New Arrivals, Current Reading

Our heat wave here in Portland has continued. It was in the triple digits Wednesday, Thursday and Friday, better yesterday and finally cooler and nice today. As I said before, I know that may not be a big deal for you who have been sweltering all Summer, but for Portland, it’s severe. I can only be thankful for our air conditioning and my heart goes out to those who don’t have any. The garden has taken quite a hit, we’ve lost several things, unfortunately. We’ve been watering but you can only do so much.

New Arrivals – I bought some things I’d already read but did not own. I haven’t been doing that very much, but changed my mind about these. I just finished Louise Penny’s 7th Inspector Gamache novel, A Trick of the Light and immediately wanted to go on to the 8th one. However that won’t be published until August 29th so I decided to go back and re-read the first in the series, Still Life. Carl Vincent recently did a wonderful review of Still Life and the second book in the series (HERE) that I highly recommend. I decided to go back to rediscover that first introduction to the cast of characters that mostly play an ongoing part in the series, since this is a series I really love.

That was when I remembered that I got the first five books of the series from the library. Oops. I could have taken the first one out again, but decided if I wanted to re-read it, this time I want to have it and the rest of them. Thus (covers follow):

Still Life by Louise Penny [original © 2005, this edition St. Martins Minotaur 2010 trade paper, new] – mystery – first in Three Pines, Inspector Gamache series.

A Fatal Grace by Louise Penny [original © 2006, this edition St. Martins Minotaur 2010 trade paper, new] – mystery – second in Three Pines, Inspector Gamache series.

The Cruelest Month by Louise Penny [original © 2007, this edition St. Martins Minotaur 2010 trade paper, new] – mystery – third in Three Pines, Inspector Gamache series.

A Rule Against Murder by Louise Penny [original © 2008, this edition St. Martins Minotaur 2010 trade paper, new] – mystery – fourth in Three Pines, Inspector Gamache series.

That’s the first 4, I have 6 and 7 in hardcover. I’ll pick up the 5th in the series one of these days.

Current – and about to commence – Reading – I finished Roots, the review is HERE. As you will read, I didn’t like as much as I remembered from my first reading. Times, and I, change. I just finished an excellent short story / novelette collection, Tuf Voyaging by George R. R. Martin. This is a book I chanced upon mention of last year sometime and found a used copy. I have it next to the computer and will write and post a review very soon. I’ve been reading more short stories lately, and enjoying them, so next, I’m going to launch myself into a very fat collection, The Black Lizard Big Book of Black Mask Stories. I think I read this one before, but I also have the other Black Lizard collection, The Black Lizard Big Book of Pulps, which is equally as fat, and may have read only that one. I’ll read these while working on other things, firstly Still Life by Louise Penny, which I am already about 120 pages into.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Current Reading, New Arrivals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading

  1. Carl V. says:

    How wonderful! Glad you are re-reading these. Or at least re-reading the first. Love those covers, the only one of which that matches my library borrowings is A Rule Against Murder, which I am currently 50 pages into. I am so taken with these characters and it has been fun to just get lost in one author’s world for awhile. It has been a long time since I’ve read so much of one author’s work in a row. Thanks again for the mention of Louise Penny last year.

    Haven’t heard of that GRRM collection but I do look forward to your review.

  2. You and Carl are convincing me I need to read some Louise Penny. I’ll check my usual sources and pick up the first few books in the series.

  3. I have that TUF VOYAGING around the house somewhere. Nebver read it though.

  4. Evan Lewis says:

    You might want to cheat on some of those Black Mask stories, and “read” the audio versions. The Frederick Nebel story, for instance, is especially well done.

  5. Patti Abbott says:

    I can’t imagine rereading a book at this point. Just last night I watched NORTH BY NORTHWEST for the fifth time probably and was dismayed at how flabby and improbable it seemed to me now. I thought the scene on Mount Rushmore was especially unbelievable.
    I’d be afraid most books would fare the same. I love Louise Penny though.

  6. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Unbelievable, maybe, but it’s still a favorite for Cary Grant, Patti.

    Rick, I still haven’t read Louise Penny either. We have the first book in paperback somewhere.

    This week I got one short story collection I’d read about on one of the blogs which I’ve never heard of before, whose title is self-evident: MR. PRESIDENT, PRIVATE EYE. Also got one of Canadian Gail Bowen’s Joanne Kilbourn mysteries, A COLDER KIND OF DEATH, after reading about her on Steve Lewis’s blog. Both were from PaperbackSwap.com.

    I’m closing in on the end of the Malamud short story collection. I did read ARE YOU MY MOTHER?, Alison Bechdel’s second memoir, and Irvin Faust’s ROAR LION ROAR and Other Stories.

  7. I have that Black Lizard collection. Have to dig into it some time.

  8. Patti Abbott says:

    I got two books today. MALTESE FALCON, which I have never read. And something about dwarfs by Nicholas Freeling. Unexpected library sale. Oh, three. A collection by Alfred Hitchcock.

  9. Jeff Meyerson says:

    You’ve never read The Maltese Falcon? I’m shocked. Well, you will definitely get a deja vu feeling.

  10. Richard says:

    What Jeff said…

  11. John says:

    I’ve never read THE MALTESE FALCON either. Only THE THIN MAN and THE DAIN CURSE. But I’ve seen all three movie versions. Some of them several times!

    So glad to see a new Louise Penny fan. Before I had my blog I used to talk about her all the time in my comments at Mystery*File. For me she is the answer to the supposedly dying traditional detective novel. I have yet to read any crime wirter being published today who knows how to plot and clue the way the old guys and gals did it. Louise Penny gets it and has a real skill in that area. Too many reviewers gloss right over that part of her books.

  12. Richard says:

    Johnall of Hammett is well worth reading! I’m not a new Penny fan, I’ve loved her work since the first one came out. I’ve just finished re-reading the second one. Carl (link in post, above) is however and ripping his way through the books. I think he’s now on #5 or 6.

Leave a Reply

