New Arrivals, Current Reading, September 17 – 23, 2012

It’s cooled off, as I write this on Sunday afternoon it’s a beautiful Fall day, with that special, magical light. We’ve had some misting, not really rain, and the temperature has stayed in the mid-70s and below. There may well be more warm weather in the weeks ahead, and there is still no real rain in the forecast. I’m feeling better and got out in the yard to plant the tulips and daffodils, which we add some of to every year. This year it was two dozen tulips and 50 daffodils.

New Arrivals – Tom Roberts of Black Dog Books has come through with a box of goodies, I got a graphic novel collection and a mystery from BookSwap. Goodness, all.

Birds of Prey Volume 1, Trouble in Mind by Duane Swierczynski (writer), Jesus Saiz (artist) [DC Comics 2012 oversized trade paper, new] – graphic novel collecting issues 1-7 of the revised series – A year or more ago, DC decided to revamp their line of comics to better compete with Marvel. I was and remain skeptical of this, as I enjoyed many of the DC characters and character groups as they were, but the collected first issues of The New 52 are now coming out so I’ve ordered a few of them to try. This is the second of them I’ve received (the other one is cleverly languishing where I put it now can’t find). I used to read BoP, had a ton of the issues, didn’t even wait for the collections. This is a remade group, different players and different backstory. I haven’t read it yet, but I’m leery based only on the blurb on the back. We’ll see.

Bring ’em Back Dead by George Fielding Eliot [Black Dog Books 2012 trade paperback, new] – pulp mystery reprint – I just can’t resist this stuff, if it does take me a while to read through it sometimes. This one contains the first 3 assignments of G-Man Dan Fowler.

Dusty Ayres, Invasion of the Black Lightening by Robert Sidney Bowen [Black Dog Books 2012 trade paperback, new] – pulp war – air stories reprint – This one contains three novels. I have never read any of the Dusty Ayres stories, so this will be an introduction for me. Cool cover, too.

In the Name of Honor by Albert Payson Terhune [Black Dog Books 2012 trade paperback, new] – historical adventure novel – first book publication – I read every Terhune dog book I could get my hands on when I was a kid, but I had no idea he wrote historical adventure novels! I’m eager to see if he can captivate me in the genre.

Queen in Danger by Adam Hall [Harper paperbacks 1990 mass market paperback, used] – mystery – After reading a review of this one on Sergio Angelini‘s site – review at link – during Friday Forgotten Books last week, I decided to pick it up and found it on BookSwap (yay!) it came a day or two ago, now so all I have to do is, um, find a spot for it in the toppling TBR.

The Rajah from Hell by H. Bedford Jones [Black Dog Books 2012 trade paper, new] – historical adventure-mystery, first book publication – this thin offering, once again by Tom Robert’s Black Dog Books, should be a fun, fast one. Murder, revenge, ships, Hindu prince, a little horror…

Current Reading – Last time I told you of my plan to begin The Gift of Rain. I did that, and already I can see the beauty of the writing and language. However, I found I was only in the mood for a certain amount of it at the time, so after about 20 pages I set it aside for a fantasy adventure, The Whitefire Crossing by Courtney Schaffer. Now I’m sort of reading them both, switching from one to the other as the mood indicates. One of the books from Black Dog books (above) may join the rotation. I almost never do this and suddenly I’m reading several things. Maybe it’s the coming of Fall, which as a reason makes no sense at all. Anyway, more on this next time.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Adventure, books, Current Reading, mystery, New Arrivals and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading, September 17 – 23, 2012

  1. Carl V. says:

    Looks like a lot of fun stuff there, Richard. I used to read Birds of Prey issue by issue as well several years ago. Was one of the many things I gave up when cutting back on comics years ago to get the finances under control. I still have a fondness for those stories though.

    Glad you’ve had some autumnal weather. It has been perfect this weekend. Sunny with highs only in the 60’s. Truly feels like fall. We’ll get a warm up later this week too, but I hope it doesn’t last too long.

