Ow!

migraine hamsterThey don’t come very often but when they do… OUCH.

I’ve got a migraine, the first since last October or so, and will be out of commission for a day or two as it’s a lulu.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in At Home in Portland. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Ow!

  1. cgramlich says:

    I’m fortunate in almost never having bad headaches. Certainly debilitating when it happens. My wife has migraines at times and I speak from her experience.

  2. Cap'n Bob says:

    I’ve never had a migraine but used to get run-of-the-mill headaches frequently. I never determined if they were caused by allergies or stress, but they went away years ago and I almost never have one now. I also had a roommate many years ago who got crippling migraines. He quit his job and they stopped.

    I hope yours doesn’t last long, Rick.

  3. I too have never had a migraine and can’t imagine what you are going through. I’ll just keep you in my thoughts.

  4. Patti Abbott says:

    Me either but it must be hell.

  5. Several of my friends struggle with migraines. I’m sure you know all this, but they told me these steps help keep migraines at bay:
    Here are some lifestyle changes that can help:

    Sleep. Setting a consistent sleep schedule may help reduce migraines. Go to bed and get up about the same time every day, including weekends and holidays. Disruptions to your sleep schedule, getting too much or too little sleep, can trigger a headache.

    Exercise regularly. You may be tempted to avoid exercise, afraid it might trigger a migraine. And, although sudden exertion may trigger a headache in some people, research suggests regular, moderate aerobic exercise may reduce the severity, duration, and number of migraines in many people. Regular exercise also helps control stress, another migraine trigger.

    Eat regular meals. Regular meals are important to maintain level blood sugar. A drop in blood sugar can trigger a migraine. Also drink plenty of water to avoid dehydration, which can trigger migraine.

    Limit stress. For many migraine sufferers, stress is a common trigger. Take time each day for a relaxation break. Find something that you enjoy that helps you relax. For example:

    listen to calming music
    take a short walk
    meditate

  6. Richard says:

    Thanks, everyone. I’m slowly improving, but not there yet.

    George, I know that, as you guessed, and the tough one right now is the exercise with it staying below freezing much of the day Ijust don’t want to go out and walk. As for stress, I’m retired, so every day is relaxing and stress free (except when I have to go to the doctor or dentist), sort of along relaxation break.

    Thanks, Bob for your support, I appreciate it a lot.

  7. Richard says:

    Patti, if getting repeatedly struck in the temples with a mallet is hell, then yes, it’s hell.

  8. Jeff Meyerson says:

    That really stinks. I’ve had periods where I had a lot of headaches – so much so that it looked llike I got hives from overdoing the aspirins. Some were bad enough to send me to bed but fortunately not migraines, which my mother was subject to.

Leave a Reply

