New Arrivals, Current Reading

While the Summer blahs have let up some, I’ve been having an absolutelymiserable time of it the last week and a half. Standing up from a chair 11 days ago, my back went out. By that I mean it kind of froze up and as I hobbled to bed to stretch out I had a back spasm. Those of you who have ever had this experience know it results in barely being able to walk to the bathroom, or crawl there, and that’s the limit of my mobility. After three days I was able, with the help of plenty of Motrin® to get up and stagger around some, but mostly just from bed to chair to chair to bed. I was able to watch some of the Olympics, but often when it was a good time for me there wasn’t much on I wanted to see. Seems there were hundreds of hours of volleyball. For me, a little goes a long way.

As a consequence of this, I was able to sit in a slider-rocker in the bedroom and read. Barbara has been doing all the cooking (usually we share that) and everything else. It’s been a chore just to turn over in the bed, and going up or down the stairs has been impossible.

I’m now at about 80% and getting better every day, have gotten down the stairs and onto the computer twice now, though I’m a bit late with this post.

New Arrivals – nothing again this week.

Current Reading – Everything off of the shelf. I’m very close to the end of Roots by Alex Hailey. I have to say, it’s not as good as I remembered it being the first time I read it, shortly before the mini-series, which I also liked a lot. It’s just me, parts of it were still very enjoyable, others dragged. I also read an very good short story collection, The Mankiller of Poojegai by Walter Satterthwait. Really enjoyed that one, will try to get a review written soon. And really, really liked Louise Penny’s latest (thought a new one is coming out August 28th) Inspector Gramache novel, A Trick of the Light . It kept me guessing, had all the familiar characters, a lot about the Montreal art scene and art criticism, took place mostly in Three Pines, thought the killer and victim were just visiting for a social event, and an ending that left a tear in my eye. Penny remains one of my very favorite authors and I’m eager for the new one to arrive.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Current Reading, mystery, New Arrivals and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading

  1. Carl V. says:

    All I can say is this is a pretty extreme length to go to just to ensure you don’t bring any new books into the house! 🙂 Seriously though, I’m sorry to hear of your woes. I thought you were being awfully quiet and now I know why!

    Have you seen my latest post? I think you’ll be happy to see that I have a new author who I am over the moon about.

  2. Richard says:

    I just started to read it, Carl. Wonderful, I’m SO glad you like Penny. The books just get better and better! Barbara and I met her in San Francisco at the most recent Bouchercon there, had breakfast with her and her husband, and she is as nice as could possibly be. Her books are so wonderful, I want to re-read them all again.

  3. Glad you’re on the mend. I’ve not had back trouble. With me, it’s my legs.

  4. Sorry to hear about your back problems. My mother got shots in her back that resolved her problems. Like you, a little bit of volleyball goes a long way with me, too.

  5. Richard says:

    No shots for me, George. This just happens every once in a while. The last time was nearly a year before we moved to Portland, so it’s not a frequent thing. The first time, I went to the doctor, expecting some kind of a cure or treatment, and got a lecture about losing weight, so my “back didn’t have to support my front”. I haven’t tried the back route again. It all stems from that auro accident I was in back in 1992.

  6. Evan Lewis says:

    Yikes. Condolences from us, both cats and the whole mob of dogs.

  7. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Yikes indeed. That sucks. Jackie has been through it several times (though fortunately that was some years ago now) and each time it took her a week or so to recover.

    At least you could read. I’m off ROOTS ever since reading that Haley made it all up, I mean the whole “Kunta Kinte is my ancestor” thing. I did like it at the time. Loved the Sattertwait C & L collection too.

    I got three books from PaperbackSwap last week: Block’s A DIET OF TREACLE (which I’d already read), Gil Brewer’s THE VENGEFUL VIRGIN (both Hard Case Crime) and Michael Stone’s THE LOW END OF NOWHERE. And I got one I bought from Amazon, Block’s Hard Case Crime hardcover reprint of his early 69 BARROW STREET and STRANGE EMBRACE (back to back), both originally published under pseudonyms.

    All I read was a bunch of short stories.

  8. Patti Abbott says:

    What part of the body doesn’t ache after sixty, I think. It’s this today and that tomorrow.

  9. Richard says:

    Evan, thanks.

    Jeff, I don’t like Block much, the others sound good and the Stone sounds very familiar, I may have read it.

    Patti, isn’t that true? Considering my weight and conditions, I’ve been pretty lucky. The weight loss/diet will help, eventually.

  10. My back has gone out twice and wow the pain. I sympathize with you and hope you get completely better soon.

  11. Richard says:

    Me too, Charles, I’m on the mend, thanks. Just about there. Now it’s the hot (for here) weather (triple digits or high 90s every day), the hottest in many years.

Leave a Reply

