New Arrivals, Current Reading

I’ve been watching football (Go Ducks!) and some of the baseball playoffs lately. We only watch baseball during the playoffs and World Series, as for us a little baseball goes a long way. I enjoy listening to it outside on the patio on my small portable am-fm transister radio Somehow baseball just seems kinda “right” on a little tinny radio like that, sitting outdoors. Unfortunately, the weather has turned and that’s not working these days.

New Arrivals – Not much, (beside the new car!) has been coming in, I have been trying to concentrate on reading what’s in hand, meaning two rooms of large book cases plus miscellaneous stacks and stashes.

I did get one book from PaperBack Swap, since I hadn’t read it and a review on Patti Abbot’s Friday Forgotten Book postings made me think I should. It’s The Talented Mr. Ripley by Patricia Highsmith.

Current Reading –  I’m still reading several things at once, Frank Denton style, each as the mood strikes me. First is The Gift of Rain, beautifully written and with an intriguing character set, though I know the primary character(s) of the book have yet to be introduced. Second is The Case of the Substitute Face, a Perry Mason mystery which I’m enjoying in gulps between the other books. I’m just a few pages from finishing that one. The third book is an Agatha Christie, A Caribbean Mystery, featuring Miss Marple. It’s another oldie I had yet to read, and decided to after last Friday’s author-specific FFB on Christie. I guess the rainy Fall weather has me more inclined to read.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in New Arrivals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading

  1. I absolutely love listening to baseball on the radio. It’s one of my favorite sports-related pleasures.

  2. Carl V. says:

    I too only watch baseball during the playoffs but I haven’t caught much yet (other than on radio) this season. I’ve been watching a lot of pro football today (and am doing so now).

    Not much new in lately here either. Speaking of Perry Mason, I was up late the other night and caught an old Perry Mason episode on television. That was fun. Always liked that show when I was younger and still enjoy it today.

  3. Patti Abbott says:

    I listened to baseball on the radio for many years. There was a time when not all games were televised. Especially the home games. Now I too just watch if the Tigers get into the playoffs. Go Tigers!

  4. Cgramlich says:

    I liked the movie from The talented Mr. Ripley. Haven’t read the book.

  5. Jeff Meyerson says:

    After you finish the Marple you should look for the sequel (of sorts), written several years later, NEMESIS.

    I used to listen to baseball on a transistor radio when I was a kid. Galloping nostalgia!

    From PaperbackSwap I got two of the Great SF Stories edited by Isaac Asimov after reading Bill Crider’s review of one last week, with one more on the way. I read THE EARLY CRAP: Selected Short Stories by Anthony Neil Smith on the Kindle, the first of his I’ve completed. I’m reading more of Philip K. Dick’s early short stories and the third of Tarquin Hall’s Vis (“Chubby”) Puri mysteries set in Delhi, THE CASE OF THE DEADLY BUTTER CHICKEN.

  6. Jeff Meyerson says:

    That should have been “Vish” Puri.

  7. With Jeter out, it looks like Patti’s Tigers will make it to the World Series. Like you, I only pay attention to baseball during the Playoffs and the Series. Check your mailbox. You’ll have some new arrivals next week from the BOUCHERCON CARE package!

  8. Jeff Meyerson says:

    The less said about the Yankees’ performance so far the better.

  9. Richard says:

    Chris, Carl – about that radio, I had to go hunting for one, finally found it at Radio Shack. It’s about the same size and controls as the one I had in high school! Carl, I have the first season of Perry Mason on DVD, enjoy them a lot.

  10. Richard says:

    Patti, I’m with you, go Tigers. At least until the series, when, if they win, I’ll be rooting for the Giants. If they don’t it’s a toss-up for me. Why does it always seem to be the eastern teams any more (except Giants a few years back)?

  11. Richard says:

    Charles, I saw on this cover there was a film, I didn’t recall that until I saw that. Maybe I’ll watch it someday, but I’ll read the book first.

  12. Richard says:

    Jeff – I’m not familiar with any of that stuff. Well, maybe I read one of the Great SF collections at some point, I don’t remember. Yankees? Sorry, they seem to just expect they will play in the Series (and win it) every year. After a while that just gets arrogant.

  13. Jeff Meyerson says:

    They’ve only won it once (2009) in the last dozen years. The last time they were in it before that was 2003, when they lost. Granted, when I was a kid it was another story. I’m still amazed that in the first sixteen years of my life the Yankees were in the World Series fourteen times (they won nine of them).

  14. Richard says:

    Jeff – as opposed to the many, many (one) times The Angels were in it… my “home team” for most of my life, though I was also a Dodger fan for a long time, and especially enjoyed what they called the Freeway Series between the two in pre-season. Still, it seems they are almost always in the playoffs or the series.

Leave a Reply

