New Arrivals, Current Reading April 8 – 14, 2013

After some beautiful Spring weather, it got pretty rainy – we needed it – so I got some extra reading time in.

NEW ARRIVALS:
 
After last week’s Doc Savage overload, things have calmed down considerably. Two books I’d been waiting for came in. Here they are:

Collected Short Works of Poul Anderson, Volume 5: Door to Anywhere by Poul Anderson, edited by Rick Katze [NESFA Press, February 2013 hardcover, new] – science fiction, collection of short works including some poems – I love the works of Poul Anderson. I have the first four volumes NESFA (New England Science Fiction Association) has published and getting this one was a natural for me. I admit to being a volume or two behind in my reading, but I’ll catch up. I’ve read more than half of what’s in this collection and have much of it in other books, but the fine volume and the siren song of the things I haven’t read – or just don’t recall reading – is more than enough to have me eager to get started on this one. I heartily recommend all of the books in this fine series.

Hell in Boxes by Lester Dent [Altus Press 2012 trade paper, new] – weird menace pulp mystery – Here we have the complete exploits of Lynn Lash and Foster Fade, three novels of each character, from the early and mid 1930s. Promises to be really entertaining.

CURRENT READING:
I read the first of the new adventures of Doc Savage, The Desert Demons, and enjoyed it in spite of some “cowboy lingo” in parts. I also finished were Murray Leinster’s Space Tug and P.G. Wodehouse, A Life in Letters. There was – probably still is – a great deal I didn’t know about Wodehouse. Now I want to read some of his stories and novels. Just arrived from the library is Crooked Adam by D.E. Stevenson. It’s a wartime spy novel written by this Scottish author, written in 1942. New author for me. I haven’t picked up any of the short story collections I’ve been gnawing at and need to have a go at them.

What did you get, new, used or from the library?
What have you been reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in books, mystery, New Arrivals, reading, science fiction and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading April 8 – 14, 2013

  1. I second your recommendation about the NESFA Poul Anderson volumes! Terrific stories in well designed packages. And that Lester Dent volume looks great. I may have to order that one. I have my own NEW ARRIVALS post on my blog. Glad you enjoyed P. G. Wodehouse: A Life in Letters. Art Scott, the Wodehouse Expert, might have other ideas but I’d recommend you start with Bertie and Jeeves.

  2. Richard says:

    George, I got a collection of several Blandings novels a while back, so I’ll probably start with those.

  3. cgramlich says:

    what was in in those days with the alliterative names?

  4. Richard says:

    Charles, whatever seemed catchy, I guess.

  5. Patti Abbott says:

    I’m still here to look at that garden. Giving me ideas about putting a wall in the back of the house despite its very narrowness. We have one in the front on both sides but I never thought about the back. We have about 200 bulbs raising their sleepy heads right now.

  6. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Nothing new at least up to Thursday. I have read Hit Me by Lawrence Block, his most recent Keller book, followed by the reprint of his Strange Embrace which was originally published in 1962 as by Ben Christopher. Unlike 69 Barrow Street this one is a mystery. Lastly I read Elmore Leonard’s Tishomingo Blues from 2002.

  7. Richard says:

    Jeff, you sure seem to like Block. I can’t see it, his books leave me cold. Different strokes for different… and all that, I guess.

  8. John says:

    Alliterative names, I think, were a product of smart alecky radio and movie scriptwriters. It’s all about the sound in radio, of course. They seem to have spilled over into pulp writing. Or was it the other way around?

    Currently tearing through The Terminators by Berkley Mather and finishing up The Death Walk by Gilbert Collins. The first will be the FFB post for this week. The second is a disappointing 1933 thriller that started out great then became a confusing muddle in the final five chapters.

    I have four library books I hope I will get to in the next two weeks, but one — Summer of Night by Dan Simmons — is a whopping 480 pages. It better hold my interest. I tend to give up on massive tomes if they ramble, even if this one come very highly recommended from a few people who are discerning readers.

    For the record the other titles are: Hudson Rejoins the Herd by Claude Houghton, Hammett Unwritten by Owen Fitzstephen, Doppelgänger by Peter Van Greenaway and The Quaker City, or The Monks of Monk Hall by George Lippard, a book which I would never have discovered had it not been for Patti’s FFB re-posts this month.

  9. Richard says:

    John, I’ve reserved Hammett Unwritten by Owen Fitzstephen at the library, in spite of mixed reviews. That’s the beauty of the blog world, finding out about about books. I liked the Hyperion books by Simmons but have not tried any of his others.

    Not sure about the alliterative name, thing, your supposition makes sense. I look forward to the Collins FFB post.

Leave a Reply

