New Tech

As mentioned in a previous post, Barbara really liked the MacBook we borrowed while the iMac was being reloaded and updated. We went shopping for one a few days later and selected this MacBook Pro.

Stock photo

We decided against the model with the retna display, because it had no DVD/CD drive, and I wanted that available for various reasons.

She has had a couple of laptops provided by her employer and used for work over the years, but I have not used one before, always being a desktop, large screen, mouse user. So you can guess there is more of a learning curve for me, especially the trackpad and the various gestures used to move from here to there, between pages, applications and so forth. I’m slowly getting the hang of it. The biggest difference here is that the new baby has the Apple Mountain Lion operating system, the very, very latest. There is much different between it and the Snow Leopard I’m using. Icons are changed, placement of things on the screen has changed. Imagine you have been using Windows 3.0 all this time and you just got Windows 7.1. Yep, like that, only Mac version. Being a Mac, it’s intuitive but learning is still required. Learning the Mac OS is Barbara’s learning curve. We paid the $ for a year’s worth of 1-on-1 classes at the local Apple store. She has had two and I one and it’s a big help. I need refinement, she the basics. Since this is Barbara’s computer, I resist the temptation to configure things, she’s setting it up the way that’s most comfortable for her. Once I get the network set back up (any day now) she’ll be able to carry this one anywhere in the house or either deck to do what she likes – mostly email and internet at this point. We’ll load Skype on it next week. Also we’ll be able to sync the calendars, mail, music, internet bookmarks and so forth between them so what goes on one shows up on both, a huge convenience.

For any who are interested, here are the specifications:

  • MacBook Pro 15-inch Glossy Widescreen Display
  • Backlit Keyboard (English) & User’s Guide (English)
  • 2.3GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7, Turbo Boost up to 3.3GHz
  • 4GB 1600MHz DDR3 SDRAM – 2x2GB
  • 500GB Serial ATA Drive @ 5400 rpm
  • SuperDrive 8x (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW)

Macs are not inexpensive, this was about 2 grand, but I believe Macs are superior to PCs running Windows, less prone to problems, viruses and better made. I’ve loved the iMac, and I’m sure we’ll love this one too.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in At Home in Portland. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to New Tech

  1. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Nice, really nice. I’m sure she will love it.

    We use the wireless mouse with the laptop as the stupid pad was the biggest annoyance to me. I am too old to want to learn new tricks.

  2. Richard says:

    We have a wireless mouse we use on the iMac, and it could be used on the MacBook also, but I want to learn the touchpad so I can use it anywhere Barbara happens to have it without carrying the mouse around the house, or to Starbucks, or wherever.

  3. Jeff Meyerson says:

    When we go to Florida we take the mouse with us but I can understand not bothering on shorter trips.

  4. I like my laptop a lot, which is a Dell. It’s nice to be able to write in whatever room the mood takes me.

  5. Richard says:

    Charles, what word processing program do you use? I use Word on the iMac, but am not sure I can on the MacBook because of the new OS.

  6. Carl V. says:

    Congrats on the new toy! Or congrats to Barbara I should say. I would have to pop for lessons myself as I am completely unaware of how to navigate on a Mac. The few times I’ve had to use my daughters has been an exercise in patience. 🙂

  7. Patti Abbott says:

    Just can’t bring ourselves to spend that much. Wish we could because Macs are great.

  8. Richard says:

    I understand, Patti, but sometimes it’s worth it to buy the better item.

    Carl, patience is the key word. alright.

  9. Maybe if you’re good, Rick, Santa will bring you a MacBook Pro of your own. Both Patrick and Katie live in the Apple world: both have Apple laptops, iPhones, iPads, and iPods. I just have the original iPad. It’s ideal for trips when I just want to check my email and read an ebook.

  10. Richard says:

    George, what I need is for Patrick to stop by here in Portland and help me set up this darned network! I’m sure he can work that into his busy schedule. With the iPhone 5 just coming out, B. is hoping the 4S will get a little bit cheaper, but I have my doubts.

  11. I’ll let you know the next time Patrick’s in Seattle, Rick. Patrick understands networks. I consider networks a Black Art.

  12. Richard says:

    Thanks, George, but will it be sometime this weekend? I’m kind of in a hurry.

Leave a Reply

