New Arrivals, Current Reading, late August – early September, 2012

Amazing that August is over already! Where did it go?

New Arrivals – Two things this time, one a pre-order, the other one I saw on George Kelly’s blog (HERE). It looked so good, I just had to have it.

The Beautiful Mystery by Louise Penny – [St. Martin’s Press 2012 hardcover, new] – mystery – 8th in the Inspector Gamache / Three Pines series of mystery novels by Penny. This is the (for me) long awaited 8th Inspector Gamache novel from Louise Penny, The Beautiful Mystery.

Ever since I finished the 7th in the series, A Trick of the Light, I have been eager to get and read this one. Goes to the top of the To Read stack! I know you may be getting tired of my praising this series, but it is indeed noteworthy for both sense of place and depth of character.

50 in 50 by Harry Harrison [Tor Science Fiction 2005 hardcover, new] – science fiction short story collection – I’ve wanted to read some Harrison since I read of his death earlier in the month so when I saw this on George’s blog it was impossible to resist. The gimmick here is that there is a story for each year in his 50 year writing career. So some old things, some newer ones. This will go on the nightstand (whenever I finish the Black Lizard Black Mask collection that I’ve barely started) so I can read a story or two each day .

Current Reading – I just finished Steven Saylor’s The Seven Wonders which I greatly enjoyed. I said I was going to launch myself into the story collection, The Black Lizard Big Book of Black Mask Stories. and finally have, reading the first few stories. These stories are like nothing else. I have started on that new Louise Penny book, am about 2/3 of the way in. Great, as always.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Current Reading, mystery, New Arrivals, science fiction and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading, late August – early September, 2012

  1. The Harrison is a want myself. Not read any Louise Penny, though I have seen the comments on past posts that make her a possibility also.

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Steve Lewis had a review on his blog of one of Philip Atlee’s Joe Gall books, the last one I believe. It also had a link to a piece George Kelley had done on the series in which he recommended the first four titles as the best. I’d read a couple of them but picked up (from PaperbackSwap.com, naturally) three titles – The Death Bird, Irish Beauty and Paper Pistol Contract(s). I already had a few of the others on the shelf.

    Finished three books last week, one of them (fortunately? unfortunately? you make the call) the latest collection of his columns from The Redeemer by Nick Hornby, MORE BATHS LESS TALK. The unfortunate part comes from all the new titles I’ve had to add to my “to be read” list.

  3. I’m gonna have to pick up that Harry Harrison

  4. Carl V. says:

    Yes, that Harrison book is going on my want list.

    I too picked up the new Louise Penny. Just one more book (or I should say, part of one more book) to read and then I’ll be getting to this one. I’m going to be sad to have to play the waiting game for new Gamache novels once that one is over.

  5. You, and everybody else who picks up that Harry Harrison collection will be Happy Campers. You and Carl have convinced me I need to be reading Louise Penny. I may have to take a little jaunt to Canada where there is a giant remainder store where I might be able to pick up all the Penny books at a reasonable price.

  6. Richard says:

    Carl, yes, especially when you come to the ending…..

    George, see what you started when you posted this book? It’s just about a requirement with Penny that you start with the first one, Still Life. The Canadian books may have different covers.

Leave a Reply

