Report, of sorts

While a lot of my friends are going to Bouchercon, the great mystery convention, this year in Cleveland, I’m home, as usual. This is due to several things:

(1) I hate flying, the TSA and all that jazz.

(2) It’s not in the budget, as a fairly large household expense is coming.

(3) We have an old, ill cat and he needs a lot of pills, special food and constant monitoring, as well as he spits up frequently, cries if left alone and so on. Much more than a cat sitter could handle, we think.

(4) I slipped on wet flagstones last week, though this is a minor complaint and might not keep us away all by itself, and my right knee is pretty banged up and sore. There was never any swelling, it’s just bruised.

(5) I’m on a strict diet, and traveling makes it very difficult to stay on course.

Only the first three really keep us away, but the rest compound the logic of staying here in Portland. I doubt I’ll make it to Albany next year either. Wish they’d have one here or in Seattle!

Meanwhile we (Portland) made the record books. The last quarter, Jul-Aug-Sept, was the warmest and especially the driest in history. No, I’m not comparing us to the drought in the midwest by any means, but we only had .25 inch of rain in those 3 months! That’s several inches below normal. No wonder our water bill for irrigation is so high! Many things in our garden are a year or less old, so not that well established, and we’ve been trying to keep them well watered in the hot, dry conditions. So far the forecast for October is for more of the same, which means we can enjoy the nice clear sunny weather a little longer, and we’re taking advantage of it, because when the rains come they’ll be with us for a few months, if our Winter is typical. Last year we had a warmer, dryer Winter, and that added to the impact of this hot dry Summer.

I’ve been reading a variety of things, but not doing a very good job writing them up and posting. Just not in the mood, sorry. I hope everyone is enjoying Fall, and those who, like me, aren’t going to Bouchercon this year, enjoy the reports and the pleasures of hearth and home.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in At Home in Portland. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Report, of sorts

  1. macavityabc says:

    As for me, I’d like to think all those who are going will feel guilty about having so much fun when we aren’t there. But I know they won’t.

  2. Richard says:

    No Bill, I’m pretty sure they won’t. They might crow about the Good Times, though. Darn. Barbara says when it comes to the TSA, flying thing, I just need to Get Over It, but that’s a lot easier said than done.

  3. Redhead says:

    ugh, don’t even get me started on my severe dislike of TSA and airports in general. I hope your knee feels better soon.

  4. Richard says:

    Thanks, Red. I don’t mind driving, but Portland to Cleveland is a little out of my range, unless I was going to make a full-on road trip out of it .

  5. Evan Lewis says:

    I’m staying home, too, but my only excuse is the first half of #2.

  6. Cgramlich says:

    Hope your knee gets better quickly. I’m getting where I don’t really like to travel either.

  7. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Well, don’t know if this will make you feel any better but we had to cancel the trip this morning. I suddenly got sick yesterday and I was not going to get on a plane with an upper respiratory infection, so we’re staying home too.

  8. Richard says:

    Evan, I understand. We’re pushing things with that aforementioned purchase.

    Thanks, Charles.

    Jeff, I’m really sorry to hear that, I know you were looking forward to B’con this year. Darn, things aren’t working out for many of us.

  9. John says:

    Rick – I’ll do my best to do a good reporting job on my blog of the panels I attend at Bouchercon just like I did last year. Something to look forward to as you recuperate and take care of the cat. I even promise to go to the Nero Wolfe/Rex Stout panel even though I’m not such a big fan as the rest of the world.

  10. Richard says:

    I’ll look in every day! Thanks, John!

Leave a Reply

