I’m baaaaack!

Yes, finally. Turns out it wasn’t so much a complicated big deal as it took a big correction because what I did – a super dumb thing that I made worse by trying to undo it, sort of explained below – as it took a big fix.

I did one of those “oh look, I’ll click that” things. I rarely do that. Very rarely, and then only when the link is on a site I trust implicitly. Anyway, Within minutes, my web browser, Safari, slowed to a crawl. Not good. So I immediately went into Time Machine, my back up program, and went back a couple of days and reloaded Safari. Right thing to do, right time, problem solved.

Except I had the wrong directory selected when I did it, and the entire computer backed itself up to the wrong place. Yes, the entire computer, operating system, all applications, files, pictures, everything. Yikes. Not realizing what I’d done (yet) I went away and let it do it’s thing. Came back and now everything was slow as cold honey. When I looked at the contents of the drive it was 99.6% full. It’s amazing it even ran.

So I took the duplicate folder and dumped it into the trash, then emptied trash. I told me it was going to delete over a million files, and that didn’t sound right. I was stuck.

Went into the Apple store to the Genius bar and explained. They took a look, found another duplicate, examined the trash folder, etc. Since I was using Mac OS X.5, Leopard, which is four versions old, the best solution was to wipe the hard drive (!), load Snow Leopard, the system I wanted to upgrade to (for Mac people, I didn’t want to go to Lion or Mountain Lion, as they has some features I don’t like). They did that while I walked around the mall, had coffee at Peet’s, relaxed, it was a beautiful morning.

Then when I got back I asked them to restore the files and everything back to before I made the goof up, to regain everything. Thank goodness for Time Machine!

That was going to take a couple more hours and I had an appointment so I left and picked up the iMac the next day. It then took me more than a day to make the adjustments in Snow Leopard. iTunes was different, I had to change some settings there, and in Word, and in Finder (File Manager for Windows people), set up my Mail program again, set a bunch of new passwords, verify a bunch of stuff. Way better than starting from scratch, but still time-consuming. Then I had to run a complete back up onto Time Machine after erasing that drive partition on the external drive. That took another couple of hours.

I got things sweet again at about 7:30 last night and was too pooped out to post all this. I’ll have New Arrivals later today or tomorrow. Man, it’s good to be back.

Oh, by the way, we’ll be going back to the Apple store today or tomorrow to buy that MacBook Pro for Wife.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in At Home in Portland. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I’m baaaaack!

  1. I’m proud of you for stimulating the economy, Rick. And, I’m sure, your wife will be appropriately grateful for the new laptop.

  2. Evan Lewis says:

    We look forward to seeing Wife’s new quilting blog.

  3. Bill Crider says:

    Glad the computer is working again!

  4. Glad you got everything straightened out

  5. Richard says:

    Bill, Charles, ME TOO!

    George, not what my goal was, and now we need to replace her old iPod and discover Costco no longer sells them, so that’s another thing she’ll be buying. Yikes! I hope she doesn’t also come home with an iPhone 4S, she has a Droid new. Once she gets started…

    Evan, she has expressed no interest in blogging, says she doesn’t know what to say. That hasn’t stopped me!

  6. Happy you’re back in action, sir.

  7. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Glad you got it all back and the ‘user error’ was reversed. Of course we don’thave a Mac but we do use a wireless mouse with the laptop. I’m too old to start using that finger thing.

  8. Richard says:

    Jeff, I use, and prefer, a mouse, and also have a wireless one.

  9. Pingback: Bullhorn sound | Bagelry

Leave a Reply

