New Arrivals, Current Reading, late August 2012

One new arrival this week, and it’s not a book. It’s a digest, the January 1960 issue of Astounding Science Fiction. The cover story, serialized in three issues (Jan, Feb and Mar 1960), is Deathworld by Harry Harrison. I decided to find this issue and re-read the novel in it’s original serialized appearance with the original illustrations. I found a very nice copy, especially considering the age of the issue. I have tracked down the February and March issues, and they are on the way. Also on the way and expected this week is the new (8th) Louise Penny book.

Current Reading – I finished Louise Penny’s Still Life and also the second book in the series, A Fatal Grace. I decided to take a break from the series before continuing. Just then a library book arrived, The Seven Wonders by Steven Saylor. It’s his latest, called on the cover a novel but is actually a set of short stories, as young Gordinius travels with his Greek tutor to visit the seven wonders of the ancient world, with a mystery to be solved at each location by the fellow who will one day become The Finder. I haven’t read a Saylor in a while, and it’s delightful to get back to his work.

I said last time I was going to launch myself into the story collection, The Black Lizard Big Book of Black Mask Stories. I haven’t done so, as the Penny books caught my full attention, not unexpectedly, and I couldn’t put them down, and now the Saylor has done the same thing. I’ve been having a quite enjoyable Summer of reading, even if I haven’t read any of the things on my tentative Summer Reading List for this year. Those things are always suggestions and guesses anyway.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Current Reading, New Arrivals and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading, late August 2012

  1. Hey, where are the covers??? I like Steven Saylor’s work, too. I’ll have to dig out THE SEVEN WONDERS and read it. It sounds a bit like The Labors of Hercules by Agatha Christie. And I’m still tracking down those Louise Penny novels.

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I’ve never read a Saylor novel but I have read many of his earlier short stories. This week I finally finished the 600+ pages of very small print in the complete Bernard Malamud stories, the second big collection (after the Cheever) read this year. Up next: John Updike. I also read the latest Monkeewrench book from the mother/daughter team writing as P. J. Tracy, OFF THE GRID.

    New books were all ebooks except Dan J. Marlowe’s ONE ENDLESS HOUR, his first sequel to the classic THE NAME OF THE GAME IS DEATH.

  3. Richard says:

    George, here is the ASF January 1960 cover. All the rest have appeared before, except the Saylor. You shouldn’t have to dig far for The Seven Wonders, it’s new.

  4. Richard says:

    Jeff, I like Saylor’s Roman Sub Rosa series – the one featuring Gordinius The Finder better than any other Rome period historical mysteries I’ve read. I suggest you try one! Congratulations on finishing the Malamud. That was quite a chore. The Updike you plan next is also short stories? I haven’t read Tracy nor Marlowe, though I do have that book by the latter.

  5. When I was in Junior HIgh School, a teacher was impressed that I was reading a SF book a day. He showed up one day with a bag of SF magazines. “Are you interested in these?” he asked. Well, I sure was. The first magazine from that bag was that very same DEATHWORLD issue you just added to your post.

  6. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I like the cover.

    Yes, the Updike collection is 103 stories, from 1954-1975. I’ve read a number of them already so I won’t have to read all 800 pages, but since the print is a lot bigger than the teeny print in the Malamud collection it is a lot easier on my aging eyes.

  7. Richard says:

    George, that must have brought back some memories! Do you still have it?

    Jeff, wow, 800 pages! You’ve really been a glutton for punishment lately.

  8. I donated that issue of ASTOUNDING to SUNY at Buffalo when they agreed to accept my gift of 30,000 books and magazines. Yes, I have fond memories of ASTOUNDING, that Kelly Freas cover, and DEATHWORLD!

  9. Gerard Saylor says:

    I, too, enjoy Saylor’s (no relation) mystery series. I’m glad he is continuing them after killing off Gordianus. I listened to the audio version of ROMA and liked it quite more than I expected.

Leave a Reply