  2. cgramlich says:

    I wanna read that Rajah from Hell.

  3. Steve Lewis says:

    BIRDS OF PREY was made into a TV series, wasn’t it, about 10 years ago? It didn’t exactly bomb, as I recall, but it didn’t last long, either. I never managed to see it, but I’ve always been curious about it.

    [,,,] I just looked on IMDB. The series was on in 2002-2003, and there were 14 episodes, more than I thought. Ashley Scott was Helena Kyle, Dina Meyer was Barbara Gordon, and Rachel Skarsten was Dinah Lance. Are any of these in the current group?

    On another note, you’ve convinced me. It’s about time to place an order with Black Dog Books. I haven’t been able to get to any of the pulp shows either this year or last, so there are quite a few that Tom’s done that I’ve don’t have yet.

  4. Evan Lewis says:

    I watched the Birds of Prey TV show. Seems like only four or five years ago. Not great, but less silly than Smallville. All those Black Dogs are sure to be good.

  5. Really hope you enjoy the Adam Hall novel Richard.

  6. A very nice bunch of books! You can’t go wrong with BLACK DOG BOOKS. I’m hoping Tom comes to BOUCHERCON. I’ve read several Adam Hall books. The early books are better than the later ones.

  7. Richard says:

    Steve, I wasn’t aware of and didn’t watch (obviously) the TV series. I haven’t read the new BoP book, so am unsure who is now in the group. DC changed so much with their reboot it’s hard to say what they kept and what they tossed out.

    George, if Tom Roberts is at B’con, please say “hi” from me!

  8. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Crap. I’m in the middle of a comment and it just “poofs” off the screen.

    As I was saying…let me start over. The man was born as Trevor Dudley Smith (or Dudley-Smith, depending on source). His “real” name became Elleston Trevor. Adam Hall was certainly his most well known pseudonym, mainly for the Quiller books. The books in the series you mentioned were originally published as by Simon Rattray, under which name I had a bunch of the British paperbacks. Sorry, I don’t have any now. Here is the full list:

    Knight Sinister, 1951 (later in the UK and US as by Adam Hall)
    Queen in Danger, 1952 (later in the UK and US as by Adam Hall)
    Bishop in Check, 1953 (later in the UK and US as by Adam Hall)
    Dead Silence, 1954 (later in the UK and US as by Adam Hall as Pawn in Jeopardy)
    Dead Circuit, 1955 (later in the UK and US as by Adam Hall as Rook’s Gambit)
    Dead Sequence, 1957

    Hope that helps.

  9. Jeff Meyerson says:

    So, QUEEN is the second in the series and if you want to start at the start you need to look for KNIGHT SINISTER. I just checked PaperbackSwap and they have a paperback of it by Hall if you are interested.

    I’m still reading the Updike and the President, Private Eye collections but I’m near the end of both. I’m also read Bill Crider’s new Sheriff Rhodes book. New arrivals? There were three. DUPLICATE EFFECT, #7 in the Retrieval Artist series by Kristine Kathryn Rusch; THE HEART OF VALOR, #3 in the Tanya Huff series; and YOU CHANGED MY LIFE: A Memoir by Abdel Sellou, which was notably filmed as THE INTOUCHABLES. All are from PaperbackSwap.

  10. Richard says:

    Jeff, thanks for the information. I may get the first Hall book or just read the one I have to see if I even like it. Nice stuff you got. I’m not sure why stuff just “poofPs like that.

  11. Patti Abbott says:

    I have never heard of any of these. Out of the loop here. I am trying to decide what two books to take to Ireland and it is making me crazy just now.

  12. I would take an iPad, Patti, and load it with a 100 ebooks. Rick, the Seahawks benefited from a terrible call by the Replacement Refs last night. The NFL needs to take action!

  13. Richard says:

    George, I agree. What a pity the game – any game – had to end on a botched call, no matter what the outcome. This is supposedly what replay is designed to fix.

Leave a Reply

