New Arrivals, Current Reading, September 3-9, 2012

Football is going strong, both college and pro, Barbara got her MacBook Pro (post on that coming), I’ve been hip deep in tech problems and trying to learn some gestures on the touchpad (aarrrgh) and the garden is crying out for attention, and getting some but probably not enough.

New Arrivals – Just one thing this time, not SF or mystery, it’s just regular ol’ fiction.

The Gift of Rain by Tan Twan Eng [Weinstein Books 2008 trade paper, new] – fiction – a superlative review on, I believe, Bookgasim, prompted me to buy this. I don’t buy very much straight fiction these days; I get it at the library if I get it at all. But this is a fairly thick book and I didn’t want to feel pressed for time to get it back, so I got it.

I wonder if any one who drops by here has read it?

Current Reading – I’ve been reading newer stuff, but wanted to read something old for Friday Forgotten Books, so I’m partway through a Shadow novel, Crime Over Casco, one of two in a small hardcover volume. I don’t know what’s next after that…

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Current Reading, New Arrivals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading, September 3-9, 2012

  1. Evan Lewis says:

    Nix on the Eng thing, but I read Crime Over Casco & The Mother Goose Murders in that Crime Club volume back in the ’70s.

  2. Not familiar with. Let us know nhow it is. Like you, I buy very little straight fiction these days.

  3. Patti Abbott says:

    No, but give us a report.

  4. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Haven’t read it. In fact, haven’t heard of it before. Most of the “straight fiction” I read these days tends to be short stories – currently John Updike and Alice Munro.

    The only book I finished last week was John Scalzi’s entertaining Redshirts. I picked up (from paperbackswap.com) Tanya Huff’s A CONFEDERACY OF VALOR (Valor’s Choice and The Better Part of Valor), as reviewed recently by George Kelley. Looks good.

  5. I’m back to work now so my reading is down. And, it’s mostly work-related. Fortunately, I’ve built up a back-log of reviews for my blog. I still need to find some time to go to Canada for those Louise Penny books.

  6. Richard says:

    I thought for sure either Patti or George would have heard of, perhaps read this one. Sigh, my hopes are crushed. It’s #2 on the TBR just now, after and older mystery, Fadeaway by Richard Rosen.

  7. Richard says:

    Jeff, I liked Valor’s Choice by Huff, but didn’t start the second book in that double. I have Redshirts in wish list on bookswap.

  8. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I got REDSHIRTS from the library.

  9. Carl V. says:

    The Tanya Huff Valor books are very entertaining. As was Redshirts. Not my favorite Scalzi and because of that I’m probably a little too critical of it, but it is worth reading.

    So glad football season is back. I had a great time with the games on starting last Wednesday night. I miss it when it is the off season.

Leave a Reply

