– 40

Brrr! That’s cold!

At least it would be if I were talking about degrees Fahrenheit (°F) but I’m not. No in this instance I’m talking about weight, as in weight loss. Yep, I’ve lost 40 pounds so far in my attempt to get down to a reasonable, healthy weight. At a weigh-in at a doctor visit in December the number was shocking. My weight had been creeping up and up and finally it got to the lose or die point, so I chose lose. I’ve been on Weight Watchers since January 2nd and it’s taken me over 8 months to get this far. It seems the list of things I can’t/don’t eat is much longer than the list of things I do, but that’s part of the deal.

Sadly, I can’t even see much, if any, difference, my clothes aren’t looser, I’m not lighter on my feet. I am able to walk a little further and I’m trying to do more of that. It took forever to get this far, and the distance still to go is daunting. It will take years to drop what it took years to gain.

I really miss many favorite foods, but then they are what got me this way. When counting points, the way Weight Watchers works, it shocking how many points there are in the things I used to eat, in quantity. Three slices of pizza? 21 points. My daily point allowance? 26 points. Chips and dip? Don’t even think it.

My next short term goal is 15 more pounds. Long term, I have a number, but the short term goals are reachable and I can focus on them.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in At Home in Portland and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to – 40

  1. Congrats! I need to do something like that myself. My weight has settled, but it went up shrply after I took to the wheel chair. Living alone, it’s just hard to cook the right meals for one.

  2. Carl V. says:

    That is so great! Congratulations. I’m glad you chose, and are continuing to choose, the lose, rather than the die. 🙂 I know it has been a tough fight for you but I’m happy you are still fighting and are winning.

  3. Bill Crider says:

    Good work, Rick! Keep on truckin’.

  4. Impressive! I’m not sure the DAPA-EMers who saw you years ago at various conventions would recognize you today.

  5. Patti Abbott says:

    That’s great, Rick. WW worked beautifully for me once. And South Beach a second time. But I always end up back at the same weight which my doctor says is 15 pounds too much. So I am always trying but seldom winning the game.

  6. THat’s a really good start. I need to drop about 20 pounds and I’d be a lot better off. Hard to do, though for sure.

  7. Richard says:

    If I’d been just 15 or 20 pounds overweight, I probably wouldn’t have done a thing about it, maybe tried to cut out desserts for a while. But it was a more serious problem than that, so I needed more drastic measures.

    George, I’m not back down to the weight I was at the last B’con I attended, two years ago in SF.

  8. I’m surprised you haven’t lost your gall bladder after losing 40 pounds that quickly!

  9. Richard says:

    40 pounds in 9 months, George. That’s only 1.1 pounds a week, not very fast at all. Doctors recommend 2-3 pounds a week is a max, I’m well below that.

  10. Congrats on the weight loss – 40 pounds is a lot. I went through this a couple of years ago and I’m really glad I was able to stick with it, though i have put a little back on. Eventually, after losing 20 kilos I really could tell the difference. Well done.

Leave a Reply

