New Arrivals, Current Reading, January 6 – 13, 2013

It’s been quite cold here, with snow again Friday and maybe today. I’m trying to get out and walk, get back on the diet and exercise after all the holiday treats, but it’s hard in this weather.

NEW ARRIVALS – Despite what I said last time, I find four books on my doorstep. Listings and descriptions below the images.

The Complete Father Brown Stories by G.K. Chesterton [Wordsworth Press 2006 trade paper edition, new] – mystery short story collection – I read a recent Friday Forgotten Book entry on Father Brown. I thought I had a collection or two of the Father Brown stories, but my catalog says otherwise, so I ordered this. I have many short story collections here, some partly read, most waiting. I think I need to devote a month to nothing else and try to make a dent.

In Defense of Sanity by G.K. Chesterton, edited and selected by Dale Ahlquist, Joseph Pearce and Aidan Mackey [Ignatius Press 2011 trade paper, new] – essay collection – I thought it was time I dipped into this.

Magic Bites by Ilona Andrews [Ace Fantasy 2007 mass market paperback, new] – fantasy novel, first in the Kate Daniels series – purchased after reading a review on Fantasy Book Critic blog. The first of 5 books in the series. Each title begins with the word Magic: Bites, Burns, Strikes, Bleeds and Slays. I’ll try this while the rest are still in print, then go from there if I like it.

Murder on Ice by Alina Adams [Berkley Prime Crime 2003 mass market paperback, used, ex-lib] – mystery – after reading a review on one of the Friday Forgotten Books blogs recently, I found a copy. This sounded interesting and different.

CURRENT READING – I’m still working on on Marvel Comics: the Untold Story by Sean Howe. It’s long and there is a wealth of detail and a lot I didn’t know about the company and employees. I’m still working on the Black Mask collection and have read the first two stories in the Father Brown collection I just got (above). I also have read just a few of the stories in Harry Harrison’s 50 in 5o. As I said above, I’m going to have to start reading more short stories, the three books I just named are only the tip of the iceberg. Yikes.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in books, Current Reading, New Arrivals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading, January 6 – 13, 2013

  1. Harry Harrison’s 50 in 50 is a favorite book of mine. I read THE COMPLETE FATHER BROWN stories a few years ago. Excellent! I, too, am reading frantically–trying to catch up. I go back to work on January 22 so I’m trying to cram in all the reading and movies I can this week. Sorry about the Seahawks!

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I looked at that Adams book too but didn’t get it. Only finished one book this week but it was a good one, Lincoln Barclay’s TRUST YOUR EYES. I don’t usually like to read books of 500 pages but this one moved right along. I’m reading mystery shorts from EQMM and AHMM and more of Robert Silverberg’s early science fiction shorts. I really like when authors tell how they came to write a story and Silverberg does it in these collected editions.

    One new arrival from PaperbackSwap, CODY’S LAW: COMMANCHE CODE by Matthew S. Hart. When I found out that Bill Crider wrote more of these with James Reasoner I – naturally – had to get them.

  3. I met Ilona Andrews and her husband Gordon, who co-writes the books with her, at a convention a while back. Nice folks. I have a few of their books but haven’t read any of them yet (an all-too-common lament of mine).

    Jeff, COMANCHE CODE is the sequel to RED MOON’S RAID. Or is it the other way around? Anyway, I think they can be read as stand-alones.

  4. cgramlich says:

    Looks like a mystery kick coming. 🙂

  5. Richard says:

    George, when you say you’re reading frantically, you really mow ’em down, so I expect there’ll b lots read. No comment on the other Chesterton book?

    Jeff, I got the Adams book on BookSwap.

  6. Richard says:

    James, it’s always nice to hear that authors are nice, since sometimes they’re a bit stand-offish. Also nice to know little facts like the co-writing. Thanks!

    Charles, a little of each, mystery and SFF.

  7. I’ve read a few Chesterton essays and I have a fat book of Chesterton’s complete essays. Now, to find time to read it…

  8. Patti Abbott says:

    I bought BLACK HOUSE by Peter May-set in Scotland, CALIFORNIA GIRL, Jefferson Parker, and LA REQUIEM by Robert Crais.

  9. Richard says:

    Good choices, Patti. Have you read any of Peter May’s other novels? I read one and liked it, have the next here waiting.

  10. Carl V. says:

    I didn’t know there were Chesteron essays out there. I’ve enjoyed his fiction in the past, need to check that one out.

Leave a Reply

