New Arrivals, Current Reading March 4 – 10, 2013

NEW ARRIVALS:
A few things this time, all in a series, and you can blame George Kelley (I do) for some of these arriving at my home. The reasons for the rest are elucidated below. This is what I meant last week when I said “there always seems to be something in the pipeline”.

Blood ‘N’ Thunder issue # 35 – Summer 2012 & issue # 36 – Fall 2012 [Ed Hulse, publisher, quarterly periodical, new] – I enjoy reading fiction from the pulp era, and I don’t believe there’s a better in-print magazine covering the films, fiction and related topics than Blood ‘N’ Thunder. I had inadvertently let my subscription lapse, totally my fault, but when I saw mention of an issue I didn’t have, I remedied that quickly and got the missing issue(s), shown here. If you enjoy fiction from the 1930s and 1940s, and the films, radio programs and related topics from then or later, I think you’ll love B ‘n’ T !

Armchair Fiction’s series Masters of Science Fiction, Volumes 1-5 [single author short story collections published by Armchair Fiction, new] – classic science fiction short stories, re-publication series:

Volume # 1 – Bryce Walton: “Dark of the Moon” and Other Tales © 2010
Volume # 2 – Jerome Bixby “One Way Street” and other tales  © 2010
Volume #3 – Robert Sheckley “The Perfect Woman” and other stories… © 2011
Volume # 4 – Mack Reynolds, Part One © 2011
Volume # 5 – Winston K. Marks “The Test Colony” and other tales © 2012

Though each of these is labeled as a “deluxe paperback edition”, they’re just okay in my opinion, but that doesn’t matter. What does matter is the contents, not purported to be complete but selections from the writings of these authors. Still a decent set and many of the stories aren’t easily found elsewhere. After reading George Kelley’s review of volume 4, I went to the Armchair site and bought all of these. There are more, but I started here. It will probably be a while before I read any of them, as I have a ton of short story collections underway at the moment (see last week and below).

On a Red Station, Drifting by Aliette de Bodard [Immersion Press 2012 hardcover, new] – science fiction novella – this is one of the 2012 Nebula nominees. I admit the cover doesn’t do the book any favors, and it’s expensive for a novella, but after I read a blurb and then Carl Anderson’s sparkling review (HERE) I had to have it.

CURRENT READING:
I’m plugging away on the short stories. I finished one, The Cobra, King of Detectives eight stories by Richard Sale, all of which I enjoyed a good deal. These are pulp reprint stories published by Altus Press. Definitely worth your time, unless you’re squeamish about snakes, as all but one of the stories have at least one of those figuring into it.

I’m still working on the rest, having read two more Father Brown stories, another Harry Harrison, one O’Hara, two Wright…you get the idea. I also finished Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore reviewed here a few days ago, and have started Wild, Delicate Moments: 29 Wildlife Encounters by Charles Finn, which I saw reviewed on Chris LaTrey’s site (Here). Short non-fiction essays about just what the title implies. I’ll write a review after I finish it.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in books, New Arrivals, Pulp, reading, science fiction, short stories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading March 4 – 10, 2013

  1. macavityabc says:

    I always blame George Kelley when I can.

  2. I’m guilty as charged. But you and Bill have to admit that my relentless efforts to get you guys to Spend Money has improved the U.S. economy and sent the Stock Market to new record highs! I support small presses like Armchair who are printing entertaining books that Big Publishers never would. Well done, Rick!

  3. Trying to catch up with me I see. Heh!

    Some good looking purchase s here. More ideas for someone that overindulges already.

  4. cgramlich says:

    Love the cover for the Bruce Walton book. I’m a sucker for that kind of art

  5. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Yes, George is our guru in helping to stimulate the U.S. economy and look how well we’rre doing!

    I just put in a $100+ order with Amazon for books, CDs and DVDs that should be arriving at home shortly after we do.

    I did finish a couple more books this week: Dave Zeltserman’s One Angry Julius Katz & Other Stories (ebook), short stories (some of which I’d read before) and Alexander McCall Smith’s 9th Botswna-set book about the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency, The Miracle at Speedy Motors, not one of the strongest books in the series IMHO.

    I’m in the middle of three others, two ebooks Eric Beetner’s hard edged collection of stories, Bouquet of Bullets, and Ben Rehder’s standalone novel Driving Lessons, plus Lawrence Block’s first published novel under his own name, Mona (aka Grifter’s Game).

    I’ll have several library books waiting for me when we get home.

  6. Patti Abbott says:

    Nothing new for me but books from the library.

  7. A paperback First Edition of MONA resides at the SUNY at Buffalo Rare Books Collection as part of the George Kelley Paperback and Pulp Fiction Collection. After the first few Alexander McCall Smith No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency books, the novels decline in quality.

  8. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Mine is inscribed to me by Block, George. Yours was probably in better condition.

  9. Richard says:

    Patti, library books count! It tells everyone what you’re / we’re reading.

  10. Richard says:

    Jeff, I’d forgotten you were still in the land of sun and warmth. Sounds like you’re becoming pretty acclimated to reading e-books. Sigh. Still, sounds like you’re reading cool stuff.

  11. Richard says:

    George, you’re a bad influence on us all… but we like you anyway.

  12. Richard says:

    Randy, no one can catch you, but every now and then I have a bog week.

  13. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Rick, because of the bad forecast last week – especially in the mid-Atlantic region we’d be driving through – we decided to stay an extra week. We will be leaving tomorrow morning and should be home on Friday.

  14. Richard says:

    Jeff, safe driving!

Leave a Reply

