess. The stacks of arrivals that don’t even have shelf space is starting to frighten me.

Leave a Reply

