Apollo’s Outcasts by Allen Steele

Apollo’s Outcasts by Allen Steele, Pyr Nov 2012 Hardcover, YA/adult science fiction, 305 pages. Also available as an e-book for Kindle

ApolloWhat a marvelous book! I’ll start off by directing you to another review, over on Carl Vincent’s fine blog Stainless Steel Droppings, of this book. I beg you, read his review before you go further with my few words. FIND IT HERE.

I hope you followed the link and read the review, because I’m going to refer to it in this brief addendum. So if you still haven’t read it, please do. It pretty much says everything I’d say in a longer, more thoughtful way than my humble blurting here.

I loved this book. My first thought when I finished it was “I’m sorry it’s over, sorry I finished it.” I could happily have read another 200 pages about these characters, this setting and environment, physical and political. There’s room here for a sequel, so I really, really hope Mr. Steele is working on one right now!

Carl’s review gives you all the plot overview you need, so I’ll skip that. This is ostensibly a YA novel, but it reads just fine as an adult level novel about teenage and adult characters. There are threats, challenges, politics, information about the near future and beyond, well thought out science. As the other review says, this book channels Robert Heinlein, but I’ll go further and say it’s also right in line with Arthur C. Clark’s books. Heinlein and Clarke? You really can’t go wrong with that!

I have some of Steele’s Coyote books on hand, but hadn’t gotten to them yet. You can bet I’ll soon remedy that, but what I want the most is a sequel to this one. Are you listening, Mr. Steele?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in books, Review, science fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Apollo’s Outcasts by Allen Steele

  1. Like you, I have some of the Coyote books around the house. Need to get to them and this one for sure.

  2. It pleases me to no end that you enjoyed this one as much as I did. Had I not read Hugh Howey’s Wool Omnibus right before the year ended this would have been my favorite book of 2012. I remember very clearly that I started reading it on Thanksgiving morning as I sat in a parking lot in my truck waiting for a 5K to start. Within a few pages I was hooked and I tore through quite a bit of the book that morning. It is the kind of book that has the potential for that immediate connection.

    It isn’t often that I clamor for a sequel. I don’t mind getting one good book that stands on its own and this book certainly is that, but I enjoyed the characters so much and there is so much potential for more story here that I would be first in line to grab the sequel if he wrote and published one. I emailed Pyr’s editor Lou Anders, a really nice guy, btw, who said that there is none in the works that he is aware of but that he would be game to see one too. Guess it is time to start bombarding Allen Steele with emails. 🙂

    Fantastic to see and feel your enthusiasm with this one Richard. Lets cross our fingers for that next book.

  3. cgramlich says:

    Glad to hear it. I’m eager to get this one now. It certainly sounded good.

  4. I have a copy of APOLLO’S OUTCASTS on my Read Real Soon stack. I’ve enjoyed every Allen Steele book I’ve read.

  5. Richard says:

    If you haven’t read it yet, put it on the top of the TBR.

    Carl, I wonder what his email addy is…

  6. Richard, I haven’t read any of Allan Steele’s books and yours and Carl Vincent’s reviews of “Apollo’s Outcasts” has certainly got me interested in this particular book. The cover is terrific. I like the relatively new concept of a YA novel meant for adults as well.

  7. Jeff Meyerson says:

    OK, you guys sold me.

  8. Richard says:

    You should find it at the library, Jeff.

Leave a Reply

