New Arrivals, Current Reading March 25 – 31, 2013

Spring fever has my wife firmly in it’s grip. After seeing an article in Sunset magazine on Dahlias, she found a nearby specialty dahlia nursery and off we went, bringing home a bag on tubers. Where I’m going to put them, I don’t know. I’ll have time to figure it out, it’s too soon to plant them by 6-8 weeks.

NEW ARRIVALS:
Two books this time, both from older pre-orders. I also got two CDs, the soundtrack from the film Klute and the Stephen Stills 4-CD collection Carry On, which was recommended by George Kelley.

Batman: The Court of Owls, Vol. 1 by Scott Snyder, Greg Capullo [DC Comics 2012 comci-sized trade paperback, new] – graphic novel (collected comic issues) – I said last time I got a New 52 collection that it would be the last one, forgetting I had this one on pre-order. Since I didn’t cancel that order, here it came. In spite of it’s 2012 (c) date, this has apparently only come out recently. Since was here, I read it, and frankly, it’s the best of them I’ve seen so far. Still, I’ll not buy more of them. I checked: no more pre-orders for these New 52 collections.

Ordinary Grace by William Kent Krueger [Atria Books (Simon & Schuster) March 2013 hardcover, new] – mystery novel – I really like Krueger’s Cochran O’Connor series and have read all but the most recent (I’m “saving” it). This is a stand alone novel and I’m eager to start it.

As for the CDs, the Klute soundtrack was somewhat disappointing, about half the queues without substance. The Stills collection has many good moments, the sound quality is fine and it’s worth a listen, but frankly I prefer the original albums.

CURRENT READING:
As mentioned above I read the Batman collection and liked it. I finished The Chinese Parrot, by Earl Der Biggers which is the 2nd Charlie Chan novel. After plodding through the first two-thirds of it, I read the last third straight through and enjoyed it a good deal, which leads me to believe I had too many distractions at the beginning, sometimes reading only three or four pages in as many days. It was my Friday Forgotten Book last Friday, so see that post for my full review.

I also read The Brand of the Black Bat which will be a future FFB. It’s the first of three novels in The Black Bat Omnibus, Volume 1 for some variety. I started reading the Kinsey Malone novel I is for Innocent and will be starting the new William Kent Krueger stand-alone novel that just came in, mentioned above. I hope everyone else is doing lots of enjoyable reading.

What did you get, new, used or from the library?
What have you been reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in books, mystery, New Arrivals, reading and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading March 25 – 31, 2013

  1. Glad you liked CARRY ON, Rick. Plenty of good music there. I suspect that if you went out an bought the original albums on CD, they would cost you much more than CARRY ON did. Now that the FINAL FOUR is set, who do you like? I’m going with Louisville vs. Syracuse in next Monday’s Championship game.

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    They are the obvious choices. Louisville looks pretty unbeatable at the moment.

    I got The Dance of the Seagull by Andrea Camilleri from Amazon, along with the complete boxed set of Friday Night Lights and four CD’s: Love for Levon, a two CD set of the tribute concert for Levon Helm that ran on PBS (in very abridged form) last month, which is well worth having (and also comes in a version with DVD or Blu-Ray), Aaron Neville’s My Story (also ran on PBS – we have tickets to see him perform at the end of May) and his earlier Bring It on Home…The Soul Classics; and Boz Scaggs’ Memphis.

    Neville does covers of songs like My True Story, Be My Baby, Tears on My Pillow and Under the Boardwalk on the first, and Rainy Night in Georgia, Ain’t No Sunshine, You Send me and When a Man Loves a Woman on the second. Interestingly, Scaggs also covers Rainy Night in Georgia (the Brook Benton original is a favorite of mine), as well as Love on a Two Way Street and Corrina, Corrina.

    I read Apollo’s Outcasts, which you recommended so highly (Allen Steele), which was really good. Also The Riptide Ultra-Glide by Tim Dorsey. I find Dorsey uneven, sometimes too over the top, but liked this one a lot, perhaps because I’m familiar with the area of Florida he covers this time, including Palm Beach County and The Keys. Lastly, an ebook: Robert Silverberg’s In the Beginning: Tales from the Pulp Era. This “pulp era” is the 1950’s.

    I’m still reading the Sue Grafton stories and John Kaye’s The Dead Circus.

  3. Richard says:

    George, but I already have all the albums on CD or almost all of them.

    Jeff, George, I picked Louisville to win it all, still do. I think the final will be Louisville over Michigan, who seems to be peaking and really hot. Jeff, glad you liked Apollo’s Outcasts. I have a favorite Scaggs album, but can’t recall the name of it. Has “Georgia” and a bunch of other hits on it. To my mind, the pulp era reached into the mid 50s. Maybe.

  4. Richard, I am on a blogging break and I keep extending it though I hope to be back soon. I have been reading Wodehouse these past few days and right now I am nearing the end of THE SMALL BACHELOR. After a while, Wodehouse’s story and style can be quite predictable though I never skip a laugh at his humour, absurd in a delightful way.

  5. cgramlich says:

    I binged on graphic novels last year. None so far this year.

  6. Richard says:

    Prashant, I appreciate you dropping by during your break. I understand, i take those now and then too.

    Charles, I read them in runs too.

  7. Richard says:

    Wait until you see what just sailed in the door, for next week’s New Arrivals. Whoa.

  8. Patti Abbott says:

    Just library books for me.

  9. John says:

    Krueger’s latest book is something special, I think. Eager to read what you think of it. I hope you’l;l post a review.

  10. Richard says:

    John, I’m looking forward to reading it, but have 12 books underway at present. Yes, I’ve managed to do it again. Check? What check? /kidding/

Leave a Reply

