New Arrivals, Current Reading

The Fall-Winter weather continues to be typical: not fierce, but cool and wet, with a sunny day now and then. We enjoy it.

New Arrivals – Just when I think I’m doing pretty well with the new books and incoming, along comes a bunch of things I can’t resist, then a birthday… and I’m back in a “look at all the stuff!” mode. Enjoy it, it won’t last. Most but not all of what you see below were gifts. Details after the images.

The Gray Wolf Crown by Cinda Williams Chima [Hyperion 2011 hardcover, new] – fantasy – This is the 3rd volume in the Seven Realms series. I already have the first two (The Demon Queen and The Exiled King) and after reading about half of the first one decided to stack up a few more and then plough straight through. Gift

The Crimson Crown by Cinda Williams Chima [Hyperion 2011 hardcover, new] – fantasy – This is the 4th volume in the Seven Realms series. I’ve got enough now to start reading the series, as soon as I clean up the huge stack of books under way (see my October 24 post). Gift

Better Than Bullets the Complete Adventures of Thibaut Corday and the Foreign Legion, Volume 1 – by Theodore Roscoe [Altus Books 2012 trade paperback, new] – pulp fiction story collection – I have a hard time resisting these, and between Altus Press and Black Dog Books could spend my allowance and more if not reigned in. Gift.

Existence – by David Brin [Tor 2012 hardcover, new] – science fiction – Brin’s newest, and a prequel of sorts to the author’s Uplift books, this has been high on my want list since I saw it scheduled to be published. Brin’s prodding, on his blog and by email, made it even more of a necessary purchase. I am eager to start on this, eventually. Gift.

The Casebook of Jonas P. Jonas and Other Mysteries – by E.X. Ferrars [Crippen & Landru 2012 hardcover, new] – mystery – the latest Lost Classics collection from Crippen & Landru, short story publishers par excellence. It’s always a treat to get one of these in the mail.

The  Adventures of Tintin, Season Three – animated series based on the books of Herge, this is the third and last season of the show [Shout Video, 2 DVD set, new] – animated adventure stories based on 6 novels, 5 hours – I’m a big Tintin fan, have read all the books more than once, have a Tintin keychain, clock etc. These were finally dubbed into English and shown – on HBO, possibly – but I missed most of them, so I was delighted when the series came out of DVD. This is the last one. The adventures are not in published order, on this set or on all the sets, but that matters little to me. Now that I have the entire set, I just need to make time to watch them. Gift.

Current Reading –  If you read the October 24 post here, you know I’ve got partially read books overflowing. I won’t even list them all again, go to that post for a list and notes. I have now finished Nemesis and Jane (review coming in a few days). The of the list is lined up. So I won’t be reading any of the new things shown above for some time, unfortunately.

My Friday Forgotten Books postings may get a little thin too, as much of what I’m working on isn’t, in my mind, qualifying. I’ll just keep plugging away.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Adventure, books, Current Reading, fantasy, mystery, New Arrivals, reading, science fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading

  1. Carl V. says:

    That isn’t too many added to the pile of books to read, and of course being gifts makes it the perfect excuse to add them. Great to have gift givers who know what you want! Happy birthday again, hope you had a great time celebrating. Seeing Tintin reminds me that I wanted to check out some of the books from the library. I like the artwork and imagine I would enjoy the stories.

  2. Lots of goodies! Like you, I love Black Dog Books and the other genre small publishers like Stark House and Subterranean. As the weather gets more inclement, you’ve scored a nice mix of books to keep you occupied until Spring.

  3. Redhead says:

    New books are the best. Even you have a stack of stuff you’re supposed to finish before starting anything else. . . new books are still the best. We bought a copy of Existence as well, I’m waiting for hubby to finish it so I can gobble it up.

  4. Evan Lewis says:

    Dang, that Theodore Roscoe book looks good.

  5. You chose the right coast to live on right now.

  6. cgramlich says:

    I definitely want that Brin. I enjoyed the uplift books

  7. Richard says:

    Carl, the best way to get books you like is to have a wish list (mine is on Amazon) and keep it updated. All but one of the things here came off that list. Barbara says it’s no fun because there are no surprises, but I’d rather that than a bad surprise.

    George, yes I love the small publishers, especially Altus and Black Dog. I don’t buy Sub press books any more due to the cost, but those two are usually irresistible.

  8. Richard says:

    Redhead, yes, I agree, though sometimes I think any book that new to me is “new”. I’ve carved 2 of the 9 off the bookmarks-in-them list, and am making progress on the next one, so there’s hope. The problem will be what to read after that.

    Evan, yes, after I read a review, I think on James’ blog, I had to have it. The one you just reviewed is another one I want.

  9. Richard says:

    Patti, yes, we’re better off here, though it’s been cool and wet and windy, it’s nothing like what the East is expecting.

    Charles, I just reread the first Uplift book, and was surprised at how little I remembered. You might want to try that before getting this new one.

  10. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I don’t have my notebook on hand but I haven’t done much reading on this trip other than the Silverberg short story collection on the Kindle. I did read You Changed My Life by Abdel Sellou (I think that’s the correct spelling) whose story was the basis of the wonderful The Intouchables.

  11. Redhead says:

    agreed, any book that’s “new to me”, that I haven’t read yet, is a new book for me. Even if it was published a while ago. So Existence is just as new as Cordelia’s Honor, since they both came into the house at about the same time.

Leave a Reply

