New Arrivals, Current Reading March 18 – 24, 2013

After having no Friday Forgotten Book post this last Friday, here I am with a skimpy NA-CR post. Sorry, that’s just how it is at the moment.

NEW ARRIVALS:
None
. Not even anything from the library.

CURRENT READING:
I read and enjoyed Kinsey and Me by Sue Grafton, though honestly I liked the Kinsey stories much better than the last part of the book, which is biographical and – to me – depressing. Still, I’d recommend this one. Other than that, I’ve continued to read a few short stories and have been plodding ahead on The Chinese Parrot, the second Charlie Chan novel by Earl Der Biggers. I really liked the first Chan novel, read many years ago, but this one is dragging a good bit. I suspect that has to do less with the book and more with many distractions including Spring, gardening and NCAA basketball.

I have pulled three or four novels to read following the Chan, while continuing to work away on the short story collections, which I have gotten bogged down on. I hope everyone else is doing lots of enjoyable reading.

What did you get, new, used or from the library?
What have you been reading?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in books, mystery, New Arrivals, reading, short stories and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading March 18 – 24, 2013

  1. I haven’t been bringing much new in either. I bought Charles de Lint’s latest, The Cats of Tangelwood Forest, illustrated by Charles Vess over the last week. Other than that I have a TON of books I’ve checked out from the library. I go back and forth between spending moods and non-spending moods and right now am trying to be more frugal.

  2. THE CHINESE PARROT was the first Charlie Chan novel I read, about 45 years ago, and I must have liked it because I immediately went on to read the rest of the series in those Avon editions that were pretty easy to find then. I’ve never reread any of them, so I have no idea how they’d hold up. I’m currently reading SKULL ISLAND, the new Doc Savage/King Kong novel from Will Murray, and it’s great so far.

  3. Jerry House says:

    A very sick computer and a semi sick me (damn you, flu virus!) have curtailed most of my activities for a while. For the first time in a hound’s age, I had a week with no book buying. As for reading, I read two horror novels by James Herbert (I was half-way through the second when I heard of his death), five SF books by Ed Gorman (under two names), and a ghost-written book on dog lore by Manly Wade Wellman.

  4. Patti Abbott says:

    Been reading FAITHFUL PLACE by Tana French. She sure can write.

  5. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I did read THE CHINESE PARROT too, many years ago. I’m reading the Grafton book now, along with Robert Silverberg’s early pulp stories from the ’50s, which are mostly pretty ridiculous. I’m sure if I’d have read them as a kid I’d have thought they were great. I’m also read another of your recommendations, Allen Steele’s APOLLO’S OUTCASTS.

    New arrivals: none, other than Geoff Bradley’s latest CADS.

    Read: Robert W. Walker’s THRICE TOLD TALES (ebook), which I found very uneven. Dave Barry’s INSANE CITY (Miami, what else?), which took me a while to get into but which was a lot of fun in the end.

    Still have another half a dozen library books, including the latest by Lawrence Block and Peter Robinson.

  6. cgramlich says:

    I just ordered the new Doc Savage and Kong book

  7. I (and my students) are on SPRING BREAK so I have time to read Big Fat Books. I’m reading about the Civil War right now. Diane read KINSEY & ME and had the same reaction to the book that you had.

  8. John says:

    THE CHINESE PARROT is my favorite of the Chan books so far. But I’ve only read three. Strange, you find it plodding, because what struck me most about the book is its exceptionally modern and timeless feel. It doesn’t at all seem like a typical American mystery of the 1920s . If you discount all the period references (and I don’t recall they are that many) it could easily be seen as a book that was written much later in our history. The movie talk especially seemed very current to me.

  9. Richard says:

    John, now that I’ve finished it, I have to say it was quite good. I read it in such fits and starts that I couldn’t get into it until the last third, when I sat down and read straight through.

  10. Cap'n Bob says:

    Solomon and Lord, by Paul Levine. Lots of humor, loathesome characters, good characters, plot turns, and obstacles when a gonzo lawyer partners with a staid but beautiful by-the-book female lawyer.

  11. Richard says:

    Sounds interesting, Bob. Will you be reviewing it for your blog?

Leave a Reply

