FFB: Crime Through Time edited by Miriam Grace Monfredo & Sharan Newman

this is the 107th in my series of forgotten or seldom read books

Crime Through Time by Miriam Grace Monfredo & Sharan Newman, Berkeley Prime Crime 1997 – paperback – historical mystery short story collection

Crime Through TimeA few years back, I saw a mention of this somewhere and it sounded interesting so I picked up a copy. I had been reading a few historical mysteries and this seemed like just the ticket to discover new authors and read a little more by the names I knew. The collection contains twenty one stories by an impressive list of authors.

The stories are arranged in chronological order, beginning with Lynda S. Robinson’s “Death of a Place-Seeker, featuring Lord Meren, the protagonist of her novels set in Egypt. If you haven’t had the pleasure of reading any of these [Murder in the Place of Anubis, Murder at God’s Gate, Murder at the Feast of Rejoicing and Eater of Souls] or if you have wondered if you would like them, this short story will give you an idea of the character and atmosphere of the books. That’s the nice thing about ALL of the stories in this collection, they give an excellent introduction to these authors and their works. I won’t go on at length about each story, but I will list some of the authors: Steven Saylor (Rome), Sharan Newman (1142 France), Edward Marston (Elizabethan England), Leonard Tourney (Elizabethan England – I particularly liked this one), Peter Lovesey (1860 England), Troy Soos (1894 Baltimore), Anne Perry (188? England, another real goodie), Barbara Paul (1917 New York), Michael Pearce (early 1900’s Cairo), Laurie King (1918 England), Edward Hoch (1920 England), Ken Kuhlken (1941 San Diego) and several others.

There was only one story of all these that I didn’t particularly like (I won’t tell you, perhaps you’ll guess when you read the engrossing collection). This will give you a great look at many top historical mystery authors and may turn you into a fan of the subgenre. If you’re already a fan, this will be a real treat! Highly Recommended.

note: there are a second and third collection (Crime Through Time II and III) also available.

~  ~  ~  ~  ~

The rest of the Friday Forgotten Book posts
can be found at Patti Abbott’s fine blog Pattinase

 

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in books, Friday Forgotten Book, Review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to FFB: Crime Through Time edited by Miriam Grace Monfredo & Sharan Newman

  1. Might have to check this one out. On the story you didn’t like, if there’s one thing I’ve learned over the years, even folks with similar likes can still like’dislike one story over another. I might like the story you mention and not like others you did. That doesn’t make them bad stories, just ones that appeal to different things.

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I read the three volumes in 1998, 1999 and 2000 and enjoyed them all. As you said it gives you a good introduction to a number of authors you might otherwise never have read.

  3. cgramlich says:

    I have this. I’ve just never read it. I think it’s packed away in a box somewhere. Will have to have a look.

  4. I’ve seen this series from time to time at various Library Book Sales. I’ll have to pick up a copy next time I spot one.

  5. Richard says:

    George, cheap copies of these paperbacks are available on line as well.

  6. I haven’t read any of these authors, so the collection truly would be a great introduction for me. My wife has listened to several Anne Perry and Laurie King novels. She has a long commute back and forth to work and she gets through a lot of audio books.

  7. Richard says:

    Carl, audio books are good for that, aren’t they? I like the Holmes & Russell books by King, her other series, not so much.

Leave a Reply

