New Arrivals, Current Reading, December 17 – 23, 2012

New arrivals are oldies this time. I expect next week there may be some Christmas goodies in this space. Right now, only Santa knows…

NEW ARRIVALS – Here you go, descriptions and such below the images.

Hammett – Crime Stories and Other Writings by Dashiell Hammett, edited by Library of America [Library of America, new] – mystery short stories and essays – Library of America volume No. 125.  I already had almost everything Hammett wrote in my library, but I was missing just a few stories, and this book fills those holes. A few Continental Op stories and other things. I admit I’m late coming to this, but honestly I thought I already had everything Hammett, until Dave Lewis pointed out my error. So thanks, Dave! I like to think now I have the whole of his output, and I’m looking forward to reading the whole darn collection.

To Light a Candle by Mercedes Lackey and James Mallory [Tor 2004 mass market paperback, new] – fantasy – after reading a very convincing review of the first book in a new, later installment of this multi-trilogy series, I decided to get the first 3 books. The first and third books in the trilogy arrived a month ago, this one just showed up. Now I can schedule the three books into my reading schedule, probably after the New Year.

The Twelve Deaths of Christmas by Marian Babson [St. Martin’s Dead Letter 1996 mass market paperback, used] – mystery novel originally published in 1979 – classic country house style (in this case a rooming house) – I wanted to read a Christmas themed mystery. I thought I had this one, but it wasn’t on the shelf, so I ordered it from BookSwap. It came Saturday, and I’ll start it today.

At the Mouth of the River of Bees cover - click to view full size

CURRENT READING – I’ve finished two books, Cold As Ice (reviewed here) and a book of Christmas novelettes I’ll be home for Christmas. The latter is general fiction and the person who gave it to me neglected to tell me the author, Fern Michaels, wrote romantic fiction. I plowed my way through, but can’t recommend it all unless that’s just what you’re looking for. I just got Twelve Deaths of Christmas and will start it today, and I’ve also started At the Mouth of the River of Bees by Kij Johnson, a short story collection. It will be my first time reading her. Though it’s been out for a little while, the library just got it in. Several of the stories were published earlier. I’m also continuing to work my way through a couple of other short story collections. Looks like I’ll finish up the year reading a novel and a lot of short stories.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in books, Current Reading, New Arrivals. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading, December 17 – 23, 2012

  1. Jerry House says:

    I find Marion Babson surprisingly addictive. Hammett, of course, is Hammett and even minor Hammett is worthwhile. I have several Lackeys (it sounds strange the way I phrased that) but haven’t read any yet — any positive review from you may push me closer.

    Hope you have a great holiday and an even greater 2013!

  2. Richard says:

    I’ll let you know what I think of the Lackey trilogy, once I start it, Jerry. Thanks for the holiday wishes, same to you!

  3. Jeff Meyerson says:

    You can’t go wrong with the Hammett, of course. No new books here of late, which is OK with me.

    I’m reading a nasty collection of stories I got from the library because Robert Bloch edited it, but since the connecting theme is stories featuring psychopaths I’m not sure I’d recommend it. The title is Monsters in Our Midst and it does have some very good writers including Lawrence Block and Ed Gorman. I finished the now 45 year old collection, Dangerous Visions, this week as well as two novels I enjoyed more than I expected to: Matt Ruff’s The Mirage and Robin Sloan’s Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore.

    I’m finiding it hard getting into an “ordinary” mystery at the moment.

  4. Richard says:

    Jeff, I read Dangerous Visions years and years ago. How is /was Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore?

  5. I’m with Jerry: I have several books by Mercedes Lackey, but have not read any of them yet. I will eagerly await your review. I liked MR. PENUMBRA’S 24-HOUR BOOKSTORE.

  6. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I liked it. At first I thought it might be a little young for me what with all the Google stuff but once I got into it I liked it. I mean, you can’t go wrong with “bookstore” in the title.

  7. cgramlich says:

    I’ll probably get the Hammett eventually. Have a great Christmas season!

  8. Richard says:

    Charles, I wanted to be, where Hammett was concerned, a completist, at least in the sense of having the stories and novels in some format or other. Hope your holiday is great too.

  9. Richard says:

    I finally figured out that the less there is under the tree, the less the post-holiday letdown. Or at least I think that might be true. We don’t entertain much, and as soon as Wednesday gets here the snacks, cookies, and desserts will be banished from the house. The tree stays up until New Year Day, but is undecorated during the Rose Parade and Barbara packs up the house decorations while football is watched. Each year I get more and more lazy about the Christmas decorating. One of these years all the ornaments and stuff will be shipped off to the kids and grandkids…

  10. Carl V. says:

    I like those Library of America editions. Very nice collections.

    Like the cover for the Lackey book.

    I too hope you have some goodies, from Santa and Barbara, to show next time.

Leave a Reply

